We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jasper National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Becker's Roaring River Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here for two nights with another couple. We stayed in a Heritage cottage - 2 bedrooms, living room and one bath room. A kitchen and second bath would have been nice. The cabin was small. Double bed in each room with little (no) room for suitcases or maneuvering. Bathroom is small (shower only) Location is outside of the town of Jasper and we drove in to town for dinner. this drive, however, did provide us with an opportunity to see 2 male elk fighting over a female! National Geographic at it's best.

When booking, I did not realize it was outside the town. Relatively clean - there was a leaf on our living room floor when we got there and when we left. No air conditioning. Lovely view of the river. Breakfast buffet was OK. First day I opted for the hot buffet, second day the continental. Waitstaff was friendly. Would have to see what other cabins available at Beckers and compare to price of facilities in town before committing again.

Room Tip: There are 20 different types of cabins available. Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 823 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

You pay for the beautiful setting by the river. Perhaps as it was the end of the season the staff had tired of providing good service. The two bedroom cabin was comfortable although the fireplace was inefficient and smoky. Don't waste your time or money in the dining room. The "service" was deplorable and the food was inedible. This operation treats tourists as cash cows.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We (two couples) spent three nights here in late August, 2012. We had a two bedroom, one bath cabin with kitchen. The cabin was entirely adequate (although a second bathroom would have been even better). There were laundry facilities available on-site. The restaurant was excellent, and the staff were helpful.

What made the place truly special was the location: on a gorgeous lake with mountains everywhere, just a few miles from the town of Jasper (on the outskirts of which we saw a male elk and his harem each evening).

Jasper park is wilder than its neighbor, Banff: in just a few days we saw three black bears, one grizzly, the herd of Elk, big-horned sheep, mountain goats, etc., all on or near the side of the road. We took an amazing ride up to the Colunbia Icefields, and later hiked up to a glacier. There were many, many activities here for those even slightly adventurous (we are normally sedentary 66-year-olds), including horseback riding, canoeing, gondola rides, guided lake tour boats, etc. (all of which we did, either here or in Banff).

The cabins are not especially luxurious, but, as I said above, they were certainly adequate (the one exception to that description being wifi in the cabins, the speed of which varied unpredictably from ok to glacial).
I would happily return here for another visit.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank booklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed in two different cabins for three nights (we spent one night in a cabin, went backpacking, and returned to a two-night stay. We liked the location out of town, by the river. We also liked having a kitchen, so that we could cook. Jasper is very expensive in the summer, and the food quality seemed poor. We went out to eat pizza one night and found that a dinner that would cost at the most $40-50 in Seattle, WA, costs over $100 in Jasper, for much worse food. We were glad to be able to have a place where we could cook for ourselves.

The cabin interiors are a little dated. The double bed in one of the cabins was quite soft, and the bathrooms are small. However, the grounds are well maintained and beautiful. We did not see wildlife on the grounds, but enjoyed walking near the river.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWtraveler721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was very fortunate to stay at Beckers for two beautiful days. Weather was iffy but, the chalets are so very spacious and comfortable that the evenings were spent in front of the fire as snow fell outside the patio. River, mountain peaks, Elk, so many views with breakfast and coffee, I thought I was dreaming!
The restaurant serves the best food in the Rockies, outstanding menu, wine list and service!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HhowieEXamach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

First the positives:

- Great location at the riverside on the Icefields Parkway. It is only a few minutes drive to the Jasper town and the views from the site are beautiful... Unfortunately we did not spot any wildlife on the site itself (but lots during our stay in Jasper).
- Service was friendly. Receptionists were nice and efficient.
- We rented a lower floor of a duplex chalet and we loved the open fire. It was great to sit there at night and read a book with a glass of wine or beer... The kitchen was also nice and had all the equipment we needed.

The negatives:
- The interior design as well as the furnishings are quite dated and not very inviting.
- Forget about insulation between different building units... You can really hear a lot of noise from your neighbors (especially in our case from the family staying upstairs).
- Internet connectivity was poor at best
- The price... We did a tour Vancouver - Clearwater - Jasper - Banff - Kelowna - Vancouver and this was the most expensive place we stayed at... This was my second stay in Jasper and I must say it is not easy to find good value. Lots of places are overpriced, but 225 CAD a night for what we got in return is definitely not the best value in town... So especially based on that I would probably not stay here anymore, despite the positive elements this place has.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limshang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The grounds and cabin exteriors were top notch. Everything was well taken care of. I loved the location on the river with beautiful view of the mountains. Chairs all along the river to enjoy the scenery. The cabin we stayed in needs updated. It did have an updated TV but has old appliances, old carpet and a small shower. The wifi was horrible and unreliable. It could be the server but they should also update their system. We had to go to downtown Jasper to use reliable wifi.

The staff was very accommodating and got us a cabin right on the river as requested. Laundry facilities were definitely a plus for us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry and Kris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
4.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
3.8 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
453 reviews
4.2 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
633 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jasper House Bungalows
Jasper House Bungalows
#14 of 22 in Jasper National Park
439 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Becker's Roaring River Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Becker's Roaring River Chalets

Address: Icefields Parkway Highway 93S, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range: $59 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Becker's Roaring River Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Also Known As:
Becker`s Roaring River Chalets Hotel Jasper National Park
Beckers Roaring River Chalets Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing