We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little hike is well rewarded”

Sunwapta Falls and Canyon
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.06*
and up
Glacier Skywalk Admission
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
603 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Nice little hike is well rewarded”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

One of those places that most people stop at on the road between Jasper and Banff. Good parking, and also toilet facilities if needed in the car park. Easy stroll to the upper falls which are good but nearly as spectacular as the lower falls/canyon. Takes around 20 mins to walk down to the bottom and then same back up again. In the main the path is OK and easy to stop if you need a rest on the way up.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MalcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    114
    31
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sawtry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Worth the trek”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stopped here on our trip along the icefields parkway and it is worth the stop. Awe inspiring waterfall and you can the additional trek for 2-3 miles into the canyon, mind the tree stumps. It is worth this trek to a little bench and continuation of the falls. The water coursing down is truly remarkable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mallin1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice little spot near Jasper”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

On our way out of town, we decided to visit a number of stops between Jasper and Lake Louise. First on the trek was Sunwapta Falls which delighted the family as the kids hadn't seen a waterfall before.

Parks Canada does a nice job of balancing the needs of tourists with the desire to keep these areas natural. We enjoyed the falls, information boards, and trails around the area. This is the type of stop where you could just go see the falls and leave or spend an entire day hiking around the area to see more. Definitely worth the stop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rstwohee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
185 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nice falls”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We only saw the falls, so this review doesn't refer to the canyon (which may raise the rating if we had). The falls is very nice, but we saw it after athabasca it athabasca is better. If you are tight on time you can skip this one and see athabasca. But if you have the time it is worth it given how close to the road it is and there are some nice trails around it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pedz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“ANother Spectacular Falls”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

When you first come in, it doesn't look like much, so keep going! Short walks to beautiful falls and an island in the middle of the river. Stairs lead down to more views of the canyon and a peaceful river. Nice place!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunwapta Falls and Canyon also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Sunwapta Falls and Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing