We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends Getaway in the Fall”
Review of Pocahontas Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pocahontas Cabins
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friends Getaway in the Fall”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Several (5) couples met for two nights at Pocahontas in September to share some good times in the Rockies. We were treated to the new two bedroom cabins. They were fantastic in every way...very clean and comfortable. We loved the log design and finish! The grounds were immaculate. The breakfasts in the restaurant provided huge portions from the buffet or the menu....it was delicious. Staff was very helpful. This is a must stay for anyone visiting the Jasper area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWTravelsCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    112
    68
    29
    52
See reviews for
122
153
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My family and I were more than pleasantly surprised when we walked into the cabin we had booked for the night after hiking the rigorous yet rewarding Sulphur Skyline. From the outside, the cabin looked new, but opening the door to reveal a show-home quality "home-away-from-home" was a real surprise. The rooms were spacious, and the huge shower and warm fireplace were especially welcome features. We will be back!

Room Tip: New cabins are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We just finished a 6 day stay at the Pocahontas Cabins. We started out in the deluxe cabin with its great view of the center grass strip. We talked about getting more room so they upgraded us to the king Deluxe cabins. It was fantastic, big super clean room, view out to the trees and mountains, fully equipped. Did my wifi connection out in the picnic tables, great speed.

The staff was amazing, super helpful with any need, loaned out books and DVDs at no charge. The grounds were spotless, even though dogs were allowed. REasonable fee for dogs, one of the lowest around.

We don't usually stay on the east side of Jasper but saw more wildlife on the trips than on previous visits.

Can not recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: best view from the King deluxe cabins, although it faces a road, not much traffic and you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photogmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I am sorry to write this review but I wouldn't want others to experience what I had to experience. I am also sorry because, beside the cleanliness and small portions at their restaurant, the staff was kind, respectful and knowledgeable. My husband, four daughters and I have recently returned from our trip this August 2012. We stayed at the Pocahontas cabins this summer. We had chosen to stay at their luxury two-story cabin, overlooking the pool. First issue was an ashtray with a cigarette in it on our second floor veranda. Second issue was the poor window coverings which could only close with great difficulty, and the mousquitoes in the room. Their mosquito lamp is not effective at all to get rid of mosquitoes or flies. Third issue was the dirty, dusty rugs throughout. I was convinced that they had not vacuumed for awhile. Fourth issue was the back of all washroom doors were plastered in a quarter inch dust and grime on the hindges, ridges and trims. The baseboards, corners, etc, were all full of dust collected there over the years. It was an awful sight. Fifth issue was that the tub/shower enclosure showed evidence of a previous use. There was soap scum with shavings of hair splattered on the bathtub enclosure as well as water stains, evidently the wall inside the shower has absolutely never been cleaned. Sixth issue was that all the beds were sloppily made, almost as though someone had slept there during the night and in the morning had clumsily pulled the covers to hide the evidence. The bedsheets, blankets and bed covers were bumpy showing evidence that they were bunched up, not straightened flat. At the sight of all that uncleanliness, I did not feel comfortable drinking from their glasses or sleeping in their beds. I was questioning if the pillows had been placed on the floor, etc. Even though I complained to them directly and filled out their comment card, I was not offered any discounts for the room and no manager came to apologize and never attempted to rectify the situation while we were there. We did receive a small discount at the restaurant, though. One issue separate from the cleanliness was the room set-up. In the upper floor, there was a bedroom with an en-suite. That bedroom had a door, but had two queen size beds in it and a large television. There was outside of the room, in a little den, another queen size bed and a window but no door and no television. As you go up the stairs and reach the top, you are faced immediately with that bed. Therefore, there was no privacy at all in that room. Well, I had to put my children somewhere because they had to share beds. I ended up having to put my children in the private bedroom with the en-suite and I ended up having to sleep in the den with no doors and no privacy for my husband and I. When we needed to use the washroom we had to go through that room or go downstairs.This was extremely inconvenient for both my husband and I and was truly an illogical set-up. I became quite paranoid with the whole affair and was truly disgusted by my visit. I have decided that I will never return there again.

Room Tip: I have tried a few years ago the Miette Hot Springs Resort and I truly enjoyed all. I also favor it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mom5194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper National Park hotels

Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great property just inside the east side of the JNP gates. I would highly recommend the newer cabins with the red tin roof in the center of the property and highly recommend against the older cabins in the outer ring of the property. Have all the conveniences that you could want in a little cabin and when the restaurant is open (seasonally) it is fantastic especially for breakfast! We little being out in the wilderness more than in the Jasper town site where it's so busy plus this is very close to the hot springs which is one of our favorite things!

Room Tip: See my review re: the cabins inner and outer rings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondellie_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Pocahontas Cabins Aug 27 to Aug 31/12. We stayed in one of the brand new West facing cabins. Our cabin was beautiful and spotless with every amenity we could ask for, king size bed, two flat screen t.v.s, full kitchen, stone fireplace, nice bathroom with a soaker tub and a lovely veranda. The staff was always friendly and accommodating. The warm outdoor pool and the hot tub were clean and well maintained. We did not get a chance to enjoy the restaurant as we ate in our cabin. We did visit the gift shop/store to buy a few extras and founds the prices reasonable. Most of all we enjoyed the privacy, we could just sit outside with a glass of wine and look at the spectacular mountains around us. We would definitely stay at the Pocahontas Cabins again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan_mountaingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I think we must have stayed in the same Cabin as Lazer_Beam_Oil - either that, or the standards are consistent across the park.
We were really looking forward to staying here from the pictures - a bit rustic in a fantastically scenic part of the world. Started off badly - the Cabins are a stone's throw from the highway and about a 45 minute drive from Jasper. We pulled up to our Miner's Cabin, which actually looks like a shed with a veranda.
What immediately hit us was a smell of old fat being used to cook a fried breakfast - the smell stayed with us for the 3 nights we endured here (and odd, because there were no cooking facilities other than a microwave in the room). We then saw the same, large sticky stain on the threadbare "carpet". The sink had a massive spider crack in it that ran from the edge of the sink to the plug and the bathroom was so small, you couldn't store your shower gel, etc, in there. In the cabin itself the old tube TV (picture awful), took up half the small room.
However, as with other poor, unsuspecting guests the 2 worst things we were to discover later on in our stay - the mosquitoes and the uncleanliness. Starting with the mozzies - they are so bad, that you cannot step outside the room at dusk without getting bitten to within an inch of your life. As another reviewer has said, we had a bug killer in our room, but I'd rather that than the alternative. There's no way you could sit outside or you'd look like an extra in a horror film after about 20 minutes. There's no aircon (obviously), so if it's hot, like it was for us, then you dare not open a window, so you sit / lay and sweat.
Then there is the uncleanliness - the room was dirty to start and nothing was cleaned while we were there - they didn't even change the glasses or cups we used. Certainly, the room hadn't been vacuumed I think since the original Miner's lived there.
We found the staff were really quite friendly and the food in the restaurant was good.
I really would not recommend anyone stay here - this hotel was what prompted me to sign up to Trip Advisor, so that I could warn others to avoid like the plague (of mozzies). It's not cheap and the Miner's Cabin we were in (no. 39), was awful. I really wish we'd cut our losses and stayed elsewhere. Please, please stay anywhere else in or around Jasper - this place is an absolute shocker.

Room Tip: If you are taken hostage and have to stay here, don't ask for a Miner's Cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pod3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPMJasper, Manager at Pocahontas Cabins, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We would like to thank all the individuals who posted their observations on Tripadvisor over the past year. At the signature line on all of our guest accounts we have a statement encouraging guests to visit Tripadvisor and add their comments after their departure. Recently we received candid feedback regarding our mosquitoes challenges and cleanliness issues in our cabins.

As we are in a National Park, using pesticide is not an option and we this past summer we experienced an unusually high hatch of mosquitoes due to the moisture and heat in our area. We regret this natural occurrence over a 4 week period affected all of our guests.

Regarding the cleanliness and other issues, I would like to apologize to these guests and would welcome speaking with them personally regarding their stay. Over the past year, we have had many, very good reviews from both new and repeat guests. We are committed to improving our operation and use direct feedback from our clients from comment cards, personal conversations and emails.

Over the last number of years we have been investing in new cabins at the property. Most recently (Winter 2012) we removed 7 old cabins and replaced them with 7 new log cabins. The comments we have received on these changes has been very positive and we look forward to continue making changes to our property in the coming years.

I am happy to address any concerns directly with our guests and can be reached at Pocahontas Cabins.

Ralph Melnyk, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
23.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
22.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
24.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
23.6 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#11 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
21.1 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pocahontas Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocahontas Cabins

Property: Pocahontas Cabins
Address: Jct Hwy 16 and Miette Hot Spring Road, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pocahontas Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pocahontas Cabins are located in a peaceful area, just 25 minutes away from the bustling town of Jasper. Next to a diversity of natural attractions and wildlife, these cabins are the perfect place to stay to experience your own mountain retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pocahontas Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pocahontas Cabins Hotel Jasper National Park
Pocahontas Hotel Jasper National Park
Pocahontas Cabins Jasper
Pocahontas Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing