We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mt. Edith Cavell

Mt. Edith Cavell
Book In Advance
More Info
$102.68*
and up
Canadian Rockies Tour by Chauffeured Sidecar from Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

The road to Mt Edith Cavell was a bit of a surprise. I was told it was quite narrow and windy, however I did not expect it to be like that. Just be careful on the road as there are many cars that cut corners on the switch backs! Once you get to the top, the views are phenomenal. It's a short walk (uphill) to Cavell Pond at the base of the mountain where most people stop. There is, however, the possibility to continue on and do a longer hike. It's a bit colder up there, so bring a sweater in case you need it. A must see on a visit to Jasper!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank soconnor14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    86
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsdale, NJ
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth the trip off the parkway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We took 93a towards Edith Cavell based upon a recommendation. Not only did we see bears (baby and mamma), but the short hike was great. It included a glacier and lake below that has small icebergs in it. So worth the trip, we all enjoyed it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kckillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
125 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Glacier view on top and below mountain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

You can't get up with an RV over 7m and with a smaller RV you have to be careful as the road is pretty narrow. We hired a taxi that picked us up at Wabassoo Campground (70 CAD one way + taxi waits for 1 hour at the parking lot). Nice hike to the Glacier when you are at the parking lot but you can't go down to the Glacier Lake anymore as it's too dangerous. Pitty as then you could have seen the glacier very well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheFoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great drive, great hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Even if you can't hike the trail, the drive from Jasper to the trailhead is beautiful and well worth the time (about 90 minutes RT). Path of the Glacier and Cavell Meadows hike (5m, about 3 hrs RT) was challenging, but not overwhelming, and beautiful; as parking lot is relatively small. best to get there by 10. Cavell Meadows is a wonderful hike with great views of Angel Glacier. And the much shorter (less than a mile RT) Path of the Glacier hike is really worthwhile. Do both if you have the time and energy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanford-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“What a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We drove to the car park arriving at 8:45, well before the crowds. It was cold at that time (3 deg C) but great to be with only a handful of other people (also the car park is not very big so the earlier the better). We only had time to do the short walk to the foot of the glacier, but it was not too strenuous and what a reward. The view of the glacier and small lake was stupendous. If only we had had the time to do the longer walk - next time perhaps. A must sight to see in the park.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank familytravel4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Edith Cavell also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Mt. Edith Cavell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing