We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awe inspiring” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mt. Edith Cavell

Mt. Edith Cavell
Book In Advance
More Info
$102.81*
and up
Canadian Rockies Tour by Chauffeured Sidecar from Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is such an interesting glacier. It hangs off the side of Mt. Edith Cavell and does resemble an angel. We have been here several times, but the first time I saw it was the most awe inspiring. You walk out of the parking lot and onto the trail, you over look an old glacier path. The area is just so wide open here, I cannot explain it. You then walk one of two trails (low trail or high trail) to the moraigne at the bottom of the glacier. You can walk all the way up to the foot of the glacier.
It is tough to be see this one without weather messing it up. Jasper is not known for great weather.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren_in_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    86
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

There is a basic trail that will take you closer to the Angel glacier, and worth the VERY short hike for some amazing photos. There is also another path, the Cavell Meadows hike that I did in July two years ago. We went on a rainy day but it was still worth it. The flowers in bloom that time of year were beautiful-a lot of plants I've never seen before. Bring a camera, because you'll be taking a TON of photos!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank melaniedawn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We took several photos of the Mountain. A beautiful sight on the trip down from Jasper to Banff. There are some good views to be had of the mountain as you drive. South.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Capt_Camper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“WONDEROUS WALK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We walked the glacier trail and were astounded at the sights...so close to the glacier and the trickle of the water run off. Chunks of glacier in a pool at the bottom that you could touch. Fantastic picture opportunities. The drive up is breathtaking and chance to see Mama and cub at side of road.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TwirlingTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Glacier Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Fortunate to visit just before the closure. Took the easier trail to the Glacier and returned back the same way. The Glacier pond with ice bergs is serene, unique, and breathtakingly beautiful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank IncrediblePlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Edith Cavell also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Mt. Edith Cavell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing