We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so bad, but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pocahontas Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pocahontas Cabins
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not so bad, but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

My husband and I have spent three night in a "Panebode motel units" for 145 CAD/night.
I don't think the property was worth this money, but the aerea is very expensive and this was one of the cheapest option.

The room was average: it sure has seen better day and was in need of new furniture, but it seemed to be clean. The bathroom seemed to be new and perfectly OK.
The room had great window and this could be nice, but if you want some privacy you have to drown curtains and the room became wery dark and groomy.
There was a little fridge, a microwave and a coffe machine. The room has a free wi-fi connection too, but it was unstable and very low.
The little patio with table and chairs outside was nice.

The property has quite big outdoor spaces and should be nice for family with kids (or with pet, which are welcome).
The pool and the hot tub were always pretty crowded (high season).
They have a food/gift shop inside the property, but it didn't seem to be really furnished.

Staff was helpful and nice.

The restaurant is open until late and we've appreciated it, but it was sooooooo overpriced, expecially breakfast. The first day we have a continental buffet breakfast for 9 CAD each and it was fair, but the other two days pancakes alone costed us 6-7 CAD.

Next time in Jasper NP I will probably look for another option.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara_Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    111
    68
    29
    52
See reviews for
122
153
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights while hiking in Jasper/Banff national parks. We stayed in three places while visiting the national parks. We paid the most for this place yet it was by far the worst. Cleanliness: the shower faucet, bathroom door and toaster all had an unidentifiable yellow sticky substance on them. The cabin finishes and appliances needed to be replaced. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and the linens were very clean. We stayed in a "Pioneer" cabin and the other cabins appeared to be better. The location was not great for hiking or access to Jasper (40km).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyTO2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper National Park hotels

Strood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

I was really sad that we only stayed here for one night. We will be back for a longer stay one day. The cabins are really cozy although, of course, during the night they get quite cold because of the temperature dropping. They are heated though so this drop in temperature really isn't a problem.
There was a lounge and restaurant onsite but we didn't use either of these because we had a dinner reservation elsewhere. There was a laundry room onsite as well and the laundry room had wireless internet access.
The only issues we had were that their was no lock on the communal toilets in the main building and that the entire office, shop, restaurant and lounge closed at 10pm. I forgot this and wandered round the site looking for a vending machine for a drink but they don't have one and I was too late to get a drink. I will remember to get drinks to put in the fridge next time I go.
I was also pleased to find that we could park right next to the cabin, our cases are tough but wouldn't have liked being wheeled over gravel, I'm sure

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

We stayed at Pocahontas Cabins for 2 nights in May 2009. We got a great deal (which we found on-line) for 2 nights which included a cooked breakfast and a pass to the hot springs for each day. The cabin we had was one of the cheaper ones and a little dated but was clean and warm with a microwave and fridge as well as 2 beds and a separate bathroom. There was a bbq outside our door. The breakfasts were excellent and we used the pass to the hot springs up the road. They have a gift shop/food store on site. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and it was very good as well. We would recommend this for those looking for something a little different out of the town of Jasper. The gentleman on the front desk was extremely helpful and all the staff were all very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, BC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

This is the perfect place to stay for anyone who wants to go to Miette hot springs and also visit Jasper. It is about half way between them, roughly 45 minutes to Jasper and 30 minutes to the hot springs, and is right on the highway. They also offer a package deal with the hot spring. For $155 in June you get a two person cabin, a two person day pass to the hot springs and breakfast for two. We ended up in one of the older cabins, but it has been well maintained and it had a newer kitchen area. The room was very clean and well stocked.
This would be a great place to bring kids as there is a mini golf course, hot tub, swimming pool, soccer field and a games room with a pool table, ping pong table, shuffle board, dart boards and board games. There are also some hiking trails across the street which take you through an abandoned coal mining site and up to punchbowl falls.
The staff were all friendly and helpful and the food at the restaurant was incredibly good and fairly priced. Overall I would recommend this place to anyone who is planning on touring in Jasper or just passing through.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

We flew into Edmonton at noon. After a visit to the West Edmonton Mall, we drove out to Jasper. Arriving at the Jasper East Gate arond 7pm. Location wise, we thought Pocahontas was perfect. I agree with the previous review though, there were lot nicer looking cabin on site, however, we were given one of the older unit on the outskirt.
The living/kitchen area is quite small. I found spiders around the kitchen towels. The bathroom was clean though small; same goes for the separate bedroom. Lighting is dim throughout the whole cabin. Expedia had this hotel listed as 3 stars, I thought the hotel is 2 starts at best.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

I booked a pioneer cabin because it was easily the cheapest self catering in Jasper, but it isn't in Jasper. It is 45km east of jasper, and the accomadation was crummy and cold. There were really nice looking cabins on site, but if i was to do it again, i would simply find somewhere in town rather then wasting my money on this place.
I wouldn't have minded if I could have cooked properly, but everytime we attempted to cook anything the smoke detectors (located right above the stupid little stove went off! This meant that the money we saved ended up being spent on meals out (to avail being in the cabin and having to be deafened by the alarm! - we did find a shut off switch (with the fuses) but it didn't really make the place any more appealaing.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tapdancingcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPMJasper, Manager at Pocahontas Cabins, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Notice to readers.

Please be advised the Pioneer Two Bedroom cabins referred to in this review were physically removed from the Pocahontas Cabins property in December 2011. These units are currently being replaced by a new Log Cabin product called our “Miette Executive Suites” which are scheduled to open in early June, 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
23.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
22.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
24.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
23.6 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#11 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
21.1 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pocahontas Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocahontas Cabins

Property: Pocahontas Cabins
Address: Jct Hwy 16 and Miette Hot Spring Road, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pocahontas Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pocahontas Cabins are located in a peaceful area, just 25 minutes away from the bustling town of Jasper. Next to a diversity of natural attractions and wildlife, these cabins are the perfect place to stay to experience your own mountain retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pocahontas Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pocahontas Cabins Hotel Jasper National Park
Pocahontas Hotel Jasper National Park
Pocahontas Cabins Jasper
Pocahontas Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing