We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tough to beat the location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
regina, canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tough to beat the location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel is located quite a ways south of Jasper, right on the Icefields parkway, so if you are planning to run back into Jasper for some shopping or dinner this probably isn't the place for you. However the restaurant is much better than you'd expect from a hotel that's miles from anywhere, and if miles from anywhere is what you are looking for then this is the place. As the other reviews have stated you aren't paying for luxury, but you are paying for a place in the middle of the mountains, with the scent of the Rockies drifting through your room. We did the short hike over to the falls in the afternoon, enjoyed a glass of wine on the porch in the evening before dinner, and then got an early start on our drive to Banff the next morning. Staff were very friendly, and overall it lived up to its billing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livetotravelcdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hi LiveToTravelCDN!

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We can see you are very active on TripAdvisor and are an experienced traveller, so that means a lot!

For the reader, LiveToTravel has hit the benefits of staying at Sunwapta really well, and has also qualified them perfectly. If you are looking for miles from anywhere (meaning any sort of other facility), then we are a great choice at 30 miles away from downtown Jasper. Granted that 55km drive is one of the most breathtaking drives you will take in your lifetime.

Just some attractions between us and Jasper: Buck, Honeymoon, Horseshoe lakes and the valley of the 5 lakes, Goat Viewpoint, Athabasca Falls, Meeting of the Waters, Mt Edith Cavell, the Jasper Tramway and more! We're glad to see LiveToTravel took advantage of the short stroll to the main falls, and there are a few other short hikes right from your room that are safe, and highly rewarding.

Another great reason: food. The evening dining in our Endless Chain Dining room is an intimate experience with 13 tables and views of the Endless Chain Ridge out the window. While we are not a luxury property, you will find the dining at Sunwapta to be at an exceptionally high level with a very laid back, friendly atmosphere. You can find a current menu on our website in the dining section. The menu is regionally inspired and has been very well received once again this year. Please be sure to make reservations as far in advance as you can: info@sunwapta.com or 1-888-828-5777.

On a final note, we are a 2 star property. We are not luxury, and we do not charge luxury prices for the mountain area. If you survey the Jasper are you will find we are on par to lower than most properties in Jasper. LiveToTravel is correct to say that the price you pay is for the mountain location in the middle of Alberta's largest National Park... and for the relatively uncommon experience of that.

However, I am very interested in more specific feedback on rooms so I can propose further key updates from amenities and services to room attributes. If you want to keep up to date with this, other news, as well as contests, specials and deals, find us on Facebook at SunwaptaFalls.

Thanks again LiveToTravel!

Matt Corlett
Director of Sales
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    232
    89
    31
    26
See reviews for
148
318
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

What a great find! We booked on line based on location and the fact that they allowed pets. It was certainly one of the highlights of our trip. A short walk to the falls after driving all day was an added bonus.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hi HeatherJ!

Thanks so much for the glowing review and for choosing to stay with us on your Jasper getaway.

For the reader, we do allow pets! The pet charge is $25/night. No matter how you book, please let us know you have pets in advance. This is best as it allows us to keep our 'pet free' rooms pet free for guests that have high allergy sensitivities. You can email us: info@sunwapta.com or call: 1-888-828-577.

Aside from the falls hike, there's our hike to the bluff and also the lower falls and big bend. There's a couple of more too. For those interested, ask for our hiking guide when you check in!

Thanks again HeatherJ, hope to see you soon!

Matt Corlett
Director of Sales
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We checked in to Sunwapta Falls after a long day hiking and were too late for our dinner reservation. However, the friendly staff quickly called and got us a later reservation and walked us to our room – a nice, welcoming touch. The property is rustic and completely isolated, which we loved! Our room was cozy and quiet, and we were given lots of information about hikes and attractions in the area, including nearby Sunwapta Falls. The location of the inn would not be for everyone – it’s not near any other services and is a bit of a drive to Jasper – and the room décor and facilities were a bit dated and tired. It’s also relatively expensive, like most other park lodging in summer. However, for us it was a great stop as we made our way south toward the Columbia Icefield and northern Banff, and it’s close to Mt Edith Cavell and Athabasca Falls. The restaurant is a standout: we had two of the best meals of our entire 12-day trip at Sunwapta Falls. The quality of the food is superb, and service is friendly. There aren’t many lodging choices between Jasper and Lake Louise, and this one was just right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Openskies65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi Openskies65!

First of all thanks for staying with us! Thanks too for the great review. We're glad you enjoyed the location and appreciation for our rustic National Park setting.

I'd love to hear more input from you about the room decor. I can be emailed directly at matthew@sunwapta.com or called here at the lodge: 1-888-828-5777.

For the reader, over the past 3 years we've updated a great deal: doors, wallpaper, linens, window treatments, and electronics. Regardless OpenSkies, I would be very happy to have the opportunity to contribute your thoughts to mine so we can REALLY target the remaining items that need our attention.


Thanks too for helping us clarify that we are NOT the best location for everyone! Most people choose us because of our location, but on rare occasion when someone chooses us for price (as we are often less expensive than other Jasper accommodations), they are usually surprised by our location and wished they would have booked downtown Jasper.

These types of travellers are looking for high speed internet, cell reception, and the quaint bustle of our small mountain town. All of these are awesome of course, but we specialize in providing exceptional service and outstanding food in a much quieter, rustic mountain setting!

For the readers, our evening restaurant is very busy during these times. Please do try to make your reservations in advance! You can just email us at info@sunwapta.com with the date, your name and your preferred eating time (first seating at 6:30), and our front desk will be happy to take care of that for you.

Thanks again Openskies! I hope to receive more feedback from you directly.

All the best,

Matt Corlett
Director of Sales
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We love this place! Right in the middle of one of the most beautiful places on earth. This property is very well maintained. Every room has a wood burning fireplace. The staff brings the wood and starts your fire. The Sunwapta Falls are a 1/2 mile walk and are beautiful. The staff is very friendly and helpful planning your days ventures. The food is 5 star and no tour groups, resort guests have a private dinning area. I really enjoyed sitting on my porch looking at the mountains and drinking coffee. We'll be back for sure....

Room Tip: ask for one of the duplexes
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
HI Tim H!

Thanks for the great review! We're all really happy you enjoyed our mountain lodge and took full advantage of our proximity to the beautiful Sunwapta Falls and the views of the Endless Chain Ridge across the Parkway!

For the reader, I would like to clarify one point: only our Hideaway cabins have a wood burning fireplace. These rooms have one queen or one king bed.

Also, remember to make dining reservations early! Give us a call or drop us an email: 1-888-828-5777 or info@sunwapta.com. To the reader, you can also make reservations and eat here without staying in the hotel!

Thanks again Tim, see you soon!

Matt Corlett
Director of Sales
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Staid here with the expectation for the price we paid that it was going to be a bit more fancy than what it was. It is very dated, the room was clean but very lacking, huge cracks in tiles on bathroom walls that had been unsuccessfully repaired, cupboard doors that couldn't close. The room when I booked it was advertised as a romantic getaway. Considering I could hear everything the people in the room beside us said and did the romance faded quickly. I had no problem with the cleanliness of the room, just feel it is well and truly over priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi Denise B,

Thanks for choosing Sunwapta for your time in Jasper. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't feel the value in your stay, but have some good news on that front.

First of all, please email me directly at matthew@sunwapta.com. I'd love to have the chance to hear more from you. Your additional comments, and insights from an experience basis will only help me make exceptional improvements.

In addition, I'd like to find and immediate resolution that would feel right for you. It is more expensive to stay in a National Park than other places, but I'm interested in you feeling like your experience was worth the money spent. If it wasn't, then let me adjust the rate to where you feel it's appropriate.

For the reader, we have a policy at Sunwapta: if for any reason, at check in, you are not satisfied with your room, the property, our location, the amenities - any thing at all! - we will refund your money (even if you paid someone else, we'll help you get it back), and help you find more suitable accommodation. Our commitment is first and foremost to your enjoyment of Jasper.

Thanks again Denise, I hope to hear from you soon,

Matt Corlett
Director of Sales
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at the Sunwapta Falls Lodge for one night and found it a comfortable place to stay while touring the Icefields Parkway. There are several good hikes nearby of varying length, and of course the falls are interesting to walk to. We had two babies traveling with us so were upgraded at no cost to a slightly larger room so the cribs could fit. The staff were very helpful. The lodge itself is quite old but our room was very clean and attractive. Ask for a room in one of the duplexes -- they seem to have been remodelled lately. There was a good sized bath tub for bathing the babies, and two good double beds. We enjoyed a BBQ outside at the picnic area instead of eating in the restaurant, and had a view of the mountains all around us -- absolutely spectacular scenery! Although we had read earlier reviews about lack of technology at the hotel, we had no problems with our wifi, and were able to check emails while there. The best part of this lodge is that it is out in the middle of nature and not in a town with traffic all around. It was a lovely experience to share with our family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda4730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi Brenda4730!

Thanks for deciding to stay with us with your family! Thanks too for taking time to share your reflections on your time with us. I hope you've done the same with the sites in Jasper!

For the reader, we always upgrade when we can. It's just dependent on availability. If you book through an OTA like Expedia, please be sure to remember to put how many adults and children in total you have. Sometimes people forget, but that kind of information is really helpful for us to provide the best experience we can.

Your best bet is to call us first, even if you do choose to book through your favourite travel agent or online travel agent! 1-888-828-5777 / 780-852-4852. Let our awesome front desk staff help you determine what's best for your stay, then book!

Our cabin style accommodation has had the most remodelling, it's true. The room types in our cabin style accommodation are our Hideaway and Rocky Mountain Double rooms. Please remember, we are not a luxury hotel! We are quaint 2 star in the heart of Jasper National Park :)

Although Brenda had easy access to internet, it's best to expect you will have none. This way, you will be pleasantly surprised if it works! Here's WHY:

We can only provide satellite internet. It's wildly unpredictable especially in our mountainous location. I've described it at length in many reviews, however we no longer advertise it as an offered service because it is just not robust enough to keep up with modern demands.

That can be a wonderful thing though. As Brenda has commented, it allows you the chance to share with your family, with your loved ones that your with, and to really enjoy our abundant natural surroundings.

Thanks again Brenda! Hope to see you next time you're in Jasper!

Matt Corlett
Director of Sales
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were aware ahead of time that Sunwapta lacked WiFi and cell phone reception (which bothered us not at all). What we were not prepared for was room 3A, with its bathroom door jam so out of whack with the sagging room that the bathroom door cannot be closed, the terrible mildew smell and multiple holes in the linoleum in the tiny bathroom, and how hot the room was (due to the room just having one small window for ventilation and no air conditioning). The room (with the exception of the bathroom, of course) had been renovated, but not very well, with the wallpaper just above the bathroom door bulging out of the wall in a long ragged line down to the doorjam (perhaps due to the same reason the bathroom door wouldn't close; i.e., the whole room is sagging significantly to the left) and the wires from the main ceiling light running down the outside of the ceiling (though they were covered by a plastic tubing of some sort). When we checked with the staff to see if we could get a different room, we were told there were no other rooms available and that in any event our room was one of the best. The staff were very nice and apologetic and tried to see if they could find us a room elsewhere in Jasper, but every place was sold out. So we had no choice but to stay. To try and address the heat issue in the room, they gave us an additional small portable electric fan to go along with the other small portable electric fan already in the room. But those two little fans, despite being on high speed all night, couldn't cool down the room enough, with the inevitable poor night's sleep (note: we live and work in a tropical country, so we were better prepared for the hot room than others might be). So be forewarned.

As you'll see in other reviews, the restaurant was very good (note to TripAdvisor reviewers: please remember to do separate reviews of the lodging and the restaurant, since they are completely separate and give one a completely different experience). The restaurant staff are extremely nice and very professional, and the dinner was excellent (my wife loved her trout and I was very happy with my elk pot pie!). The next day's breakfast, however, was a disappointment, with the smallest omelette I think I have ever been served and the fruit a bit old and tired.

So, in a nutshell: disappointing lodging, great dinner at the restaurant. Here's hoping the owners will renovate room 3A (especially the bathroom!) - and any other rooms if they have similar problems - since with a bit of help this could be a nice alternative to the regular hotel rooms one finds in Jasper.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rogue_hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hi Rogue Hiker!

Thanks for choosing to stay with us for the right reasons, and for taking the time to leave your review of our property on TripAdvisor.

It’s great to get a full spectrum of reviews on TripAdvisor. TripAdvisor helps us understand expectations so we can improve our property and improve our messaging about our property. I want to thank Rogue Hiker for providing the opportunity for us to do both here!

Specific Room Deficiencies:
Most of the room issues Rogue Hiker has brought up are straight forward and easy to repair. I feel embarrassed that they weren’t done before your stay. I feel if they would have been, you would have had a much different level of satisfaction. I can only hope we compensated you in some way, and if we failed on that, please email me directly: matthew@sunwapta.com.

After reading your review, I looked at all our in-house comment cards for room 3A this year and discovered the average rating for room interior was 8 and there were no negative mentions about the room interior. So THANK YOU ROGUE for giving us a chance to see what we’ve been missing!

While the wiring conduit will not be changed, the bathroom door’s misalignment, the bubbling wallpaper, the chipped tile and any smell of mildew are very straight forward for us to resolve. Again… embarrassing that they weren’t in advance.

The remaining issues you’ve brought forward are a little more delicate and are not such simple, straightforward decisions. For the reader who is genuinely interested in knowing why read on! It gives us a chance to show that we do care, but we also operate in a National Park, and we care a lot about balancing those two important concerns.

RENOS:
We operate in a semi-remote wilderness location in the Park, and not only our operational impact on the environment, but any changes we might seek to make to structures, must go through a deeply considered process with Parks Canada. Sunwapta’s ownership has proposed structural renovations including creation of new buildings in the past. Some were approved, many not.

While we have not pursued structural renovations, we do invest money into our rooms each year. The updates that have been done over the past 2 years include: wallpaper, linens, aesthetic upgrades, doors, roofs, fixtures, lighting and electronics. These were performed by professionals with extensive experience in the hotel business in Alberta.

However, I greatly enjoy hearing what people would like to see improved in our rooms. Maybe there is something we’ve never thought about, or maybe there’s a trending demand that we can resolve in a creative way without conflicting with our environmental commitments! For years I’ve encouraged guests to leave their feedback directly with me: matthew@sunwapta.com. It has been very positive in assisting me in effecting changes that have improved guest experience at Sunwapta. Please keep them coming!

HEAT!
What about air conditioning? This is a hot topic not only for us but for most properties in Jasper National Park (you will find most rooms available do not have AC!). So what’s the big deal, why don’t we just put it in? For those curios to know about our specific example, and to see it’s involvement with our location, please read on! You might enjoy discovering that it’s not just a simple thing to do.

The first consideration is that there are probably only a few days a year that A/C would be used. Just a few days. Evenings here cool quickly for the most part. The fresh air windows we provide are usually ample to handle any heat issues. However there are few nights a year it would be GREAT.

However, as most people understand, A/C draws a great deal of POWER. In fact we couldn’t currently provide A/C because our power plant couldn’t handle the demand. To provide A/C to our bungalows, we would need to purchase a power plant, or more than one, that could handle the demand without crashing.

This would mean increasing our fuel consumption and environmental impact considerably for such an intimate wilderness hotel. We consider the latter very seriously and so does Parks Canada. Sunwapta currently contracts professionals to handle the water, power and waste management so we are able to work with Parks to achieve Leadership Targets in environmental stewardship. In other words, there’s a lot going on behind the scenes!

In addition, we would need to apply to Parks Canada to be approved for the creation of a new structure to house the power plant. This is not such a straight forward consideration for us or Parks. There is more than environmental impact that goes into the assessments.

If we look at the overall process, the cost/benefit relationship doesn’t seem to work out well to provide A/C for a few days that it would be great to have. I hope this very brief glimpse of what seems like a simple fix helps you the reader really get an idea of how seriously we need to consider actions like renovations or something so seemingly easy as A/C.

Parks Canada takes it seriously too, and for one great, really fantastic reason: we want to keep Jasper WONDERFUL BY NATURE. That is the reason why you want to come to Jasper!

In that way, Rogue Hiker has hit it right about Sunwapta. We are an excellent alternative to staying in downtown Jasper especially if you're really looking to unplug. The service here has been described as Disney Like, the evening dining is incredible, and most reviewers for Sunwapta on TripAdvisor have genuinely enjoyed our 2 star accommodation, finding our rooms clean, comfortable and totally up to satisfaction.

Don’t forget, we have plenty of very candid photos on our Facebook page! Take a browse, call us, email us… and let us help you make the right choice for your holiday in Jasper! Info@sunwapta.com / 1-888-922-9222

Thanks again Rogue Hiker for this wonderful opportunity.

Matt Corlett
Director of Sales
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
28.1 mi away
The Glacier View Inn
The Glacier View Inn
#15 of 21 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
29.0 mi away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#8 of 21 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
28.0 mi away
Jasper House Bungalows
Jasper House Bungalows
#11 of 21 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.7 mi away
Pocahontas Cabins
Pocahontas Cabins
#12 of 33 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Black Cat Guest Ranch
Black Cat Guest Ranch
#28 of 33 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
13.0 mi away
HI Athabasca Falls Wilderness Hostel
HI Athabasca Falls Wilderness Ho...
#11 of 33 in Jasper National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge

Property: Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Address: Hwy. 93, Icefields Parkway | Box 97, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada (Formerly Sunwapta Falls Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jasper National Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-time recipient of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence, Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge is an ideal choice if you're looking to unplug from the hectic pace of regular life. Here you will find yourself surrounded by nature with the most warm, caring and wonderful staff you are likely to find on your travels in Canada. We’re only open from mid-May to early October. We operate at 98% occupancy and sell out fast, so book early on Facebook at SunwaptaFalls or sign up for exclusive offers on our website. Entirely committed to ensuring you have the best experience possible in Jasper, we provide private consultations and create custom sightseeing guides, activity bookings and if you like, full meal packages. Leave your Jasper planning to our expert staff, so you can enjoy the company of the loved ones you are travelling with while taking in the best Jasper has to offer. Most often chosen for our location, the lodge is a scenic 45-minute drive south of downtown Jasper and a 45 minute equally stunning drive to the Columbia Icefields. Our cabin-style accommodation is nestled in the forest between mountains and lakes with just a short walk to the beautiful Sunwapta Falls and other local hikes. In the evenings its just us, the stars, the sound of the falls and the scent of wood burning as it crackles in our many fireplaces. Our Certificate of Excellence awarded restaurant provides unbelievable casual fine dining in the charming ambience of our heritage lodge. In the morning we offer full mountain breakfasts from 7am and healthy options to take on your day of sightseeing. See you in the Rockies! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Hotel Jasper
Sunwapta Falls Hotel
Hotel Sunwapta Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing