We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road is a major drawback”
Review of Pocahontas Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pocahontas Cabins
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Road is a major drawback”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We were uncertain what to expect given diversity of reviews on trip advisor. Luckily we had a new cabin which was not too close to the road. As a result our 4 night stay was fine, using it as a base for the area. Cabin was clean (although did hear other people complain about dog hair left behind) but smaller than expected - smaller than many of the hotel rooms elsewhere. Would not want to stay in older cabin and road noise is a problem everywhere unless windows are shut. For instance pool is located only a few yards from road which meant that it held little appeal. If located 1 km off highway it would be a delightful place. However, it is not cheap and we were amazed that it was fully booked all of the time we were there. If we return to jasper would stay at Patricia or pyramid lake resorts which really are in the wilderness (and closer to town as well)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie_Anna_Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    120
    74
    30
    52
See reviews for
126
162
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edson
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

I have stayed at these cabins a couple of times and it is always a good experience. Quiet and peaceful not too far from Jasper. Close drive to the hot springs which is also a bonus. Whether you are staying in a low budget cabin, mid priced cabin or in the large 2 story suites you will not be dissapointed. The small cabins have a rustic charm, while the large suites are very pretty and cozy! No complaints!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

No cleaning, no airco, no real hotel facilities. Paradise for mosquitoes. Our advise: never go to this horrible place!!!!! They say: "rooms have mountain views". The real view is a trash container, see photo.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harm N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper National Park hotels

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed in a Pioneer 1 cabin. We were told it was one of the newly reno'd ones. Had full bath a separte bedroom large diningroom/ living area full size fridge and stove everything. Hot tub and swimming pool just across from us. Use of BBQ's outside too.

Ate in the cafe in main building was alright.

Room Tip: ask for the new ones older models are smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midnightlore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

A pleasant surpise, with fully equipped cabins (kitchenette, huge fridge) and free WiFi (around the main building). Restaurant was very good as well. There is an outdoor pool and a hot tub, and several electrical BBQs that can be used on a first-come first-serve base. Has a little shop (essentials only) and a laundry room. Excellent place to explore Jasper National Park. Very friendly staff! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caspartje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, MA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights the first week in August. I would only recommend you stay here if you are guaranteed your room or cabin is in the "newly built" section of this property. An amazing kid friendly place. The game room, pool area, hot tub, and mini golf kept our 10 and 12 year old kids happily entertained in the evening. We had the new executive cabin with kitchen. Be warned it is a 2 story cabin with beds on 2nd floor but a very small bathroom on first floor only. Having a full kitchen was ideal for our family of 5 and the cabin provided all cookware and utensils for any meal. There were mosquitoes day and night due to all the UNUSUAL rain Jasper got in June/July. This location is on the same road as Miette Hotsprings and the Pocahontas Trail but a 25 to 30 minute drive to the downtown area of Jasper.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Made reservations by calling the resort directly (no third party involved), after having visited the web-site. Well, I'll start off by saying that the pictures on their web-site are completely and totally mis-leading. While we heard that they have some newer cabins, we got stuck in a little old one backing directly onto the high-way. Upon getting out of our truck, the mosquitos "attacked" us.....I have never seen so many in one place.
We opened the door to go inside the shack/cabin that we were paying $219/night for, and the smell was the first thing that hit us, dirty & nasty!! The second thing we noted upon entering the cabin was how tiny it was, not enough room for a family of 4.....and we had booked for 6, the grand-parents weren't impressed with the accomodations either.
I went to the office to see what went wrong with my booking because we were told that there was enough room for 6 and that there was a kitchenette.....neither of which were true. We were told that the only thing available to us was gonna run us $339 for one night....but we had booked for 3 nights and the other 2 would have to be spent in the first cabin.
There was NO WAY that I was gonna subject myself or my family to such terrible conditions, especially on what was supposed to be a fun-filled family vacation with the grandparents who were visiting from out of provinnce. I promptly made a couple phone calls, and was super lucky to get reservations at a gorgeous cabin with a full kitchen, right in the town of Jasper, and for $20/night cheaper than we would have paid at Pocahontas.
A long story short....stay away, stay far away!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer9173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
22.7 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
22.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 17 in Jasper
902 reviews
23.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#12 of 17 in Jasper
697 reviews
21.1 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
591 reviews
22.9 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pocahontas Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocahontas Cabins

Property: Pocahontas Cabins
Address: Jct Hwy 16 and Miette Hot Spring Road, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pocahontas Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pocahontas Cabins are located in a peaceful area, just 25 minutes away from the bustling town of Jasper. Next to a diversity of natural attractions and wildlife, these cabins are the perfect place to stay to experience your own mountain retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Pocahontas Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pocahontas Cabins Hotel Jasper National Park
Pocahontas Hotel Jasper National Park
Pocahontas Cabins Jasper
Pocahontas Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing