We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Athabasca Glacier Bus/tractor - Great!”
Review of Athabasca Glacier

Athabasca Glacier
Book In Advance
More Info
$170.83*
and up
Athabasca Glacier Full-Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The snow never melts on this glacier, a major tourist attraction.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Athabasca Glacier Bus/tractor - Great!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Brief and expensive, but a worthwhile trip. Walking on the glacier is a real thrill and the views are fantastic. It's a bit of a tourist production line (well run) but the experience was worth the crowds.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gnoleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    147
    34
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a beautiful clear day, with the sun shining. The icefield buses are huge. The operation is slick, moving lots of people quickly. The drive onto the glacier is exciting and you can walk on the glacier for 15 minutes but only in a small area. It is expensive $50 an adult but I guess to say you have walked on a glacier, it is worth it. If you don't want to pay you can walk on it from a car park opposite the information centre.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A truly memourable day.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We took A tour to the Columbia Icefield's with Brewster's Tours. We were picked up from our Banff hotel by a luxury coach driven by their superb guide Paul Huxley. We enjoyed a beautiful drive to the Icefields along Highway 93, one of the most scenic roads in the world. The Columbia Icefield spans the Continental Divide and it is head water to three major river systems. After lunch we boarded a specially design giant tractor/coach called a Snocoach to visit the Athabasca Glacier The vehicle is designed to negotiate the access ice road to the glacier, which is understood to be the second steepest road in the world. Once on the glacier surface we all alighted and spent time admiring the scale and beauty. A super drive back through the fabulous scenery. A truly wonderful day, don't miss this experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank rogermb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I'd give more stars if I could - a must do”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Don't miss the chance to take the glacier tour - you won't regret it. We had a bright and clear sunny day - the perfect weather, plus a great tour guide - James. The icefield buses (not sure that you can really call this million dollar transporters buses!!!) are true wonders and the experience of walking on the glacier and drinking the glacier melt are once in a lifetime experiences. Great commentary on the science of glaciers and the park. Seeing big horn sheep was a bonus.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, WA.
Level Contributor
294 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Fun times with Aussie driver of glacier ice explorers”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This trip is a lot of fun. It was cold and snowy, but so enjoyable with our great Aussie driver.
These young people do a tremendous job making sure you have fun. This is the third time we have been out on this glacier, but the first time so early in the season. it is a MUST Do, if you are ever in this area. The food at the lodge is rather expensive, but welcoming.
they do have over it accommodations for folks who want to climb the Athabasca Columbia Glaciers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaGoldwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athabasca Glacier also viewed

Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Athabasca Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing