We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to get your act together”
Review of Pocahontas Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pocahontas Cabins
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed two nights at Pocahontas Cabins and it was pretty disappointing. On arrival it looks pretty good with the new log cabins at the front, but this is clearly a two standard operation! We were around the back in something akin to a garden shed, not very luxurious and out 'cabin' suffered heavily from road noise. You are a long way out of Jasper so one would have thought amenities would be such that there was something to do with your evenings, however the restaurant closes at 9 pm and the night we were there hardly anyone used it, to surprising as the food was pretty grim - we ate out second night in Jasper. The shop has no milk and only seems to get two deliveries a week so we were told by the staff, the games room is pretty dimly lit with and old battered pool table and table tennis table and a couple of dart boards, no darts. Breakfast was also very average, hot food was a la carte as the buffet which is hot and cold in season wasn't fully operational, what was there, the muffins and pastries were stale, only he yoghurt and fruit was decent. Worst of all was the wifi which previous posts on Trip advisor have even had a response from the manager, well nothing has been done and I can safely say its the worst Internet connection in Canada so far. In essence the whole operation is a bit of a shambles but could be good if it was managed and operated better.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Alfie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine A, Manager at Pocahontas Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

I am truly sorry to hear, you were disappointed with your stay at Pocahontas Cabins.
It sounds like you stayed in one of our original rustic cabins, those are situated along the highway and do have a price difference to our Deluxe Log cabins.
Please rest assure that this is not our standard of operation. Upon initial reservation we try our best to clarify that we do have numerous different types of cabins for our guests to choose from, ranging in various price types as well as cabin layouts, amenities and location on property.
Since purchasing this property in 2002 we have invested in many upgrades; new cabins have been built as well as several in-room improvements have taken place.
Our latest renovation took place last year with the building of 7 new and beautiful log cabins. As of today we now have replaced 20 cabins of the 57 cabins/ units existing and also have renovated the entire Cedar Lodge building with its 8 units and are looking forward to more upgrades and renovations to come.
I am sorry you did not get to enjoy a round of darts in the games rooms, as we do have quiet a few darts available at the front desk- we only gives these out at the desk to be able to monitor as to who is playing as we do have a lot of children using the games room as well.
I apologize that we failed to provide you with the necessary information and we will be addressing these issues. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, your feedback will assist us in improving our services for future guests.
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 418 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

We arrived - baby and two dogs in tow - this past Sunday for three nights. We stayed in a Settlers Cabin.

PROS:
The Settlers Cabin is very rustic and with few amenities but is comfortable and spacious enough for our whole gaggle. The queen bed was clean, the bathroom towels are so lush and pristine white, and the property was hardly booked.

I have been here before with two dogs and the property is dog friendly. There are a lot of grassed areas, walking trails and places to let Fido explore. The cabins are all separated so you are not sleeping beside another guests paper thin walls. The pool and hot tub were both open and as hot as they should be respectively. The staff are very friendly and accommodating in the office and on site when cleaning the rooms and when walking around the property.

The cost for the area is the best for what you get. Hotels in the Jasper areas can be very expensive for what you get.

CONS:
The Settlers cabins doors are security poor. If someone wanted to illegally enter a cabin, the screens on the windows could be easily popped off (as could the rotten windows) and the doors could easily be pushed in with a shoulder. Do not leave valuables unattended in the cabins. We were not robbed but better safe than sorry.
The set up of the interior of the cabin is silly. Everything against every wall with no room to sit for a dinner in while watching tv or sitting and talking.
The walls are not insulated so the cabin is super hot with the hot sun during the day and freezing cold at night because of the leak of air through the poorly fitting door and rotten window frames. The baseboard heaters do work and I would highly recommend using them for spring trips.
The Settlers cabins view Highway 16 so there is a constant hum of traffic but coming from a large city, this actually didn't bother us.
We ate their restaurant, Poco's Café, for dinner. I started out ordering what I thought was healthy - a quesadilla with salad. The quesadilla was dripping with oil after being deep fried and the salad came out frozen so was inedible. I asked to have it replaced with fries as my only other option and the waitress made me put every little piece of the frozen salad onto another plate before she would bring me the fries. She told me that my salad had been sitting in water that's why it was so ugly. Then why put it on the plate in the first place?

Overall a good trip though. Saw an immense number of wildlife to and from the town site of Jasper every day. Found an off leash park in Jasper for the dogs which was perfect for them to burn off energy.
It was wonderful to be in the mountains mid week with other tourists few and far between. It felt like a real holiday.
Just a warning - be very very careful on the highway. The number of speeders on that highway in all sizes of vehicles puts not only other drivers and photographers of wildlife at risk but all of the animals at risk and these drivers don't seem to care at all. We saw people pass us going at least 140 in a 70 km/hr zone. It was unbelievable.

Room Tip: The farther in to the resort you go, the less you hear the highway. But they are also more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The cabins have a lot of character and is very much located in the wilderness (aside from the fact that it's also right beside the highway). Unfortunately that also means there's nothing nearby if you get hungry at night. They do have their own restaurant but everything shuts down late in the evening so there isn't much support aside from an emergency phone. It's nothing special, and the bathrooms can be tiny, but the space is relatively clean for a cabin.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We just got back from a 2 night stay at the Pocahontas. The Deluxe Cabin was nice but all dishes were dirty. Everything we needed to use needed to be cleaned first. The pool just opened and the hot tub was very dirty. We did not use it. If you got a dog, this is the place to go. If you wanna have a good night sleep this is not a place to go. Dogs are barking and you can not rest at all.
They advertise wireless internet, but there is only one room you get connected....... if...... they do not have trouble. I did not get a propper connection while we stayed there for 3 days. When we complained about the dirty dishes we got an appologie but that was all. They did not even bother to check and clean the dishes we complained about. Not worth 160 $ a night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelseMaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine A, Manager at Pocahontas Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and thank you for making us aware of the issues mentioned. I am truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Pocahontas Cabins.
Our front desk staff should have explained to you, that we offer wireless internet in the main building only not in guest rooms/cabins, and with Pocahontas' remote location unfortunately no high speed internet is available on site, therefore service can be delayed at times. We are in the process of adding extra hot spots to property to improve connectivity.
We pride ourselves in cleanliness and I am sorry that we failed to check on your room after brining it to our attention.
Our goal is to provide exceptional customer service to all our guests and we have failed to do so for you, please accept my sincere apologies and rest assured that this in not an indication of our standards.
I have reviewed your comments with our team and proper actions have been taken to avoid a future occurence.
Thank you again for your review and wishing you all the best in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and i just returned from staying at the pocahontas cabins,They staff were excellent and very accommodating and the wildlife viewing was unbelievable since it is not in town...Black bears and deer,.
Due to it not being right in town in was quiet and the drive to town was amazing.
Generally quiet can hear a bit of traffic but was not bad at all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed from Saturday to Tuesday and we couldn't have had a better stay. We stayed in the newer king deluxe cabins, they were very very clean and well maintained . The interior and the high ceilings were just beautiful, loved the full kitchen and fully equipped kitchen was perfect for cooking a our suppers. I know people have complained about the cabins facing the road (to the hot springs) but we didn't hear a thing. We also had a beautiful view of the mountains from our from patio. We also had our dog with us and the staff was very welcoming. The staff was a pleasure to deal with!! Very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to plan our next trip. Will post pictures when I get to a computer!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyJohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were a big family of 8 travelling in Canada. For Jasper, we chose Pocahontas Cabins. While on the highway, we were told to just keep driving straight. We passed the little town of Jasper and kept on going along the highway for quite a while. But we did reach Pocahontas. We were given a family room with 3 bedrooms. This room was very spacious and is highly recommended for families. It had a very nice kitchenette. Food and supplies were available in a shop at the Hotel. The location of Pocahontas Cabins is very good. There were a few trails right beside the Hotel. They had a lovely hot tub and a swimming pool as well. The people there took good care of us.
In all, this place may be the best in Jasper.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExpertAdvice_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
23.2 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
465 reviews
23 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
899 reviews
22.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
644 reviews
22.7 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
22.9 mi away
Lobstick Lodge
Lobstick Lodge
#16 of 17 in Jasper
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pocahontas Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocahontas Cabins

Address: Hwy 16 and Miette Hot Spring Road, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Jasper National Park
Price Range: $77 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pocahontas Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pocahontas Cabins are located in a peaceful area, just 25 minutes away from the bustling town of Jasper. Next to a diversity of natural attractions and wildlife, these cabins are the perfect place to stay to experience your own mountain retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Pocahontas Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pocahontas Cabins Hotel Jasper National Park
Pocahontas Hotel Jasper National Park
Pocahontas Cabins Jasper
Pocahontas Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing