We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pizza!!”

Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria
Ranked #20 of 196 Restaurants in Grande Prairie
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Famoso is a casual pizzeria serving authentic Neapolitan pizzas made with high quality ingredients in a domed Italian oven. Ideal for a quick lunch or a night out. Enjoy with wine, cocktails and beer.
Calgary
Level Contributor
168 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

This place has excellent pizza! The setup of ordering is a little different but the pizza really is worth it. I'll go back next time I am in GP.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ghuizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome place for a meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This restaurant is one of my new favourites! The staff are nice and helpful, the menu is fresh and something new for GP. The atmosphere is fantastic, I can sit with family, bring my baby or come and dine alone and it always feels great to sit and eat. I love that I can relax with a glass of wine, or coffee.

The pizzas taste great, and everyone needs to try the Tomato Bisque!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“WOW - What a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This has become our new favorite place to eat in GP. The food is fresh, fast, and very tasty. We went here for supper one evening and had soup, Cesar Salad, and Pizza. It was so good we came the next day for soup and sandwiches. The staff is very friendly and service was great. The fire roasted tomato soup is as good as I have ever had and this was without the best pizza I have tasted.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WhiteWolfPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good, but not that great. And fast pizza making!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Went here for the first time since it opened, found the noise level really loud due to high ceilings causing lots of echo.
If you haven't been to Famoso, this is how it works, you seat yourself, go through a menu, write your selections down and bring it to the order desk, where you will have an option to keep your tab open or pay upfront. I found it weird that they don't take your order, since they do bring your drinks, pizza, dessert and bill!
I had the sweet BBQ chicken, which was ok and not that great, my husband had the Abruzzo, which was good and had lots of flavour.
The bonus part is your pizza is done within 90seconds, but sure cools off pretty quick!
I would recommend for lunch or a quick snack.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JustATravelGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere & Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We had the fire roasted tomato bisque soup to start and then a primavera pizza and a fungi pizza- very good. Would be hard to decide on a fav. Dough made right there after you order, pizza oven at 900 degrees cooks pizza in 9 min.

Helpful?
1 Thank thesnowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria also viewed

 
Grande Prairie, Alberta
 

Been to Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing