We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff appreciation, and a breakfast to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grande Prairie
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Grande Prairie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I would like to say thanks for the lovely stay. The rooms are very comfortable and the linens are soft. I would like to thank Laverne in the breakfast room for such an amazing meal and her hospitality, like home away from home.

Room Tip: I like the main floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debra v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicoles98, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grande Prairie, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for coming to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Grande Prairie. We were extremely please to hear that your stay went very well. We pride ourselves on our guest’s satisfaction and would like to make everyone’s stay most excellent. We sincerely hope next time you are in Grande Prairie you will come and stay with us again, and we promise your stay will be as enjoyable as the first one. We have shared your comments with our management team and our employees. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Nicole Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 160 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel is what I have come to expect from the holiday inn express chain. A decent room good staff and horrible internet. If your job requires you to have reliable access to the internet you need a air card. Other then that it was a good stay and guest appreciation dinner was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicoles98, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grande Prairie, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Grande Prairie, we appreciate your feedback regarding our property. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you had with our internet service. We have taken your comments seriously and have been completing our upgrade to help provide flawless internet service for our guests as we realize this is essential for our travellers. We hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.


If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

After a horrible trip, driving several hours through near white-out conditions, i was happy to arrive at my hotel for the evening and was very much looking forward to a soak in the hot tub. Unfortunately, by the time i slogged in through the deep unshovelled snow, dodged vehicles that appeared parked under the canopy for the evening and waited for the surly desk clerk to return to her post - the pool had closed (shuts down at 10 p.m. sharp and as I found out, no exceptions).

Considering the oilpatch traffic, the property did not appear badly tracked up (as some get). The room was huge and typical quality finish for a HIX. The bed was comfortable, the pillows were not. Although the room appeared clean, when I opened the back of the in-room coffee maker, I was greeted with a page torn from a porn magazine. I'm not sure if a prior guest was hiding this from a partner or roommate or if this was just a childish oil worker stunt. The page itself wasn't disconcerting but it made you question how thorough the housecleaning may have been and what other surprises might be found. YUCK.

They advertise WIFI but the service was horrible - it was slow at best and cut out frequently. I finally gave up in frustration.

They offer an upgraded breakfast with (I presume frozen and reheated) omelettes, sausage, some bacon like strips (I've never seen bacon so thin or so flat and uniform) and a type of cinnamon roll - in addition to the more standard continental fare.

Checkout was efficient and the clerk, though not great, was not as bad as her check-in counterpart. As I was leaving, they were finally starting to clear snow.

I've had better experiences in other Grande Prairie properties. This one was mediocre.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawki56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grande Prairie, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Hawki56,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with our facilities and services. We will use your comments to improve our efforts. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a very typical HIX hotel ... sufficient. No issue with a late arrival. My 4th floor room was clean & comfortable which is the most I ever hope for! Despite overlooking the parking lot, I had no issue with noise (and I'm a light sleeper). The location is set back from the busy road, so there was no issue with road noise either.

There are a couple of restaurant options nearby, within walking distance, which is a plus. I didn't have a chance to check out the continental breakfast.

I'd stay here again if I find myself in GP again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McInMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicoles98, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grande Prairie, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

I would like to thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express, Grande Prairie and thank you for taking the time to provide such positve feedback on our hotel.

We strive to deliver exceptional service and customer satisfaction with all our guests.I have reviewed your feedback with my team and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Yours in Hospitality,

Nicole Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a fairly new HIX and my colleague and I anticipated a nice stay in the new property. Unfortunately one of their policies gave us a bad impression at the start, they charge $250 a night for "incidentals".....we wondered what that was as they have no restaurant or parking charge. Then during the snow storm of three days they didn't clean off their walkway or even put down deicer until we wrote a comment card saying that this was certainly a hazard to everyone coming and going. They DID put up a sign advising us not to track in mud or snow!! Also, there are few if any restaurants in the nearby area! The rooms are clean and neat, but we think the older Holliday Inn is a better deal for Grande Prairie!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirdieMoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicoles98, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grande Prairie, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Grande Prairie. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

When checking into the hotel it is company policy that we do take a $250.00 pre-authorization on all credit cards to ensure payment and the option for any incidentals the guest may want to charge to his/her room. Such as movies, telephone calls etc.

I apologize about the poor snow removal on property, the hotel does have a snow and salt removal plan in place and your comments will be reviewed with the Maintenance department to ensure this does not happen again.

This feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We thank you and hope next time you are in Grande Prairie you stay with us again.

Yours in Hospitality,

Nicole Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights while hubby had business in town. The room was comfortable, clean & quiet. The complimentary breakfast was convenient & had a nice selection of choices in a spacious pleasant room. The breakfast selections were frequently restocked by the staff on duty. The only complaint I have is the location. With my hubby away with his vehicle during the day for work, there are not many places to walk to especially in the winter.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicoles98, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grande Prairie, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Grande Prairie. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Ashley McCallister
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have just been in my room for a few hours but am very disappointed in the cleanliness of the room. First and foremost, there are 3 pairs of dirty socks hanging in my closet.....seriously??? Secondly, the bathroom floor looks like it has not been swept. I've called down to the front desk 3 times now where there is no answer. I'm annoyed at this point and my stay has just started!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicoles98, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grande Prairie, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Holiday Inn Express. I am very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

On the night of the incident, I was the Manager on duty and took your issue to the highest importance. After I removed the dirty laundry we switched you to another room that I personally inspected to ensure there were no more issues to occur.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better you in the near future. If you may have any other concerns feel free to contact myself directly at any time.

Sincerely,

Ashley McCallister
General Manager
P - 780-814-9446
E - gm@hiexgp.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grande Prairie hotels
0.4 mi away
Pomeroy Hotel & Conference Centre
1.3 mi away
Podollan Inn & Spa
Podollan Inn & Spa
#4 of 25 in Grande Prairie
366 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Grande Prairie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Grande Prairie Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Grande Prairie - Conference Centre
Holiday Inn & Suites Grande Prai...
#12 of 25 in Grande Prairie
140 reviews
0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 25 in Grande Prairie
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grande Prairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grande Prairie

Address: 10226 117 Ave, Grande Prairie, Alberta T8V 7S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Grande Prairie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Grande Prairie
Price Range: $112 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grande Prairie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Prairie Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites near YQU Airport. While lodging at our Grande Prairie hotel, you can take advantage of our ideal location near the Great Northern Casino and Muskoseepi Park. Our premium Grande Prairie hotel offers you upscale services, including a free airport taxi voucher with service to and from Grande Prairie Airport (YQU).(Must book in advance with fronmt desk) Enjoy the comfort and convenience of our choice hotel in Grande Prairie situated near many area attractions, including the Barr Community Centre, the Grand Prairie Art Gallery and the Leisure Centre, located across the street from our Grande Prairie accommodations. If shopping is your preference, the Prairie Shopping Mall has 90 specialty stores. Downtown also has many unique shops to choose from in a convenient location near our hotel in Grande Prairie. If you're in Grande Prairie on business, you will appreciate our hotel's location near companies such as Schlumberger, Halliburton, Trinidad Well Services, Formula Powell and MI Swaco, all located less than 12 kilometers from our Grande Prairie hotel. You can also enjoy our business services, like a 24-hour Business Centre, flexible meeting space, free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour coffee service. During your stay at our Grande Prairie accommodations, take a dip in the heated, indoor pool with a water slide and Jacuzzi, and enjoy a free hot breakfast every morning. Check out our Grande Prairie hotel deals and book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grande Prairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grande Prairie Hotel Grande Prairie
Holiday Inn Express Grande Prairie Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing