We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glacier View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Glacier View Inn
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed here due to the location. We had a nice room with a great view of the glacier. It was great to be in the first group out to the glacier in the morning. We had dinner in the dining room. Service was good and food was good. We did have breakfast included the next morning and did have the breakfast buffet. Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the2Dacys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    160
    108
    54
    27
See reviews for
159
199
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

Very expesive and no better than many Super 8 Hotels for 5 times the price. Save your money and drive on to Jasper or Lake Louise after seeing the glaciers. Just a 1 hour and 20 minute drive south you can stay at places 10 times better for half the price. We were very disapointed with both the service and lack of any amenities at this hotel. Shame on Parks Canada for such a sham. After relizing how bad of a deal this was, we were told we could not cancell the room. There is No WiFi in the room and were told we could use the public terminals for $1 per 15 minutes in the main concourse. The Cafe and Resturaunt are a rip off also. We paid $18 for a beer, a bottle of water and plate of fries. Pack a Lunch, come see the glaciers and stay somewhere else. Everthing closes here at 6pm except for a very expensive resturaunt that closes at 9pm.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sultansofscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper National Park hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

The Glacier View Inn was a huge disappointment. We felt utterly robbed. After staying there I really must question the validity of reviews that give this hotel a good rating.

First of all, it's in the middle of nowhere and the amenities are sparse. The building is essentially a bus terminal with motel style rooms above. The distance from the car park to the hotel is a huge inconvenience if you have luggage and no one will help you with your bags.

We booked a room which was suppose to have a view of the glacier..HA..what a joke! The window was so small that only one of us could view the glacier at a time whilst standing up. If you sit, there is a huge black bar from the window that blocks the view of the glacier. It is a disgrace that they charge extra for this limited view.

Priced at $304 dollars a night (with tax) we expected a decent room but what we found were several pubic hairs in the bathroom, the room smelled of stale cigarette smoke, no minibar to keep our drinks cold, a water saving tap that made shaving, brushing teeth and hand washing a real pain.

My advice is stop at the glacier and move on. Do not stay at the Glacier View..move on to Jasper where there are better hotels for far less money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

The view is stunning, well the view you can see out of your tiny window in your shabby room. But if you go out on the deck the view somehow makes the place seem worth having spent the night at, or that is what I am trying to convince myself. We felt like prey staying in this hotel as the meal prices were just insane (to put it into perspective, I paid the same here for dinner as we did at the Fairmont at Lake Louise and trust me there is no comparision between hotels) and rundown condition of our room should make them feel ashamed. I realise they are trying to make a living but they really took it to the extreme. It is worth a stop to enjoy the view from the deck but not worth staying long enough to be used by them.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nkn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed here one night and loved it. You cannot beat the location, and after driving so much, you need a rest with an awesome view. We had a room with a loft which was very spacious. The Ice Explorer was a great way to get to the glacier and worth doing.
Internet is not free, but available.
The dining room food was very expensive, so eat in the cafeteria. Then head to Jasper for more scenic wonders.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariefla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed one night at the Glacier View Centre at the beginning of June 2010. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor we were slightly apprehensive, but needn't have been.
The room (glacier view) was very large (two single beds on a mezzanine level as well as the two queen beds in the main part of the room) and everything was excellent. The view was almost unbeatable - the sun came out in the afternoon on the day we arrived, and the sky stayed clear overnight, so we went to bed with the curtains open. My wife woke me at 5 a.m. to photograph the moon over the mountain opposite our room, with the sun coming up over it. What a sight! You'd pay much more than the price of this room for for one with a similar view in Europe.
We very nearly didn't go on the glacier explorer bus as we thought it was rather expensive, but what a mistake that would have been. It's one of the world's "must do" thing, like going up the Eifel tower in France, and visiting the Barrier Reif in Australia.
The glacier view room, and the trip onto the glacier were very well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RetiredDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

The weather there was completely bipolar. That coupled with the fact that there was no air conditioning and only two tiny window in each room, made for a miserable night. Because there was no grocery store or restaurant for 90 km, they charged ridiculous prices. If you want dinner after the snack bar closes (like 7:00), you must either not eat or pay some ridiculous price, like $30 for a plate of spaghetti. Other than the ridiculous temperature and the outrageous prices, the scenery was cool.

Stayed June 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank jhinhdwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jasper National Park
57.2 mi away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#9 of 21 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
56.1 mi away
Jasper House Bungalows
Jasper House Bungalows
#11 of 21 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
28.1 mi away
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lo...
#8 of 21 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
74.2 mi away
Pocahontas Cabins
Pocahontas Cabins
#12 of 33 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
19.6 mi away
HI Rampart Creek Wilderness Hostel
41.1 mi away
HI Athabasca Falls Wilderness Hostel
HI Athabasca Falls Wilderness Ho...
#11 of 33 in Jasper National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glacier View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glacier View Inn

Property: The Glacier View Inn
Address: Icefields Parkway (Highway #93 North) | Just north of the Banff/Jasper National Park Border, Jasper National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada (Formerly Columbia Icefield Chalet)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glacier View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glacier View Inn is a model of environmentally sensitive design, built to incorporate the pristine environment that it surrounds. There are 32 guest rooms - most have at least two queen beds and a loft. All are well appointed, with satellite TV, and direct dial phones. Many rooms offer spectacular views of surrounding mountains and glaciers but you should make sure to request a room with a view early as these are the first to go. Most rooms are well suited for families needing more space than a conventional hotel room, as well as traditional sized rooms for couples or individuals. Open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Glacier View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glacier View Hotel Banff National Park
Glacier View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing