We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Glacier View Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Crossing Resort(Banff National Park)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge(Jasper National Park)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveler rating
105
211
156
91
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
211
156
91
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft roomhotel lobby isice fieldsky walkcolumbia icefieldstwo single bedsremote locationstayed one nightlittle priceycanadian rockiestoeexplorerremotenesscalgarysuitcasessofahighway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
498 - 503 of 610 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The location is what you are getting in this hotel experience. The windows look out directly over Athabasca and Snow Dome glaciers and of course Mts Athabasca, Andromeda and Snow Dome. The hotel is directly above the tourist centre where you have the gift shop, buy tickets and eat at the dining room of cafe. Rooms are spacious and clean but, as you would imagine in a remote location, spartan. No problem though as you can get up at dawn and walk to the glacier. Spectacular! This is the way to do the glacier if you have a few spare dollars.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CycleDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Good Morning and thank you for your review.

I am glad to hear that you had such a great time experiencing our unique enviornment. Seeing the Glaciers in the quiet evening and the sunrise is something truly special.

Once again thank you for your review and I wish you the best for the remainder of your travels.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed there for 1 night. The rooms are nice and the beds are comfy. At least the ones we had. We also had a great view - right out to the glaicer. In the evening we had dinner at the restaurant, but it was really really BAD and very expensive. Both compared to the dishes and in general. So don't eat there....

Room Tip: Pick the rooms that face the glaicer - I think it's the west side but I'm not sure. Theese rooms also have a large bathroom with a bathtub.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bettina1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Good morning and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and beds, and that you were able to take the time to really enjoy the wonderful views that surround us.

I am sorry to hear that the restaurant did not meet up to your expectaions. The restaurant is opperated under a different company, and I will be sure to pass on your comments to its manager.

thank you again and have a great day.

GVI Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We travel from Calgary to Athabasca Glacier in 1 day, and slept in this great hotel. When we wake up, we went to the glacier and was a great trip!!
The room had 3 beds, 2 singles upstais and 1 double downstairs. The bathroom is great, has a bath and the shower is really good.
We had lots of luggage, and the hotel has elevator, so we don't had much work.
The only con, don't have breakfast, but there's a restaurant to buy.
I recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatNeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Good Evening

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Glacier view inn. Our rooms are perfectly suited for familes and I am glad that you had such an enjoyable time visiting the glacier.

Once again thank you for the comments and we hope to see you again.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel June 11, so took advantage of their cheaper rate of $129 CDN a night. (high season - June 15- Sept. 15 is $100 more a night). The hotel is located just inside the south border of Jasper National Park in Alberta on the Icefield Parkway between Banff and Jasper. The Inn occupies the 3rd floor of the Athabasca Glacier Centre. A big restaurant is on the second floor. This site is where the Athabasca Glacier pours out of the mountains relatively close to the highway. If you have never been to a glacier, it is an awesome sight - ice and rock only . You get a feel for what the last ice age was like.

Definitely take the ice coach tour. It takes you onto the glacier - a once-in-a-lifetime experience. There are walking tours also, and you can walk yourself pretty close to the toe of the glacier. The rooms are big, new and spotless with a TV but no fridge. The best part is that you can lay in your bed and stare at a magnificent snow -covered mountain.Take binoculars since you can see skiers coming down that have walked up there! All in all, a glacier is a mountain must-see. Couple from Calgary

.

Room Tip: Ask for a glacier view room. Get a 3 event pass for the Ice Coach, the Sulphur Mt. gondola and the Lake Minnewenka boat ride in Banff and one event is free. Take a water bottle on the Ice Coach tour. You can gather the melting ice water for a drink of the purest water you'll ever have.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierView_Manager, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Glacier View Inn.

I am thrilled to hear that you had such a enjoyable time in our mountain surroundings. With a varitey of tours available, we can help you get the best experience possible during your time with us. If you inquire with any of our hotel agents, we would be happy to find which one works best for you.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The glacier view inn is a magical place to stay. The rooms were very good. After around 6-7 pm when all the tourist leave the place has such a secluded quiet ambience. Sitting on the deck on the second floor was an amazing experience. The glacier filled mountains around us, a lonely road running through and the quiet. No wifi no cell phone coverage.

A beautiful experience in all.

Room Tip: The glacier view rooms have great view but can get a little chilly at night.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeautifulWorld74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierView_Manager, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Glacier View inn.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable time taking in our surroundings. As you experienced this is a great place to disconnet from computers and cell-phones and just take your time to relax in the mountains.

The weather here changes often, so all of our hotel rooms have baseboard heating, for the guests to control the temperature to thier personal comfort.

Thank you again for your comments, I wish you an enjoyable time on the remainder of your travels.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews