We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Tekarra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tekarra Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 25, 2007

It was perfect, the locations (close to town) was great, and close to the golf course too. The cabin was better than we expected and was very clean and comfortable. The front desk, and cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful. We can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Restaraunt
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieranlightfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    192
    78
    58
    41
See reviews for
230
268
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2007

After reading a few of the reviews, I was slightly concerned what my husband and I would find here (particularly as we were on our honeymoon!). However, I found it to be absolutely wonderful. It was really peaceful, the staff were very helpful and the restaurant was fantastic! Definitely recommend this place (and I hope we'll be going back again at some point!).

  • Liked — The amazing location and cozy feel of the cabins
  • Disliked — Some of the cabins were a bit too close together
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cls1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2006

Tekarra lodge is in a very nice location overlooking a river yet just 1 mile from Jasper. The wooden lodges are very charming. We staying in an 'Athabasca cabin' which was large enough for our family of 4, but would have been very cramped with the maximum of 7. There's no TV, but you can hire DVDs with a portable player. On Tuesday and Saturday evening there is a free wildlife talk that is well worth going to. It's not cheap, but generally comparable with other places in Jasper and much better than an hotel room. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2006

If you are looking for a 5 star resort this isn't it. It doesn't have a T.V, Phone or alarmclock, but that's exactley what we were looking for. My girlfriend and I stayed in the athabasca cabin which is about 10 steps away from a perfect view of the athabasca river. Other cabins may not be independent and will not be as secluded as the athabascan. I had read some reviews written prior to going and there were alot of comments made about rodents etc. i never saw one mouse the 3 days we were there. I would definately go back again. Check out horseshoe lake if you go for a swim!!

  • Liked — peace and quiet
  • Disliked — the smell of smoke in the cabin
  • Tips/Secrets — bring your own small BBQ. The cabin and beds are small
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank firefighter405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2006

After reading other reviews we were skeptical but the cabins are wonderful and rustic. This place may not be for everyone but it was definitely our style and we loved it. Our cabin was clean and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. The restaurant is the best we have ever eaten in and the view from the bluff is fantastic, watching the full moon come up over the mountains was breathtaking. We will return for sure.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upperCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2006

We just returned from a wonderful trip but unfortunately, the low point was the Tekarra Lodge. We are a family of 4 who were greatly disappointed upon opening the door. The room was small and that's ok, but it was not what the web site promised nor was it clean. (A cleaning rag was left on the kitchen table, a coffee cup was dirty, food was baked onto the stovetop, coffee grounds were still on the counter and not enough forks or chairs for the four of us.) We fortunately were granted a check out in the am although we were told there was a two night minimum.
Would not recommend this place nor do we plan to visit there again.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Jodimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling Canada, originally from UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2006

We originally booked for 4 nights but upon reading negative Tripadvisor reviews AFTER we booked we suspected a problem and reduced this to 2 nights. 2 nights was still too long in the tiny Miette cabin with the unexplicably large fireplace that 'must not be used for heating' ??
Being in such a tiny cabin made the mouse problem all the worse with the little creatures running freely through the cabins and on the bed whilst we slept. Sleep was at a premium such is the noise they make all night.
We left our cabin to sleep in the car at 2am in the morning such was the nuisance caused in the cabin.
We couldn't leave quickly enough but had to wait until 8am for reception to open. The young assistant was unable to get a manager as I requested and was totally un-moved and un-apologetic on hearing my complaint. Instead she went into what was clearly a well rehearsed and often used response which blamed me for not using the emergency number (although no phones or TV's in the cabins), infomed me that it was a wilderness area (it isn't), informed me the mice only come inside when it rains and asked me what I expected from a 50 year old cabin ? Without prompting I was offered a discount which I refused saying nothing less than a full refund was acceptable. A full refund was given.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fredthebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
1.6 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.9 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,543 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
927 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tekarra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekarra Lodge

Property: Tekarra Lodge
Address: Highway 93A | 1 km south of Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tekarra Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the heart of the Canadian Rockies, Tekarra Lodge enjoys an enviable location within Jasper National Park, the largest of the national mountain parks in Canada, 4200 square miles in area. Jasper became a National Park in 1907 and the town site's first buildings were constructed in 1911, then Jasper was known as the town of Fitzhugh. Tekarra Lodge is located across the river from the base of its namesake, Tekarra Mountain. Tekarra Mountain, towering 2635 meters above us is named for the Iroquois guide and hunter who accompanied Sir James Hector on his expedition through the Rocky Mountains during the mid-1850s. The skill and devotion of the guide Tekarra saved the lives of the members of that expedition. He sustained and fed them during the grim and bitter winter with caribou that he hunted on the mountain. It was because of this devotion that Sir James named the mountain Tekarra. The lodge grounds form the banks of the confluence of the Athabasca and Miette rivers. This land is maintained in its natural state, and offers a wonderful study for nature lovers. Tekarra's marked nature walk, and the Indian totem poles give pleasure to all ages. The area and history in and around the property is a fascinating one. One of the first settlements of Jasper called Henry House may have been located adjacent to the lodge on the south side of the river. Even today, there is still indication of an old homestead and some outbuildings. Tekarra Lodge was built circa 1947 and initially consisted of only a few cabins, some of which are standing today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tekarra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tekarra Hotel Jasper National Park
Tekarra Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing