We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous and NEVER again!!”
Review of Pocahontas Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pocahontas Cabins
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Not what we expected. The photo have not been updated for a while. We turned up to check in and I looked at my partner horrified!! Biggest disappointment! Our cabin was so old and run down. Got eaten alive by mozzies. I was humiliated and refunded the two nights. Grateful for that. Stay in Jasper. I wouldn't even recommend this place to people I hate!!! TERRIBLE!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPMJasper, Manager at Pocahontas Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your review of your stay at Pocahontas Cabins in July. I am happy to see that you spoke directly to our front office staff prior to leaving the property and were grateful for our response to your concerns. We would encourage all travellers to speak directly to the hotel front dest while on the property (regardless if is our property or any other hotel on their travels) if there are issues in order to have a positive resolution in a timely manner.

As we are in a National Park, using pesticide on our mosquitoes is not an option and we this past summer we experienced an unusually high hatch of mosquitoes due to the moisture and heat in our area. We regret this natural occurrence over a 4 week period affected all of our guests.

Over the past year, we have had many, very good reviews from both new and repeat guests. We are committed to improving our operation and use direct feedback from our clients from comment cards, personal conversations and emails. Over the last number of years we have been investing in new cabins at the property. Most recently (Winter 2012) we removed 7 old cabins and replaced them with 7 new log cabins. The comments we have received on these changes has been very positive and we look forward to continue making changes to our property in the coming years.

I am happy to address any concerns directly with our guests and can be reached at Pocahontas Cabins.

Ralph Melnyk, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 405 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Not what we expected. The sofabed was very uncomfortable and one side was heaved up and slatted so that you'd roll into your spouse. The toilet still had *ahem* in it ... gross! The toaster did not work, unless you physically held the button down. Toast crumbs under toaster in cupboard. Pool was VERY deep and not for small children. Hot tub ... biggest disappointment! For that many cabins, they had the standard 6 person hot tub you'd find in your friends back yard. Games room was fine. Restaurant was pricey but good.
Would not stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed here with my husband and 3 year old daughter as a gift from my parents. I was humiliated when we had to phone them at 5am to tell them we had to leave because our daughter was severely sick due to the absolute squalor and disgusting conditions of the cabins we had stayed in. However I am very grateful to the doctor in hinton! We stayed in the older cabins, from our patio (had we been able to use it) we would have had a lovely view of the new cabins that may have been more comfortable then the one we stayed in that had clearly not been cleaned in years. After making arrangements over the phone and looking at pics on the internet and paying $200 we assumed very wrongly we would be in one of the newer properties. I had to look under the bed for something my daughter dropped and the gobs of dirt and dust were so large I was honestly terrified. We had to use toilet paper to cram along the sides of windows, and around the huge gaps around the pipes for the sink in the washroom. In 34 degree heat we were trapped inside a filthy smelly hole unable to open the windows until we figured out to toilet paper them to keep the bugs from coming in. However at least they gave us a large plug in bug zapper, that once we realized there are no plug ins outside was meant for inside the cabin (yuck). Luckily they also had a small grocery store where we were able to purchase $100 worth of bug spays and products to use inside our cabin. The outdated television had no picture, and the sound had clearly gone along time ago on it. And the kitchenette was a very old dorm style hot plate that only cooked on very high. When we tried to seek refuge in the main lodge, the male and female "maintenance" people who spent their time lounging on the guest sofa or in guest areas, joked and laughed loudly and told stories about how funny it is was to see guests severely bitten my mosquitoes, and how they had jumbo bottles of bug spray and calamine. To go with the lovely entertainment of their stories when we were in the restaurant area was the bar and wait staff lighting mosquito coils next to the food. I do not blame them as even inside the pests were atrocious and vicious, but the smell was as unappealing as being laughed at by staff. So we made our way, with no fewer then 20 bites a piece on the run, back to our cabin. We opened up the hide-a-bed, to find popsicle sticks, food, a childs spoon (dirty), and some sort of used tissue(?) inside the bed. And the bedroom was far less appealing. Luckily we had a small air mattress to allow our daughter to sleep for the few hours while we slept in full length clothing to protect our limbs sitting up. Until she awoke sick, and we madly dashed around throwing our things into the vehicle to get her out of there. She had an asthma attack and a cluster of bug bites that she needed to be treated with oral and topical antibiotics for. On the way out, and double checking nothing got lost in our crazy rush to depart, I made the mistake of looking under the fridge, where I found the meal the baby spoon in the bed went to covered in bugs, as well as so much dust and debris and dirt, I ran out of there not caring if anything was left behind. We arrived with not one bug bite and left covered from head to toe. Hot, exhausted, and dirty, it was a horrible experience, instead of continuing on our holidays as planned we had to return home with a sick child. I think it is shameful of an establishment to even allow these units to be rented. My husband travels for work, he stays in hundreds of properties all over the world, and in some not so nice places, and he felt this was by far the worst place he had EVER stayed in. Perhaps I would be writing a much different review if we were in a different unit, but I doubt it. This review may sound extreme, but please I can not stress this enough do not risk wasting money on one of their older units if you stay there. My only regret was not getting pictures to post of the uncleanliness. To the management, please go into number 14 and look under the fridge and bed and behind furniture, you should fire your 'cleaning' staff.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jamly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

WE stayed here for two nights rather than take a hotel in Jasper its self. Our main reason for this was so that we could keep our costs down and all share the same suite.
Travellers should note that the Pocahontas Cabins are a good half hour drive outside Jasper Town so be prepared.

We had been driving all day so arrived late in the evening and were greeted in a very friendly manner at reception. Check in was quick and we were directed to our newly renovated 'Cedar Lodge' cabin.

The cabin is right in front of the pool and although it forms part of a row attached to other cabins we were never aware of guests in the next cabins. Inside was just beautiful and well appointed with a large fridge and cooking facilities. Downstairs was a large lounge with a sofa bed, TV and bathroom.

Upstairs was a balcony area with king bed and then a room with two king beds and an en suite bathroom.

Leading off from the upstairs was an outside balcony with a table and chairs. We had our evening meal here and were able to watch an amazing storm come over the mountains without a drop of rain hitting us.

A word of caution...Mosquitoes! Hoards of the little flying devils. The staff had warned us that there may have been a few managed to get into the cabin but we were not prepared for the Canadian definition of 'a few'. Make sure you bring insect repellent, citronella candles, mossie nets.........FULL BODY ARMOUR!!! These things set upon us like they'd never seen a human and we were eaten alive! At dawn we were like extras n a zombie movie with the amount of blood flowing!

Would I stay here again....oh yes.....its a lovely spot.

ON our second evening we made up a huge salad and ordered in some wings from the cafe. These arrived in minutes and were excellent ...highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zygote23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We found Pocahontas Cabins on the internet and booked four cabins for the August long weekend. We arrived early Friday afternoon and were dissappointed to find that we were not staying in a cabin that they had pictured on the website, and that we had three out of four cabins facing the very busy highway. We found that the carpets were dirty, the window sill's were littered with dead bugs, and the window screens had large gaps and holes that we had to put toilet paper in them to fill.

Saturday morning we woke to a mouse eating a sealed package of Costco muffins on the table. We advised the staff at the front desk and we were told that we had to have allowed the mouse in the cabin (# 32) because they have never had an issue with mice.

While waiting for the staff to check the cabin, we moved some furniture and killed the mouse ourselves.

We spent the afternoon off site to return to a cabin with two mouse traps. A manager came and found us to advise us that they had placed the traps and have been monitoring them throughout the afternoon and felt satisfied that the mouse that we had killed was the one and only. We did not return to the cabin until bedtime (11:30pm).

At 12:30am we were woken by a loud snap and another at 1:00am. At first we thought it was the bug zapper but after looking at both mouse traps we found that both had mice in them. While discussing what to do we found a third mouse in the garbage.

I woke my children and had them sleep with their grandparents in a different cabin and my wife and I slept in our car.

It is fair to say we checked out a day early due to this very unpleasant experience and would not suggest Pocahontas Cabins to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobJenBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed in the pioneer cabins, two bedroom, unit. It had a full bath, two burner stove, sink, mini fridge, and tv. It was perfect for all six of us. We enjoyed the quiet eveings/nights, and it was close to Miette Hot Springs. The only down side is that it is at least 30 minutes from Jasper and any other attraction. Being just off the highway you don't hear the noise. There are a few hiking trails around and a coal mine trail.

Room Tip: I found the cabins a better choice. As they are a bit away from the pool but you don't hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our family, along with some friends, stayed here for three nights. It has a very good location and the cabins are very nicely kept. However, there are an abundance of mosquitoes that could have been dealt with in a better fashion. Many of the mosquito zappers were problematic or missing. We approached the front counter and were told that they had no replacements, which is unacceptable considering the afore mentioned (the abundance of mosquitoes). It is understandable that mosquitoes are part of nature, but it made the stay very unpleasant.

Lastly, their parking lot surveillance is inexistant; our car got hit over our stay. However, the culprit is yet to be found due to the lack of surveillance. They need to have better control of the vehicles that come onto the property and their corresponding units. Due to this lack of control, numerous vehicles parked in our units' spots.

Overall, the scenery and the area are very nice, but would have been much more enjoyable given the above mentioned circumstances. I would recommend anyone wanting to rent a cabin in the area to go a bit further toward Jasper to avoid the issues mentioned.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adinanegreanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
22.7 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
22.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
976 reviews
21.1 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#14 of 17 in Jasper
737 reviews
23.2 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
448 reviews
23.0 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pocahontas Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocahontas Cabins

Address: Hwy 16 and Miette Hot Spring Road, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Jasper National Park
Price Range: $76 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pocahontas Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pocahontas Cabins are located in a peaceful area, just 25 minutes away from the bustling town of Jasper. Next to a diversity of natural attractions and wildlife, these cabins are the perfect place to stay to experience your own mountain retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pocahontas Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pocahontas Cabins Hotel Jasper National Park
Pocahontas Hotel Jasper National Park
Pocahontas Cabins Jasper
Pocahontas Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing