We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot water in a pool...... Right.”
Review of Miette Hot Springs

Miette Hot Springs
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.70*
and up
Canadian Rockies Tour by Chauffeured Sidecar from Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: You won’t soon forget the drive up the spectacular Fiddle Valley to the hottest mineral springs in the Rockies. Flowing from the mountain at 54ºC, the water is cooled to a comfortable temperature of 40ºC as it enters the pools. Peaceful surroundings with these services: Two hot pools Two cool pools Outdoor and Indoor Cafes Gift Shop Wildlife viewing Superb hiking Accommodation and camping nearby
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Don't understand it. I expected rock pools with heated mineral water and a smell of some description. To be fair I had not done any research about this place befor leaving home. For us it was one of those off the cuff things you do because it's there and you have an afternoon to kill.

I was also surprised you could rent a swimming costume and a towel. The pools were pretty crowded and I don't think swimming is really an option. I suppose it's all about having a soak. Struck me more as a communal bath tub. Too many squealing kids for me. They seem to manage to find something to let out an ear piercing scream just about anywhere don't they?

All in all it was not unpleasant but I don't think I'll break my neck to go back.

1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDNrockiesHotSprings, Manager at Miette Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Mike,
Thanks for your review of Miette. It would be fun to have a natural rock pool to enjoy and many of our visitors hope to find that feature when they arrive. Unfortunately, Mother Nature did not create one on the mountain-side where the hot springs emerge and so a pool was built to capture the mineral water so that visitors could enjoy it.
Yes, the experience is all about soaking in the hot mineral water rather than swimming. You will find less children if you visit in the spring or fall seasons. We hope that you do come back to enjoy the pool, the park and the scenery soon!

Warm regards,
Donna Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 406 of 493 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

The only hot springs I have visited previously were in Iceland. I was hoping for something similar here, but was very disappointed. The polls are artificial, concrete and very small. They were very crowded, even at 9pm, and with many children playing in the water. The water had no smell. It was not hot enough for my liking. The hygiene standards are dubious. We saw people going through to the pools without showering first, and most people who did shower did not wash thoroughly (sorry, but you can't wash yourself properly while wearing a swimming costume).

It was only 6 dollars, but not recommended. We stayed 15 minutes.

2  Thank Nick_WWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDNrockiesHotSprings, Manager at Miette Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Nick,
I am so sorry to hear that the hot springs in the Rockies were not what you were expecting. Yes, they are totally different from those found in Iceland where the water is heated by volcanic activity and is contained in large, natural rock pools. Unlike Iceland, the hot springs here are heated by the heat of the earth’s crust and there are no natural pools into which it can flow – thus we direct it into concrete pools. Public health rules require that we add chlorine to the mineral water to maintain health standards. Our staff test the water hourly to ensure the quality is hygienic and safe for visitors. We request that all visitors have a cleansing shower before entering the pool and we do our best to enforce that rule. We do hope that you will give us another try sometime.

Warm regards,
Donna Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

much less crowded, more pools, better view and cheaper. So nice to soak after some tough uphill climbing - definitely recommend.

2  Thank maxine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDNrockiesHotSprings, Manager at Miette Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Hi Maxine,
Thanks for your comments about Miette Hot Springs. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the experience when combined with a hike in the park and hope that you will visit again soon.

Kind regards,
Donna Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We went to Miette Hot Springs after a strenuous and intense day and night of backcountry camping and hiking in Jasper. It was around $6 (adult price) per person to get in which I thought was cheap considering how expensive most things are in Canada. Towel rentals are $1.50 and locker rentals are $1. You don't actually need a locker (as I found out) if you don't mind leaving your bags and belongings on the chairs they have by the pools.
The pools are big and nice. There were two hot pools and two cold pools. It wasn't too crowded but we came around lunch time. They have communal shower places for you to rinse off and changing areas. The scenery by the pools is of a mountain. It was nice for our muscles to relax and soak after a long day of exercise.

Thank Vanessa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDNrockiesHotSprings, Manager at Miette Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Hi Vanessa,
Thanks for your review of Miette Hot Springs, the hottest hot springs in the Rockies! Yes, we do offer great value for a really nice experience. There is nothing better after an active day in the park than to soak in the scenery in the soothing hot mineral water. Did you know that the prominent mountain ridge to the north of the pool is called Ashlar Ridge? It has the classic shape of the Front Range mountains of the Canadian Rockies and provides a dramatic backdrop for the pools of Miette. We do hope you will return to enjoy the springs again soon.
And yes, they are still the same great value as always!

Warm regards,
Donna Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Miette hot springs has four pools, two of them cool, and two of them quite warm. There are changing and showering facilities, which, while dated, are kept very clean. The views from the pools are very nice in the late afternoon to early evening. There is a nice gift shop and cafe. There is a scenic, short hike up to the original hot springs and the source of the spring water.

6  Thank mrmiketravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDNrockiesHotSprings, Manager at Miette Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thanks for your comments about Miette Hot springs in Jasper National Park. Miette is one of the great locations to visit in the park and enjoyed by young and old alike. Did you know that the first pools were built by striking coal miners during the one big strike in 1919? They were constructed of logs, moss and mud and became very popular for an outing with families who lived in the coal mining town that once thrived at the bottom of the Fiddle Valley where the Pocohontas bungalows are now located. Times have changed but visitors still come to enjoy the same things that Miette is famous for – the soothing hot water, the stunning scenery and opportunity to enjoy them with family and friends. Do come back soon!

Warm regards,
Donna Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miette Hot Springs also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Miette Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing