We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't miss it!!”
Review of Mt. Edith Cavell

Mt. Edith Cavell
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.56*
and up
Mount Edith Cavell Hiking Tour
More Info
$109.12*
and up
Canadian Rockies Tour by Chauffeured Sidecar from Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“don't miss it!!”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Wasn't sure this would be worth the trip to get there... and it surpassed my expectations!! I'd go here before I'd go to the Columbia Icefields!! Be sure to take your time along the road-- you'll miss to much if you don't. The Amethyst Lakes were amazingly beautiful. Pack your lunch and spend a few hours here!! Good hike and worth it.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TigerSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    92
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not to be missed when you are in Jasper”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

It's a wonderful one and even the mountain roads leading to the attraction with HAIRPIN vends are wonderful.. Couple of picnic tables are available. A Nice view and wonderful spot for kIds to enjoy after a 30 mins, walk .. Good One.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank JBRSSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise!”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Expected to see this great mountain from a good vantage point that would be good for taking pictures from a far.
What we didn't expect was to be basically at the base of the mountain and so close you could see all the details. Glacier, waterfalls, snow pack, rock formations, etc.
There were 2 trails that would lead you to different vantage points to better view the mountain and all its surroundings, and although we did walk a small distance on the trails, we weren't prepared for any lengthy excursions. But we didn't need to travel far to view what we did. What a sight!
The travel up to the mountain is an experience in its own. To give you an idea, at the turn to head up to the mountain off of HWY 93A there is a parking lot for your trailers. Hair pin turns, steep climbs and narrow road make it interesting in a vehicle on its own. The road itself was outstanding. New pavement, well marked and as smooth as a baby's bottom.
Take our word...it was an unexpected surprise and worth the travel. It was the hi-light of our trip to Jasper.
Happy Travels!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Saskatoon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is one of my favorite places in the Canadian Rockies. I have been there more than 10 times and every time it amazes me. However, when i was there on Aug 12th, 2011, i have witnessed a big chunk of ice from the lower glacier into the lake in front... creating a mini tsuiami.

The Drive:
Driving to Mt. EC is fun and advanturous. You start at the bottom of the hill with tight swtichback and steep roads and you wind through the twining narrow along through old growth forest. This road used to be in bad shape but the good people at Parks Canada repaved the whole road. Now the ride is smooth and fun. I suggest to get there before lunch as the parking lot gets very full in the late morning and afternoon.

The walk/hike.
Once at the parking lot, there ar two ways to get to the same destination. The right hand path is flatter and you explore the aftermath of glacial processes. The left hand path takes you to the top of the lateral moraine which gives you a stunning view of the valley and the lake. I suggest you take different route going to and from the lake.

The glaciers and the lake
there are two glaciers at Mt. EC, Angel Glaciers which hangs over top and a bottom glacier which half of it is in contact with the glacial lake. I suggest to go as soon as the road re-opens from the winter months as the warming temperatures can increase your chance of witnessing ice breaking off into the lake or even avalache. There is a small cave at the bottom of the angel glacier but i suggest you not to go in since avalache can happen without much warning.

Overall:
you can easily spent 3 hours at this location so plan your day accordingly. The weather can change very rapidly. I was there once in August and IT SNOWED...

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baradonia, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A definite must-see”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Visiting this area was one of the highlights of our trip. It was late in the day and the crowd was thinning out. The view of the glacier; Mt. Edith Clavell and the lake was spectacular. You can walk down all the way to the water (need to walk across lots of rocks) and you can walk close to the toe of the glacier. There was an ice cave that was interesting to see but I would not recommend going into it (although some people were doing that). The trail to the meadows was uphill and not something to do when you are tired but worth it for the views. Requires some effort to get to and a little off the beaten track but a must-see if in the Jasper area.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank olomanany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Edith Cavell also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Mt. Edith Cavell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing