We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Entertaining dinner!”
Review of Soto

Soto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hay River, Northwest Territories, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Entertaining dinner!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great dining experience. Make sure you make a reservation to sit at the teppanyaki table. The sushi was AMAZING! Ordered too much per usual but it was worth it. Just a fantastic place for a social and entertaining dinner!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJK1997-16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    30
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Food poisonning alert”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our 4th dinning experience this month, we loved the food and dinning experience. We got so so service by a waiter whom was very pushy, after she heard my comment that we would leave if she is giving us the same service has last time, she became very nice.
2 hours we ate we got very sick the 5 of us, my 2 kids, husband, mother and myself. Health Services was called for complaint. We did not eat anything else out of ordinary prior of going to that restaurant. The washroom has been missing paper towel twice, the place seems clean, my baby had rice and steak and got also sick, my sons got shrimps and veggies so is myself we had also nigiri and sushis. Very disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went there to celebrate fathers day with my baby, i asked the server if they have coloring book to entertain my son while waiting for the food, unfortunately they dont have any. I got my food first before my husband, which they supposed to serve it together. My husband ordered assorted sushie deluxe which costs me $35.00 for small plate not even a sushie boat. The price is too much..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meandfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just don't.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Horrible service, the rolls were enormous and way too big to eat, and it was all terribly expensive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phototravel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem/Unique Dining Experience”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This review is for the Teppanyaki Style part of the restaurant experience. Where chef's prepare your food in front of you on a iron griddle.
This restaurant is a hidden gem. The food was delectable and the experience was fun. Service was wonderful as well. Portions are big and well worth the cost of the chosen dish.
Atmosphere is fun and warm.
We will be returning!
There is only two small reasons I gave atmosphere a point less than perfect. The group table chairs are grouped a little too close together once everyone is completely seated and the location of the restaurant in general within a strip mall makes you second guess when you pull up, but once inside you know you found a gem!
Thank-you for the wonderful food experience. Grande Prairie needed something new and fun!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank savesomeoneelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soto also viewed

Grande Prairie, Alberta
Grande Prairie, Alberta
 

Been to Soto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing