We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little cabins”
Review of Pocahontas Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pocahontas Cabins
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We went here for our anniversary, found the 1 bedroom cabin to be exactly what we were looking for. Very cosy, and with everything you needed to make a simple meal. Fireplace was a nice touch as well. Staff was very friendly, and the beds were comfortable. I also like the personal touch of them leaving us notes congratulating us on our anniversary and the bottle of champagne they left. All in all a great experience, and we will be back

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan1984Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
There are newer reviews for Pocahontas Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 394 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

We loved the new 2bedroom cabins so much we booked for August.
Very clean, bed was very comfortable, kitchen was well stocked, gas fire place and DVD player, flat screen tv was great. We stayed over New Years, even though it was just the wife and I, glad we rented the new cabin. We had our little dog with us which was nice they allowed pets.
Right in the mountains so the scenery was awesome. That was our fourth visit to these cabins.
Highly recommend to all our friends and family.
We had a late check out which was nice, staff is very friendly and accommodating.
Would be nice to have wifi in the cabins but other than that it was an awesome cabin.
There is wifi in the lobby though.

Ask for the new 2 bedroom cabin with kitchenette. A little expensive but well worth the money!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were determined to stay in a log cabin at least once during our tour of the Canadian Rockies and we could not have picked a better place.

We arrived later than we intended due to an error in the location made by booking.com but we received a warm and sympathetic welcome.

We stayed in one if the new cabins which was beautifully clean and well equipped. Everything we needed to self-cater. The bed was comfortable, rooms were clean and the small old fashioned gas fuelled stove added to the atmosphere.

The site is quite close to a busy highway but our cabin was located towards the rear of the site and we couldn't hear it. I suppose the cabins closer to the road might be noisy.

The site does have a restaurant but we decided to cook our own meals and the cabin had all the equipment we needed to do that.

My only gripe was the lack of wi fi in the cabins, you have to go down to the main site building. I think this is an essential service these days although I appreciate there might be difficulties getting a strong signal in this location. The site is 40k north of Jasper which might be an issue for some people but the remoteness suited us.

Lovely stay.

Room Tip: Get one of the new cabins, the older ones look pretty tired, and as far away from the highway as you...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trenean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I read other reviews about the Pocahontas Cabins on Tripadvisor, saying that the cabins in the back were very poor quality. In fact when I checked in, I also got a cabin in the back and it wasn’t as bad as I expected. The interior looks quite old – it definitely hasn’t been changed for a long time. By reading other reviews I can imagine that the deluxe cabins must be a lot nicer. But the cabin I stayed in was clean. The bed was good and comfortable. And the bathroom was rather small but it was absolutely clean. The kitchen was clean as well; but I hardly used it (I didn’t even use the fridge). One thing that was missing in the cabin was a wifi connection. Wifi was only available in the main building (restaurant, reception). I had a continental breakfast which was ok, though not very varied. The Pocahontas Cabins are in a great location, obviously surrounded by the mountains, and not far from the Miette Hot Springs. I would recommend this place for its quiet and wonderful environment. The cabin I stayed in was not too bad but I can imagine that some people prefer more luxury and comfort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sofke8868b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed in a duplex style cabin with a large deck, was very comfortable, great bed everything worked. Breakfast buffet was excellent, hot tub and pool were amazing, barbeques available, place is a good size with lots of different cabin styles. It was raining, wooden stairs can be slippery. Would go back again. we did the miette hot springs package.

Room Tip: cabins along the Hwy....you will hear traffic a bit more
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andypegonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Party of four stayed here, in the Executuve Miette cabin. Nice full kitchen, living room. The king beds in the 2 rooms upstairs was very comfortable. Would stay here again. No wifi in the cabins, but signal can be had in the reception building. Rogers 3g data usually got 2-3 bars, adequate for email and mobile internet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We just got back home from a long weekend at Pocohontas Cabins. We stayed in a Delux Log Cabin. I must admit I was a little disapppointed when we got into our cabin. It looked MUCH bigger in the advertising. The fire place was not what I was expecting. It was a tiny little gas stand alone kind of room heater. It did do its job of making the place warmer (there is also natural gas heating in the place so no fireplace is needed), and did make it look like there were flames in it. It was sort of like staying in a gingerbread house.

The cabin was clean, the services were excellent. When we arrived, we found the pilot light on the gas heater was not working and the lite on the front porch was burned out. There are no phones in the cabin so we had to go to the front desk. A handy man was there to fix everything within 5 min. This is amazing considering that we checked in around 9 PM. And, he fixed both issues with a smile and an apology for our inconvenience.

The Delux Cabins have a galley kind of kitchen that inclused a small fridge, sink, 4 burner stove, and enough plates, glasses, cutlery, pots etc to cook small meals. There are also bbq's and picnic tables available if you wanted to do some outdoor cooking.

The place is a 30 min drive from Jasper town site but the drive is amazing. The scenery around Pocahontas Cabins is also amazing.

There is wifi only in the games room in the main building. No big deal if you are used to that kind of thing. The games room has enough activities available to keep kids from 10 to 80 occupied.

If you go there with the mind set that it is a bunch of cabins set off on their own, you will not be disappointed. It is very close to the main hwy so if you are a light sleeper you may have issues. My husband and I are not so had no problem sleeping. By the way, the bed was extremely comfortable. You can stay in a hotel/motel in the main town site and have the same kind of noise issue.

We stayed there Sept 21 to 23 so had no issues with there not being any a/c in the cabin. The weather was too cold to use the outdoor pool. Many people did use the hot tub (but not us). It is also dog friendly. This may or may not be to your liking. It was to ours and the next time we come we will be bringing our dog.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay, we will be back there. We found it close enough to Jasper town, but also close enough to sites that would allow you to go sight seeing.

Room Tip: They have many different types of accomodation available. Select the one that fits your needs and p...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
22.7 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
22.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
950 reviews
23.0 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#7 of 17 in Jasper
618 reviews
24.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,588 reviews
23.2 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pocahontas Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocahontas Cabins

Address: Jct Hwy 16 and Miette Hot Spring Road, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Jasper National Park
Price Range: $79 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pocahontas Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pocahontas Cabins are located in a peaceful area, just 25 minutes away from the bustling town of Jasper. Next to a diversity of natural attractions and wildlife, these cabins are the perfect place to stay to experience your own mountain retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pocahontas Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pocahontas Cabins Hotel Jasper National Park
Pocahontas Hotel Jasper National Park
Pocahontas Cabins Jasper
Pocahontas Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing