We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Glacier View Inn
Stony Plain, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

The view and landscape were amazing on their own, but paying for a glacier view room and getting the tiniest window imagineable is displeasing. There were plates from the room next door sitting in the hallway over night and children running up and down the halls screaming. The only restaurant in the building is over priced for mediocre food. I enjoyed the glacier and paths, but tried not to actually be in the hotel for an extended period of time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aniquity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierView_Manager, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your last visit at the hotel.

I was sorry to hear that your experience here was not to your liking. As with most hotels, some rooms are quiter than others. We would be quite happy to room move you if it is not to your liking. Just contact the Front Desk Agent (24hrs/day) and they will be happy to help.

The comfort of our hotel guests is of our upmost importance. I hope that you will consider trying us again in the future.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    184
    130
    72
    36
See reviews for
195
236
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We visited the Inn in April 2011 on its opening weekend. Since there weren't many people there we got to park close to the building. I can see how a lack of dedicated hotel guest parking would be annoying in the summer.

We had a glacier view loft that was clean but average. We REALLY didn't like that the taps are spring loaded and you have to hold them on ie you can have either hot or cold, but not warm water. It's bad enough when you get this in a public restroom, but in a hotel room! We also had trouble getting the heat under control and had to open up a window.

The restaurant was very good. I was bracing myself for everything-deep-fried food for dinner, but we had a nice chinese meal with a bottle of sauvingnon blanc. Breakfast was also very good and we got to watch a red fox look for its breakfast as we ate our!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Cowtowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierView_Manager, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Good Morning, and thank you for taking the time to write the review.

I was pleased to hear that you had a good stay at the hotel. I do agree that the scenery is beaufital.

In regards to the bathroom taps, we are in the planning of replacing the spring-loaded taps with newer ones. Meanwhile because we are in a senestive area with our surrounding enviornment we do try to conserve our resourses as much as possible.

Once again thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

This was without doubt, the worst hotel experience we have encountered in some 40 odd years. Upon arrival we discovered we had to park at the very far end of the lot (very long distance from the hotel) as there is a huge number of tourist buses and cars there in high season. They have no parking facilities reserved for their hotel guests.
On entering the lobby, we literally had to push our way through the throngs of day trippers to the Icefield center to get to the only set of elevators leading to the rooms. When we finally got to the third floor we had to maneuver our way through and around the mounds of laundry still littering the hallway at 4 in the afternoon. There was a very strong musty smell permeating the dingy hallway.
The room itself was quite nice but also had an odor. It had paint peeling from the wall from what appeared to be a roof leak, and had a window fan (that was noisy) for air conditioning. It was cool enough outside but when you opened the window, it was difficult to sleep due to the noise from machinery of some sort below(electrical generators I assume). There was no bar fridge or microwave. We were absolutely appalled when we went to wash our hands and found that the taps are spring loaded in the off position (like one might find in a dirty old service station bathroom) requiring you to hold the tap on with one hand while trying to wash the other.
If you needed to use the internet, you had to wait in a long line of day trippers and finally when you get to one of the few computers they charged you to use it.( if memory serves me correctly, I believe it was $8.00/hr) There were no internet computers reserved for the hotel guests.
We waited to eat til late in the afternoon when most of the day trippers had left. The dining room had not yet opened and the very large cafeteria had emptied of most Icefield Center visitors. It was filthy ; out of many empty tables(probably more than 50) not one had been cleaned and there was no one around to clean one for us. We found the food to be sub standard, so much so that we didn't eat it. After summoning the manager, we did eventually receive a partial refund because we did not receive what we had ordered and by this time they were getting ready to close and had very little choice left. After our experience in the cafeteria, we did not want to chance the dinning room with it's exorbitant pricing. When spending over $200 a night (for a room at the back with the view of a rock) , one would expect better.
And Finally: a word of warning. I wouldn't recommend it, but if you do find it necessary to spend a night, be very careful if you are leaving early as the foot bridge, which you must cross, freezes over (yes even in summer) and becomes extremely slippery. I saw no signs warning of this and they had made no attempt to de-ice it.
I would definitely stay away from this place unless you are content with paying 4star prices for one star accommodations.
Fortunately, the trip up onto the glacier with our excellent driver/guide did help to make up for the bad hotel experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimbob37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

It may be pricey during the high season, but the breathtaking view and crisp fresh air is well worth the money!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyredblueyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night on a trip - Banff to Jasper.
Great location, views unbelievable. Make sure you pay a bit extra for a glacier view, its well worth it. The hotel is in a visitor centre. Food not cheap, but considering where you are reasonable. My one tip, take some drinks with you as there is no bar or shop to buy alohcol. Go on the Icebus, its not cheap but well worth it. We stayed at the end of the season and got a room for £60. Unbelievable bargain, room slept 4 easily. Ideal for a family. Rooms very modern and clean.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steviewonder34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Just into the low season so we obtained a good rate for our rooms. Nice meals and good service in the restaurant although pricier than we paid elsewhere but we did not want to have to rush the Icefields Parkway trip and did not want to have to retrace our steps to complete it, so we were prepared for the higher prices.

Enjoyed visiting the exhibition during the evening after the place had closed and not having to join queues for the Glacier trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We read lots of mixed reviews about this hotel. I imagine in the peak of summer it may be as others have described -busy, noisy and no options but to pay ridiculous prices at the restaurant. However, in the off season (ie. the last week it is open) it was a delight. The room was large enough for five of us. It didn't have a fridge, but luckily it was cold enough for us to leave the milk out in the car!! We borrowed bowls and spoons from the kitchen and had cereal with us to have breakfast in our room. We ate in the Restaurant one night, and we were offered such a cheap rate, we stayed a second night but drove up to Jasper and had dinner there. The view of the Glacier from the room is stunning (albeit the window a bit small). We loved the isolation and quiet after the tour buses had gone. We bundled up warmly and did a walk up to the bottom part of the glacier which was wild, windy, icy and good fun. And the bus trip was good -blizzardly cold but fun and novel for the kids. My husband did say however he heard a mouse like creature in the room the first night (he didn't tell the rest of us till after we'd left!!).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Australians_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jasper National Park
56.1 mi away
Jasper House Bungalows
Jasper House Bungalows
#14 of 22 in Jasper National Park
418 reviews
57.1 mi away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#9 of 22 in Jasper National Park
596 reviews
28.1 mi away
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lo...
#10 of 22 in Jasper National Park
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.1 mi away
HI Athabasca Falls Wilderness Hostel
HI Athabasca Falls Wilderness Ho...
#11 of 32 in Jasper National Park
44 reviews
19.6 mi away
HI Rampart Creek Wilderness Hostel
74.2 mi away
Pocahontas Cabins
Pocahontas Cabins
#9 of 32 in Jasper National Park
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glacier View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glacier View Inn

Property: The Glacier View Inn
Address: Highway #93 North | Icefields Parkway, Jasper National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada (Formerly Columbia Icefield Chalet)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glacier View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glacier View Inn is a model of environmentally sensitive design, built to incorporate the pristine environment that it surrounds. There are 32 guest rooms - most have at least two queen beds and a loft. All are well appointed, with satellite TV, and direct dial phones. Many rooms offer spectacular views of surrounding mountains and glaciers but you should make sure to request a room with a view early as these are the first to go. Most rooms are well suited for families needing more space than a conventional hotel room, as well as traditional sized rooms for couples or individuals. Open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Glacier View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glacier View Hotel Banff National Park
Glacier View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing