We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary to Remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This place was unreal......from the staff to the lighting the fireplace for you. They made our anniversary weekend something really special. We stayed in one of the cabin rooms and did one of the driving tours that the front desk provided us with. Thanks a bunch and we will definately be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the cabins.........they are unreal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeibelKrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2011

Hi KeibelKrew!

Congrats on your Anniversary and thanks very much for choosing us to help celebrate the occasion :)

I just wanted to leave a quick response on behalf of all of us at Sunwapta. I read over reviews with staff and everyone was so happy with yours! We're really proud that we were able to help make your anniversary memorable:). Thanks for sharing, it means a lot to us.

For the readers, give us a call or email us for your free copies of our self-drive itineraries mentioned in the review. Of course, it's better once you're here and we can sit with you and discuss your daily plans, book activities at a discount etc:)

Ph: 1-888-828-5777 / 1-780-852-4852
e: info@sunwapta.com

We're looking forward to helping you with your Rocky Mountain vacation planning!

Matthew Corlett
Director of Sales
Sunwapta Falls Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 713 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2011

Having read several controverse reviews about this resort in advance, we have been positively surprised by it.
Staff is very nice and already talked to us lots about the park, sightseeing etc. even at check-in.
The room itself is located in a cabin-style wooden bungalow (not a trailer like mentioned in some other reviews here...) which is been shared by 4 rooms.
Unfortunately, we got quite loud neighbours creating noise even after 11pm. That's why we went to the hotel's staff again which then successfully talked to them.

However, walls seem to be quiet thin and the water pipelines do cause quite some noise...

As there is nothing arround the resort, the only option for dinner is to use the restaurant located with the resort. It is pretty expensive and the side dishes seem to being counted by hand (we got a half of a potato - no joke!! - and after having asked for more of them, we got the other half!!)

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank reiselust_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The rooms here are very small but well equipped, clean and comfortable. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is surprisingly good and the manager is on top of things to rectify any problems. Parking was not a problem. The location is great with the Icefields to the South and Jasper to the north.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckeyeNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

After visiting Jasper, we wanted to get a head start on the icefields parkway so we'd have more time to visit the stops further south the next day.. So the fact that the Sunwapta Falls Resort is ~50km south of Jasper worked perfectly for us. We got a package for one night stay, voucher for dinner and voucher for breakfast, so we were well taken care of! The dinner menu is varied, offering something for everyone, and the food was tasty (even starting with the bread and whipped butter!). Our room/ cabin was nicely decorated, clean and cozy - and it contained a fridge and a TV, which were both handy!We were even upgraded to a room with a fireplace (which we didn't end up using but it was still a nice gesture!). The bed was comfortable and it was very quiet, so we got a good night's sleep. Breakfast in the morning again had a good selection. Even though the adjoining gift shop was busy with tourists arriving on buses, the restaurant was quiet. Service in both the restaurant and for the rooms was great - very friendly and prompt. We would stay here again - I've read they have good deals in the off seasons, but even the price we paid was decent for the value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCO_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2011

Hi SCO_33!

Thanks for choosing us, and thanks for taking the time to leave your comments.

I am responding to your review today, because your review is the PERFECT response to an earlier reviewer who asked why someone would stay here if they were already staying in Jasper. It's a great opportunity for TripAdvisor readers to get some ideas of what Jasper National Park is like, and why people who like our property, like it!

Due to TripAdvisor guidelines, I can't quote or mention the earlier reviewer by name, but in my response I noted that people sometimes like to get a head start on their day when they are going to the Icefields. I had mentioned that most who chose us do so because of our location and that fits in with the experience they're looking to have or they find it more convenient with their plans. SCO_33 found the location to be convenient... but also found the experience of our rooms and customer care to be exceptional.

Thanks again SCO! Readers, we encourage you to call or email us directly! We also have a Facebook page you can like and leave your questions and comments there.

Ph: 1-888-828-5777 / 780-852-4852
e: info@sunwapta.com

Thanks!

Matthew Corlett
Director of Sales
Sunwapta Falls Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed in the suite that has two rooms. They walk with you to your room. Customer Service was good. The room was clean and comfy. The restaurant was so expensive that we decided to drive 53 kms to Jasper to get carry outs. There are no gas stations or restaurants on the stretch of icefield parkway where the resort it located. There are no phones in the room, and if you need to use it, they point you to the pay phone they have placed on the property. They were good about putting things like a microwave in your room and they had a mini fridge with a freezer in the rooms. Even though they provide passcode for Internet, it isnt really there as the signal is so week. We used their computer in the main office a couple of times. Overall, our visit at Sunwapta was nice and comfortable despite missing features like Internet from rooms or phones.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1worldtraveller06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed for two nights whilst touring in the Rockies and found the lodges to be comfortable and clean. Staff were very friendly and we were even escorted out to our lodges on arrival. Restaurant served excellent food both at breakfast and dinner (especially the triffle!) with average price range for the area. If I can save up enough to visit the Rockes again, I'll certainly be looking to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mo_Wid_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Really just a glorified truck stop here folks - and I don't mean that in necessarily a negative way, just being honest and that was the impression that I was left with after staying here.

It's clean enough (though the bathrooms are about as small as you can get) and it lies right on the Icefields Parkway. However, for the price, you'd do better to drive the extra mileage (35 - 45 min. away) to Jasper (if that's the direction you are headed) - if you are driving towards Lake Louise I have no idea why you would stay here.

The walk to the Falls is probably the best activity here - it's about 1km from the resort to the start of the hike and then about 10 or 15 min. more to see the falls - spectacular.

Let's see, what else . . . the staff is very nice and helpful . . . food at the restaurant is so-so . . .all in all not the most memorable experience of the trip, but at least we slept well.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Hi Jaco!

Thanks for leaving your honest impressions! The more honest impressions that we get the better. It provides more opportunity for readers to find reviewers with similar holiday values to help them with their holiday decisions.

My response is directed toward the readers. Sunwapta is not for every type of traveller and I hope my response helps you decide if we're right for you! Of course you can always call us and ask all the questions you have. Call us toll free in North America at 1-888-828-5777 or directly at +1-780-852-4852.

The most important question implied in the review: why would a person stay at Sunwapta instead of Jasper or especially on their way to Lake Louise? It's a great question. There are many reviews left by TripAdvisor members below that can answer better than I. Instead of saying what I think, let me summarize some of the reasons people have enjoyed Sunwapta and why they've chosen us not only instead of Jasper, but also in addition to Jasper and even on their way from Jasper to Lake Louise!

While price is always a consideration, the decision to stay with us is rarely based on price alone. With some variance depending on dates, there are cheaper hotels in Jasper almost any day of the week. There are always very inexpensive rooms in the neighboring town to the east of Jasper called Hinton. However, most people make their holiday decision based on the experiences they are looking to have. This involves not only price, but a combination of things like hotel and room amenities for some, location for others, and almost always service, attitude and care.

Many people actually choose to stay with us BECAUSE of our location! There are 2 aspects to this: convenience and experience. On the convenience side, we're on the way to Calgary from Jasper (most people fly in and out of Calgary), and some people like the idea of being that 53km (30miles) closer. For a similar reason, some want to be closer to the Columbia Icefields which they plan on experiencing on their way back to Calgary.

For those on their way north to Jasper, many just want to take their time and make sure they don't miss a thing. They stay with us before continuing on to Jasper where they have reservations for subsequent evenings. Readers looking for ideas on what to do and see will find our self-drive itineraries PACKED with great sightseeing ideas, one specifically dedicated to sights between us and the Columbia Icefields. We custom plan holiday agendas and can book all activities Jasper has to offer right from our front desk. Feel free to email for your free copies of our itineraries: info@sunwapta.com. Convenience.


Of course, many other of our guests stay with us for their entire Jasper holiday. The reasons are more related to the experience they are looking to have. They choose us because they are looking for an experience different from that provided in the town of Jasper. Downtown Jasper is awesome. It's a charming mountain town with bakeries, cafes, a movie theatre, grocery stores, restaurants, gas stations, a few bars and a busy main drag with the train station right there. Cell phone reception is available as is high speed internet and cable TV. In short, many of the conveniences people are used to at home are available in Jasper.

At Sunwapta, it's a different kind of experience from downtown Jasper. It's perfect if you're looking to unplug from the busy pace of your usual life. We provide an intimate atmosphere with 50 rooms and a main lodge with reception, gift store and restaurant. There is little to distract you except for the natural environment and the loved ones you're with. For example, internet is available, but it's satellite (the only we can provide) and slow (but free). There's no cell phone reception. There are no phones in the rooms, although we do have a guest phone available. There is TV, but we've found for the most part, it's underused.

When you wake up in the morning, there's us, the forest, the mountains and the falls. There are easy, safe local trails ranging from 30 minute walks to 4 hour hikes. At night the Icefields Parkway, which borders one side of the property, is dead quiet. The evenings are typically cool and many people are enjoying wood fires in their cozy romantic rooms after an exceptional dinner in our evening restaurant. During the day, most of our guests are out creating holiday memories, whether white water rafting, driving the scenic parkway, hiking places like Mt Edith Cavell or enjoying one of the many activities like Maligne Lake or Jasper Skytram. Experience.

One of the greatest experiences almost everyone enjoys at Sunwapta, as did Jaco, is the staff care, attitude and service. We are happy to be here and love what we do, so we're happy to help our guests with vacation planning, insider tips, activity bookings, or just sharing some stories of the area. In short, we're pretty passionate about the Park, and we enjoy sharing our enthusiasm to help others have a memorable holiday experience.

During our open season, we're available 24hrs a day, 7 days a week for your questions. I highly encourage you to give us a call, join our Facebook page and post a question, or send us an email. We'd be happy to help you figure out if we're right for you. If we're not, we'll help you find the right place for YOU in Jasper.

Thanks again Jaco, and I hope this was helpful to TripAdvisor readers!

Matt
Director of Sales
Sunwapta Falls Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
28.1 mi away
The Glacier View Inn
The Glacier View Inn
#20 of 22 in Jasper National Park
608 reviews
29 mi away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#12 of 22 in Jasper National Park
682 reviews
28 mi away
Jasper House Bungalows
Jasper House Bungalows
#14 of 22 in Jasper National Park
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.7 mi away
Pocahontas Cabins
Pocahontas Cabins
#5 of 33 in Jasper National Park
418 reviews
49.2 mi away
Jasper East Cabins
Jasper East Cabins
#18 of 33 in Jasper National Park
94 reviews
13.1 mi away
HI Athabasca Falls Wilderness Hostel
HI Athabasca Falls Wilderness Ho...
#20 of 33 in Jasper National Park
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge

Address: Hwy. 93, Icefields Parkway | Box 97, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada (Formerly Sunwapta Falls Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jasper National Park
Price Range: $157 - $912 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-time recipient of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence, Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge is an ideal choice if you're looking to unplug from the hectic pace of regular life. Here you will find yourself surrounded by nature with the most warm, caring and wonderful staff you are likely to find on your travels in Canada. We’re only open from mid-May to early October. We operate at 98% occupancy and sell out fast, so book early on Facebook at SunwaptaFalls or sign up for exclusive offers on our website. Entirely committed to ensuring you have the best experience possible in Jasper, we provide private consultations and create custom sightseeing guides, activity bookings and if you like, full meal packages. Leave your Jasper planning to our expert staff, so you can enjoy the company of the loved ones you are travelling with while taking in the best Jasper has to offer. Most often chosen for our location, the lodge is a scenic 45-minute drive south of downtown Jasper and a 45 minute equally stunning drive to the Columbia Icefields. Our cabin-style accommodation is nestled in the forest between mountains and lakes with just a short walk to the beautiful Sunwapta Falls and other local hikes. In the evenings its just us, the stars, the sound of the falls and the scent of wood burning as it crackles in our many fireplaces. Our Certificate of Excellence awarded restaurant provides unbelievable casual fine dining in the charming ambience of our heritage lodge. In the morning we offer full mountain breakfasts from 7am and healthy options to take on your day of sightseeing. See you in the Rockies! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Hotel Jasper
Sunwapta Falls Hotel
Hotel Sunwapta Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing