We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic cabins, great location, so so value”
Review of Tekarra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tekarra Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Tekarra Cabins are about 1 miles from Jasper town, on the confluence of 2 rivers, facing south toward the gorgeous mountains. The property is very well managed, and maintained, and the staff is unusually friendly and responsive. There are nice chairs perched on the bluff for all to share. Two nights a week, Tekarra has a naturalist program, she was very good. They have front suspension mountain bikes to rent on site, $20 an hour.

The cabins are all shapes and sizes, ours was pretty small, I think it was an Alberta duplex, and 2 of us were pretty cramped. There was hardly any space to put our suitcases. But, it was charming, with a fireplace, wood everything, and an nice porch outside with flowers in the hanging basket. The kitchen was very small, but did the deed. The gas stove leaked a propane smell that was pretty disagreeable, Tekarra offered to turn it off, but we didn't want to have them come out to light it every time we wanted to use it.

The managers do a good job with what they have, but they have an aging property with charm, and you should have lowish expectations, this is not luxury. In our 3 weeks in BC, it was the worst value of anywhere we stayed, $250 a night for a very small cabin.

The restaurant on site is excellent, and fairly high end, you probably wouldn't eat there every night, but save it for one special night. It's quality rivals the best of city dining, very creative, beautiful, original with small servings.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familySeattleWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
There are newer reviews for Tekarra Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 661 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here while travelling across the rockies with friends. The location was excellent, we were lucky enough to have a cabin overlooking the Athabasca River. But the cabin wasn't as big as it looked in the photo and was quite small for two couples to share. Also we were travelling from England and only used it for bed and breakfast which made it quite an expensive option. I think it would be ideal for a couple or family with two children to use for self catering, just not quite ideal for our circumstances. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Cabins at the edge of the site overlooking the river have the best views and are great for sitting o...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizLamport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed in a cabin. Very, very basic. Couldn't cook anything for 2 as pots were old , large and scratched. Kitchen area was dysfunctional. Cabin was clean and bathroom updated. Sofa was uncomfortable. However, location is wonderful and just a few minutes to town. Restaurant is a gem at dinner. Gourmet cooking, but not too fussy. Service was nice. Breakfast was a disappointment - usual buffet stuff cooking to death in heating trays.
Jasper seems to have lots of these little cabin encampments.
jasper is a wonderful stop on a tour of the national parks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LpfwvCharleston_wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed for three nights in June 2012. This lodge is located just outside the main townsite of Jasper Alberta.

We stayed in a cabin, facing a pine forest and a kettle lake. The cabin was rustic and appropriate for the setting, inside a national park. We had fire place, but did not use because the weather was quite warm. The kitchenette with a fridge, stove, and sink was useful for breakfasts. The cabin had 2 rooms, one for sitting and eating, and the other for sleeping. The grounds are quite nice. The south side of the lodge faces the Athabaska River Valley. I loved to sit in the comfortable Muskoka Chairs and watch the river flow past. I also liked to walk around the grounds with my binos and camera. It is very nice to have accommodation that enables one to also explore the local natural environment. Few of the major hotels in the townsite proper have this ambiance.

The staff were excellent. One morning I got a surprise call from work that required me to receive a fax, sign the form, and fax back my response. The office attendant helped me do this with prompt attention. This was much appreciated.

However, this place is expensive, much more than hotels outside the park. However, I think all the accommodations are expensive inside the fantastic Jasper National Park.

We ate one meal at the very expensive, on-site restaurant. This was a mixed experience. My wife loved her meal, but mine was so spicy that I could not finish the main course. To make up for this, the waiter gave me a free desert. After that we ate our meals in restaurants in the Jasper townsite proper.

My wife found the bed uncomfortable, but I noticed no discomfort.

We had rental car, so used this lodge as the base for trips through the national park. The lodge is located within walking distance from the townsite, but we drove.

Overall, this is a good site if you like rustic cabins in a natural environment. It seems to be quite appropriate for a national park.

Room Tip: The cabins appear to be very similar in facilities, but have diversity in outside forms.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PFJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Gorgeous setting, rustic cabins, quiet location, lots of walking trails, pet friendly, great food, great service and lots of options like biking, rafting, couples retreat.

Room Tip: Cabins facing the river are my favorite. All very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

These cabins come in all shape and sizes, and they're all located in woodland on a hillside over looking the meeting of two rivers. You can sit out on the deckchairs and watch the water and wildlife just below.
The cabins aren't too luxurious but in the centre of a national park a comfortable bed, a fireplace, kitchenette, and an on-suite... well we had a great stay - Thank you Tekarra Lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrwydrorByd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed in a room the first time and a cabin the second. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The location is great and much better than staying in town with only a 15 mins walk to Jasper.

Bear in mind that you will share a Miette cabin with another room. We had considerate neighbours so it wasn't an issue but I could imagine others may not be so lucky.

Room Tip: We had cabin 8 which looked out to the river confluence so was excellent.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADAVIDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
1.6 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.1 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#7 of 17 in Jasper
619 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
950 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tekarra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekarra Lodge

Address: Highway 93A | 1 km south of Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range: $215 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tekarra Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the heart of the Canadian Rockies, Tekarra Lodge enjoys an enviable location within Jasper National Park, the largest of the national mountain parks in Canada, 4200 square miles in area. Jasper became a National Park in 1907 and the town site's first buildings were constructed in 1911, then Jasper was known as the town of Fitzhugh. Tekarra Lodge is located across the river from the base of its namesake, Tekarra Mountain. Tekarra Mountain, towering 2635 meters above us is named for the Iroquois guide and hunter who accompanied Sir James Hector on his expedition through the Rocky Mountains during the mid-1850s. The skill and devotion of the guide Tekarra saved the lives of the members of that expedition. He sustained and fed them during the grim and bitter winter with caribou that he hunted on the mountain. It was because of this devotion that Sir James named the mountain Tekarra. The lodge grounds form the banks of the confluence of the Athabasca and Miette rivers. This land is maintained in its natural state, and offers a wonderful study for nature lovers. Tekarra's marked nature walk, and the Indian totem poles give pleasure to all ages. The area and history in and around the property is a fascinating one. One of the first settlements of Jasper called Henry House may have been located adjacent to the lodge on the south side of the river. Even today, there is still indication of an old homestead and some outbuildings. Tekarra Lodge was built circa 1947 and initially consisted of only a few cabins, some of which are standing today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tekarra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tekarra Hotel Jasper National Park
Tekarra Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing