We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ultimate Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Glacier View Inn
Reviewed July 27, 2006

What an experience. We arrived around 5:00 PM as the tourists were departing. It does not get dark until after 10:00 - the experience of going out and viewing the glacier with no one around was amazing. We did not have a glacier view, but had many opportunities to go outside to view. The rooms were very nice, especially the loft. I had read the reviews of the meal options. We did have dinner with meals around 22.00 dollars each. But with an amazing view, who could complain - and the food was great. Actually the hamburgers we had in the cafeteria the next day were interesting (we actually wondered if it was hamburger). The staff was extremely helpful. Would we stay there again? Yes! It was an experience to ge in the middle of nowhere with modern luxuries with amazing scenery. Well worth the $225.00 dollars.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smoky624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

561 - 567 of 608 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2006

We found our room spacious and comfortable. It was good value at $110 in early June (but it's more in the peak season). There were tea and coffee making facilities. The dinner at the restaurant (in the same building but apparently separately owned and run) was quite nice.

Unfortunately you need to walk up 74 steps to get into the building, not an easy task with luggage. If you arrive by bus this probably isn't necessary, as the bus parking lot is on a higher level. Clearly they had recognised this problem, and offered assistance with luggage, but when we arrived the porter wasn't around and we would have had to wait half an hour. When we left they took us down the hill to the car in a courtesy shuttle.

Our room had only one, small, north-facing window and no overhead lights so it was rather dark. The room smelt of Chinese food when we arrived.

Stayed: June 2006
5  Thank GrahamWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2006

The Chalet was perfectly situated with great views of the Icefield. Our standard room was very large, spacious and exceptionally clean. The Chinese Restaurant served up fantastic (and huge) meals, not one of the cheapest we had during our holiday but well worth the extra, along with great service by very cheerful waiters enquiring about our holiday plans! We had breakfast in the cafeteria which was slightly cheaper than the restaurant whilst overlooking the glacier. We recommend the Glacier Hike which lasts 3-4 hours and much more exciting than getting the sno-coach, that's if you have the stamina for it!!!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelling_Ryders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2006

The Icefield Center has a fabulous location and the views of the glaciers and icefield from our room were terrific. The staff was pleasant and helpful.
The rooms, however, were annoyingly uncomfortable for the most mundane of reasons. We were going to stay three nights in order to be there while celebrating our 44th anniversary. But we left one day early and had to travel on our anniversary.
The faucets in the bathroom sink are spring loaded. What this meant was you needed three hands to work the water. You had to hold the faucet open with one hand which meant you either had only hot or only cold water. Aside from freezing or burning yourself you are unable to wash your hands if your hand is holding the faucet! This may seem trivial, but it is extremely annoying. Even public restrooms with five or ten second delay faucets are more convenient to use. Eventually I found it easier to wash my hands in the bathtub. Considering the prices for rooms I don't think a useable sink is unreasonable.
The location of the hotel is far away from any city and surrounded by tall mountains so naturally there isn't cable TV. They claim to have a satellite hook-up, and the picture quality seems to support that. If they have satelite reception it seems reasonable that they could receive more than 5 channels.
There is a restaurant and a cafeteria on the second floor. The cafeteria had a limited but somewhat reasonably priced selection. The restaurant is simply grossly overpriced. As there is nowhere else to go for anything within an hours drive it is important to note the cafeteria closes at 6 PM and doesn't serve breakfast. Only the overpriced restaurant serves a breakfast. You can, however, make do with a pastry and coffee from the cafeteria.

As fascinating as seeing the Icefield from our room and the tour out onto the glacier which is offered from the Icefield Center; I wouldn't recommend staying there for more than one night at the very most. Since the tour lasts about an hour and a half and it is only about 75 to 90 minutes from Jasper it is easy to stay elsewhere and enjoy the glacier experience. It is also possible for a slightly longer drive to stay in Banff or Lake Louise.

4  Thank rrrfrstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2006

We stayed at the Icefields Chalet for 2 nights at the beginning of May as part of a motoring holiday around the Rockies. Our room was large, comfortable and clean and came with the most incredible views, we couldn't stop looking out of the window, the extra 10 dollars for a glacier view was money well spent. all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant probably was a little more expensive than others but again the friendly staff and fantastic setting made up for this, We would definitely reccomend the chinese food as this was superb. A drive up the Icefields parkway is a must do if visiting this area as is a trip on the snow coach on to the Athabasca Glacier. Beware, the weather can be very changeable. we purchased our tickets for the snowcoach in bright sunshine and there was a blizzard within 5 minutes, however this somehow enhanced our experience of the glacier, do take suitable clothing as it can be a bit chilly. If you are after 5 star luxury and exciting nightlife then the Icefields Chalet is probably not for you but it will provide very comfortable accomodation and an unmissable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank AJBLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2005

We stayed one night at the chalet to help break up the long drive from Lake Louise to Jasper. Our expectations were low. Rooms at a Visitor Center doesn't scream 5 star hotel, but surprisingly the room was very nice and comfortable. The staff was very nice. If you take the time to talk with the staff you will meet some very interesting people. The food was slightly above average, but hey you're in the middle of nowhere (really) it's just nice to have hot food. I recommend getting the glacier view room. It's worth the extra $10. Also, by staying the night here you can explore the Visitor Center without the crowds and in the beat the tour bus people to the SnoCoach Tours. Once the tour buses show up....watch out.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Felixx9995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2005

After reading other reviews on the web we made sure to arrive at the hotel just after 5pm, so we could have dinner before the cafeteria closes at 6. For around $10 per meal we got a generous serving of chinese food, which was actually quite tasty. We later checked the menu at the restaurant, and noticed that our meals would have been at least twice as expensive there. Our room was quite spacious (with a loft), well maintained and clean. Considering the perfect location, rooms are certainly a bargain during off-season, although the rate does not include breakfast. So bring some muffins, otherwise you are stuck with the overpriced restaurant as the cafeteria is not open for for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank StPaulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
57.1 mi away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#8 of 22 in Jasper National Park
682 reviews
56.1 mi away
Jasper House Bungalows
Jasper House Bungalows
#14 of 22 in Jasper National Park
439 reviews
28.1 mi away
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lo...
#4 of 22 in Jasper National Park
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
74.2 mi away
Pocahontas Cabins
Pocahontas Cabins
#6 of 33 in Jasper National Park
411 reviews
41.1 mi away
HI Athabasca Falls Wilderness Hostel
HI Athabasca Falls Wilderness Ho...
#19 of 33 in Jasper National Park
47 reviews
82.9 mi away
Black Cat Guest Ranch
Black Cat Guest Ranch
#29 of 33 in Jasper National Park
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glacier View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glacier View Inn

Address: Highway #93 North | Icefields Parkway, Jasper National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada (Formerly Columbia Icefield Chalet)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range: $128 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glacier View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glacier View Inn is a model of environmentally sensitive design, built to incorporate the pristine environment that it surrounds. There are 32 guest rooms - most have at least two queen beds and a loft. All are well appointed, with satellite TV, and direct dial phones. Many rooms offer spectacular views of surrounding mountains and glaciers but you should make sure to request a room with a view early as these are the first to go. Most rooms are well suited for families needing more space than a conventional hotel room, as well as traditional sized rooms for couples or individuals. Open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Glacier View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glacier View Hotel Banff National Park
Glacier View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing