We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Views But...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jasper National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Becker's Roaring River Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Views But...”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend with my family to celebrate my mother in law's birthday. First of all, the good things:
- very clean. I mean so clean my grandmother would blush for shame.
- very professional and courteous staff
- excellent views of both the mountains, the Athabasca River and Highway 93.
On the downside:
- cabins by the highway were very loud. Bring earplugs because civilization is right on your doorstep.
- the 'gourmet' breakfast wasn't. It was adequate but when you say gourmet, you should present gourmet.
- the showers were tiny. And by tiny, I mean that I, as a woman who is 5'8' had to crouch to get my head wet.

Now some people would tell you that I'm being fussy; that being is Jasper is about roughing it. My reply is this: that is why I rented a cabin. If I want quaint, I'd camp.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side. This will keep the traffic noise down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    310
    105
    31
    30
See reviews for
287
285
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rowlands Gill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed for three nights and enjoyed the rustic feel of these comfortable chalets. All amenities worked well, although the shower unit could be updated

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinbryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I was somewhat concerned about staying in a cabin "campground" as it were, but this was no ordinary place. It's not a campground, nor is it anything but fantastic. We stayed in a "fourplex" upstairs unit with a view of the common grounds and the mountains. Wow. The unit looked practically new with new/newer appliances, ample space for two (we could have fit three or four in there), and a nice gas fireplace. The river is right outside. Despite being situated next to the highway, there was no road noise thanks to the rapids in the river. And the property itself invited you to sit and enjoy the view--benches were placed all around the property from front to back, and there's that line of adirondack chairs next to the river begging to be used.

The restaurant was good, but overpriced. And no breakfast is included, but with the kitchenette in the unit, we didn't need to eat out, which saved us a ton of money.

If there were problems, we sure didn't experience them. Everything was impeccably maintained and the service was top-notch.

Room Tip: If you need more space, definitely opt for the fourplex unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The cabin we stayed in was one of the smaller family ones closest to the main road. It was quite tight in the kitchen and bathroom, but overall was a fantastic place. Can't wait to return this summer and stay on the river side. This is a beautiful, quiet and relaxing place to go. A bear even crossed right in front of us the 1st night we were there. Kids were quite impressed with that. Really loved Beckers.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcangel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

One bedroom heritage chalet (cabin). These cabins are small, with double bed--some have queens, ask if you need more roomy beds. The mattress was very comfortable and the mattress size was just fine for us. It had a kitchen, living room and bathroom with shower-- a bit dated, but all you really need, and the location is superb--very well maintained property. They even had free wi-fi which was great. Wonderful location right on the Athabasca River--could sit on one of the numerous chairs along the shore with a beer and a book. Was very quiet where we were.

For families there is a playground and laundromat.

Room Tip: Chalets away from the highway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonn_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

These cabins are well situated with the Athabasca river on your doorstep and Jasper townsite only minutes down the highway. The facility is well maintained, and pleasant. We've rented a riverfront cabin twice - the 1st time for 2 and this last time for 4 people. The cabin for two was more roomy than the one for 4. Very cramped for 4 adults, but would be okay for two adults and two kids. All of the cabins have kitchen facilities, but the cabin for 2 had only a bar fridge and two burner stove (no oven). We were told when we booked that some of the cabins for 4 may have only a bar fridge and that we would not know until we got there??? Makes it difficult to plan on food supplies... Also, we found that the supply of cooking utensils/dishes varied from cabin to cabin. Very meagre supplies, but the front desk did try to help us out with a bigger frying pan (the cabin had one 8 inch frying pan for 4 people???) and a cookie sheet, but no pot holders or trivets - only a humungous pair of oven mitts. A microwave is supplied, but bring your own large bowl if you plan on trying to cook anything in it. We got the feeling that they would much rather we ate at the restaurant that they have on site. Also, we were annoyed that the bathroom in the cabin for 4 did not have a lock on the door and only 1 tiny towel rack. Where are 4 people supposed to hang their bath towels to dry? All in all Becker's is very nice and we would stay there again, but there are some small and inexpensive things that they could do to make these cabins much more comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meemster_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I have stayed at Becker’s twice already. The first time I rented a cabin for 4. Nothing fancy but all you really need for a real mountain experience. The second time was last weekend in a cabin for 6-8 and it was amazing; you will have plenty space for 8 people. Children will love the playground and the space they have to run around. Everything was super clean and organized. I hope I can come back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
4.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
3.8 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
395 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
923 reviews
54.8 mi away
The Glacier View Inn
The Glacier View Inn
#20 of 22 in Jasper National Park
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Becker's Roaring River Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Becker's Roaring River Chalets

Property: Becker's Roaring River Chalets
Address: Icefields Parkway Highway 93S, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Becker's Roaring River Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Also Known As:
Becker`s Roaring River Chalets Hotel Jasper National Park
Beckers Roaring River Chalets Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing