We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT LOCATION IF YOUR GOING TO MIET HOT SPRINGS!”
Review of Pocahontas Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pocahontas Cabins
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION IF YOUR GOING TO MIET HOT SPRINGS!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I just stayed in the "Panabode Motel Unit" at the Pocahontas and surprisingly it was very nice. It was in the older area, but it was very well maintained and super clean! It had a double and a queen bed (too hard for my liking). The kitchen area came with a full size coffee pot and coffee, a small microwave and under counter fridge and a kitchen sink. The bathroom was a modern shower stall and the towels and sheets were very nice. It had a swimming pool and hot tub that were well maintained and beautiful flower baskets all around the resort and rooms. I would definately stay again on my next visit. Oh, the restraunt was really good as well, not too highly priced, good serving sizes and tasty! All the staff were very nice, helpful and pleasant. Located on the road that goes to Miet Hot Springs, very conveniant.

Room Tip: Ask for a mattress pad, the beds are flat, but quite hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    112
    68
    29
    52
See reviews for
122
153
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked this location based on reviews and the pictures of the Cabins. When we checked in found that we had been placed in the older cabin area - we had specifically asked for the log cabins as are shown on the site. Went back to the office and they were able to put us in a lovely 2 bedroom cabin, which had a full kitchen and living room area. Bedrooms were upstairs.

When booking, if you want one of the newer cabins - they start numbering with 1xx, example 108. The lower numbered cabins, such as 39, are the older cabins and of the two we had been originally assigned are one large room and only small stairs up to the porch and room - so if you cannot climb stairs - these would be good - just ask for one away from the main road. There are also lodge rooms - which had two stories.

There is also a lovely swimming pool and a hot tub. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Food was good. If you are planning to stay for any length of time, may want to do some grocery shopping in Jasper before arriving at the cabins, as they have very limited items in their small grocery and it is at least 30 minute trip back into Jasper.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not have a room on the main highway side - very noisy when you have windows open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherie6132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

First stop on a 5 stop trip from Edmonton to Vancouver
We stopped for 5 nights at Pocahontas cabins , log cabins in a very picturesque part of Canada surrounded by mountains. Accompanied by 2 grandchildren.
Cabins were clean and well equipped , a small shop on site had very basic supplies ,as all cabins are self catering, although a good but basic restaurant serves breakfast and evening meals .
Staff were very helpfull ready to offer advice on best places to visit.
A car is a must ,there is no way of getting around without it.
Nearest major town is jasper 40 minutes away on a good straight road , jasper is a typical tourist town ,lots of shops and restaurants , route 93 connects Pocahontas to jasper ( if my memory serves me well) we saw more wildlife on this stretch of road than on the rest of our trip, including bears, wolf, elk, coyote, big horn sheep , osprey and eagles.
Pocahontas cabins have quite a number of facilities including pool,jacuzzi !gas BBQ and games room ,ideal for families on a budget. If free Wi fi is important you will have difficulty.
The bad news CANADA is in my view very expensive but as Pocahontas cabins are self catering with the option of inexpensive on site dining they are within the budget of the average family.
We enjoyed this location , pack a lunch,a long lens camera and ensure you have a back pack with adequate clothing then just follow your nose.
I should mention that Wi-fi is almost non existent .
They are log cabins not a 5 star hotel, think centre parcs , and enjoy the great outdoors ,
Be prepared to pay to enter the national parks, cost us nearly one hundred dollars Canadian

In spite of one hiccup I would give it a good rating as a family location.

Room Tip: Go for a detached stand alone cabin.if staying for more than a few days. There are some older cabins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandad99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very good service.
Rooms are too small, not enough space to keep luggage.
Units are too close to each other and large vehicles are parked on roadways.
No shower at the pool.
Wrong map was provided by the link

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank Thilak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked a 1 bedroom cabin. WORST accomodations we've EVER had in 19 years of travel. The cabins around the back which shouldn't be allowed to be rented out are disgusting! Not only are they as ancient as the adjacent mountain but our unit smelled of urine, had 2 hairs in the fridge, dead mosquitos with blood along the bathroom wall, a moldy coffee maker, not enough plates/utensils for our family of 4 AND only 3 pillows!!! We didn't realize we were missing a pillow (for the extremely uncomfortable pullout) until 11 PM and the office/housekeeping were closed. We asked to be moved and the inexperienced manager asked me "you want me to move you to another cabin and make another guest unhappy?" Actually I would think you want to make ALL your guests happy?!......Needless to say we left first thing in the morning and went to look for another cabin. We found a WONDERFRUL cabin which is privately owned and run directly in front of the Jasper entrance. Shame on you MOUNTAIN PARK LODGES!!! It should be against the law to rent out these dumpsters. You are thieves for taking our $200. Even if you paid us to return we wouldn't go back. Try fixing up your lobby and games room too--they are filthy and run down too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper National Park hotels

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
228 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

There were a few glitches this time but overall we were satisifed. Desk clerk said she upgraded us from the Settler's Cabin SunN'Fun package to another cabin. The cabin was smaller and had a sloping floor in the rear. This was not an upgrade for us but a downgrade. We did receive the promised tickets for Miette Hot Springs which is wonderful.
The breakfast we had last time we were here was very good. The desk clerk said they had a breakfast buffet so I got my food from that and my husband was ready to when he asked the waiter what happened to the menu selections. He said we could do one or the other. My husband asked him to check with the manager as we were not told that and preferred to order some things we liked from the menu. The manager did make it right, and the waiter said not to eat anymore from the buffet or we would be charged. They had some very good sausages, so I ordered those and we paid separately for more sausages. Their menu breakfast is quite good. The cabins are quiet.
My husband enjoyed the hot tub.
The mosquitos were not bad at all this time compared to last visit. If you visit after wet weather though, it is a good idea to either pre-spray before you get out of your vehicle, or ask them how the mosquitos are.

Room Tip: You might want to splurge on one of the newer cabins since the older ones are obviously quite old in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augweddedbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in the lodge building for 3 nights. The accommodation is a good 40 minute drive outside Jasper so if you are staying in the area to see the main sights you would be better off staying in the town itself. However, the setting is pleasant, quite near the road, but also close to some good hiking trails and the hot springs. We had a downstairs open plan kitchen, lounge area, 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms. There was plenty of room for 4 adults. Mosquitos were a big problem at this time of year, but they are everywhere. However, it was very warm and the lodge has no aircon so the rooms get very hot because if you open doors and windows the mossies get in! The rooms were fairly clean, not exceptional but ok. They also smelt a bit stale. We had everything we needed. The pool is small and right under your window so its close but also can be noisy if lots of people are in it. All in all the accommodation was ok, not great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
23.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
22.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
24.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
23.6 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#11 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
21.1 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pocahontas Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocahontas Cabins

Property: Pocahontas Cabins
Address: Jct Hwy 16 and Miette Hot Spring Road, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pocahontas Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pocahontas Cabins are located in a peaceful area, just 25 minutes away from the bustling town of Jasper. Next to a diversity of natural attractions and wildlife, these cabins are the perfect place to stay to experience your own mountain retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pocahontas Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pocahontas Cabins Hotel Jasper National Park
Pocahontas Hotel Jasper National Park
Pocahontas Cabins Jasper
Pocahontas Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing