We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Cabins With Forest Feel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tekarra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tekarra Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent Cabins With Forest Feel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We couldn't have had a better stay in Jasper! We stayed in a log cabin accommodation <6 people. There is a fully equipped kitchen. The cabins are located under huge groves of Redwoods. There is a nice outdoor feel when sleeping in this hotel, you can hear the birds, the river, etc. Would highly recommend for anyone wanting a nice nature-feel cabin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maximilian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    169
    73
    49
    37
See reviews for
193
241
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Had a fantastic night here when passing through in August 2013. Excellent cabin and, within 100m, a fantastic view over the river to the mountains beyond. A very special evening. Paid CAD289 for a family of four.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayerthorpe, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

What a beautiful experience we had.....checked in Friday evening, very friendly and accomodating staff, coctails on the front veranda of our cabin, started the woodburning stove, cooked up some tacos.....next morning made coffee and baileys, walked out the the cliff above the Athasca River and enjoyed the beautiful sounds and scenery. Went shopping in Jasper on Saturday to return to more firewood delivered and a BBQ so we could make supper. There were 6 of us in the Athabascan Cabin and we enjoyed every minute of it. We were so sad to check out on Sunday morning, but will definatley return next year, but for 3 nights at least.

Room Tip: Bring some papertowels, saran wrap and tin foil if you plan on cooking. We also brought our own fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The staff must be hard at work writing good reviews for this place because they are way too busy to make repairs or desperately needed updates to the cabins. We paid $250/night for a tiny cabin clustered among numerous other tiny cabins. The website showed idyllic pictures of cottages within nature. This was not the reality- there is no privacy, and the cabins are very noisy because they are so close together. Although there is a stunning river nearby, it feels more like a campground experience, rather than a comfortable nature escape.

Most of all, we were disappointed with the interior. With a rust/orange couch leftover form the 70s, a moody shower curtain attached to a cheap plastic shower, very old and worn out bedding (just a bedspread and sheets- no comforters), a creaky twin bed (the doubles were okay), and cheap appliances, we were very very disappointed. It wouldn't take much effort to pick up some classy furniture and , new appliances, and updates to the bathroom, and it would make all the difference. I feel like I went camping at $250/night.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, try to be as far from the other cabins as possible on the outer edge and avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rhervez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice cabin and location not far from jasper.we had a cabin with 2 double beds and an open fireplace.one bundle firewood a day is free,each additional costs 8 cad.small reclamations have been treated friendly and well.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obelix612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent a month in August travelling around Canada and this was one place we couldn't wait to get back to after our last visit there in 2008. The quality of the entire visit is first class. The venue, the welcome, the choices, the food is AMAZING as is the setting and the atmosphere. I sincerely hope it isn't another five years until we call in again. Just book it, it's a truly special dining experience!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AMLEWIS2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We've stayed at Tekarra Lodge several times through the years as both couple and family. There's no sense of 'generic hotel room' that you'd find at the larger hotels in Jasper. From the wood burning fireplaces to the landscape you know you're in a mountain park cottage. The cabins are clean and well appointed. The staff are friendly and the selections and quality at the restaurant are a pleasant surprise. Be sure to go for brunch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
1.1 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
3.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tekarra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekarra Lodge

Property: Tekarra Lodge
Address: Highway 93A | 1 km south of Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tekarra Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the heart of the Canadian Rockies, Tekarra Lodge enjoys an enviable location within Jasper National Park, the largest of the national mountain parks in Canada, 4200 square miles in area. Jasper became a National Park in 1907 and the town site's first buildings were constructed in 1911, then Jasper was known as the town of Fitzhugh. Tekarra Lodge is located across the river from the base of its namesake, Tekarra Mountain. Tekarra Mountain, towering 2635 meters above us is named for the Iroquois guide and hunter who accompanied Sir James Hector on his expedition through the Rocky Mountains during the mid-1850s. The skill and devotion of the guide Tekarra saved the lives of the members of that expedition. He sustained and fed them during the grim and bitter winter with caribou that he hunted on the mountain. It was because of this devotion that Sir James named the mountain Tekarra. The lodge grounds form the banks of the confluence of the Athabasca and Miette rivers. This land is maintained in its natural state, and offers a wonderful study for nature lovers. Tekarra's marked nature walk, and the Indian totem poles give pleasure to all ages. The area and history in and around the property is a fascinating one. One of the first settlements of Jasper called Henry House may have been located adjacent to the lodge on the south side of the river. Even today, there is still indication of an old homestead and some outbuildings. Tekarra Lodge was built circa 1947 and initially consisted of only a few cabins, some of which are standing today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tekarra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tekarra Hotel Jasper National Park
Tekarra Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing