We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice was nice”

Padrino's Italian Ristorante
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a fresh based fine dining Italian Restaurant located in the Best Western Grande Prairie. Traditional pastas, pizzas, and oven-roasted meats take centre-stage on Padrino’s menus. Our chefs prepare each meal from scratch and offer nightly features that will be sure to delight your taste buds. Padrino’s also offers vegetarian and gluten free options to appease all appetites. Decorated with elegant accents and intimate lighting, Padrino’s offers the perfect environment for romance on that first date or your 50th wedding anniversary.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Twice was nice”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed in the adjacent Best Western Hotel for 5 nights, which included complimentary breakfast(a great deal itself), and dined twice at Padrino's. We would have eaten there every night, if we didn't have family and friend commitments. Bison tenderloin- as good as it sounds, first time, then lobster AND crab stuffed ravioli the second night. My wife had the almond crusted halibut, and the cannelloni the second night. We like to share plates, so I can honestly say I had 4 different meals, hard pressed to say which was my favourite(ok bison tenderloin).

Busy place, but our waitress took the time to make sure we had a nice evening. Also, had my brother and his family the second night, and very kid friendly as the little ones got free desert.

Not sure there is a better dining place in GP.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eldon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PadRestaurantMngr, Manager at Padrino's Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello Eldon,

Thank you for sharing your experiance with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meals, as our executive chefs take great pride in what we serve and are glad you got to taste several of our dishes!

Hoping to dine with you again soon,
-The Padrino's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    42
    9
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Once again, this restaurant has out done it's self! I came in for dinner on Saturday night with friends; the restaurant was full and very busy, which was to be expected the day after Valentines. We all had the feature stuffed chicken and were so happy with our meal - fresh, hot and delicious! Thank you for a wonderful evening out!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PadRestaurantMngr, Manager at Padrino's Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hi Shelley,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We always strive to provide the best service possible, even on our busiest nights, and appreciate that you recognized it.
We hope to dine with you again soon,

The Padrino's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetwynd, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Engagement Perfection!!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

After our romantic engagement we had 'the best seat in the house' which was a very private booth overlooking the entire place! Our waitress was super friendly, very knowledgeable on Italian cuisine and she recommended a couple things we tried which turned out to be delicious!! We also received a complimentary dessert congratulating us on our engagement which was amazing and soo sweet of them! :) We left there stuffed to the gills.. we almost got sick because we were soo full on one of the best & most exciting meal we've ever had!! Such a great atmosphere and a delicious selection!! :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MandaCait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PadRestaurantMngr, Manager at Padrino's Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Good Morning,
Congratulations and thank you for sharing your experiance with us, we are so happy we could be a part of your special night. Our entire team, from the executive chefs to the serving staff take great pride in what we do here, and are thankful that you recognized it while celebrating such a joyous moment in your lives ! We hope to see you and your fiancee again soon, (or maybe bring the bridal party in for a girls night!)

Congratulations again, and best of luck in planning your upcoming wedding!
-The Padrino's team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Evening Dinner”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We had a large party and the restaurant was busy - they were short staffed but we knew that when we made reservation. But that said we had excellent service. A few hiccups but fixed immediately for ex. She brought the wrong beers but commented that it's so dark in here she didn't see. So yes it is very dark! Meals were fresh - guys loved the Kobe meat balls. Only complaint is the Sunday Family Feast is not enough to feed 3!! Will Return and great Job with such a large group. Thanks

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TK4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PadRestaurantMngr, Manager at Padrino's Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for sharing your experiance with us. We are happy we were able to provide an enjoyable experiance for you and your group. We are proud of our entire team as they strive to provide superior customer service, and are glad you noticed it. We appreciate your patience on a busy evening, and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“POWER TRIP”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

went there at 5 on a Saturday, only ONE full table in the whole restaurant. We ask for a booth and the waitress says they are all reserved for 6 o'clock . I told her we were going to be quick, just appetizers, she says "ya sorry I can't do it" I laughed and left, never to return EVER again!

Helpful?
Thank HarleyGurl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PadRestaurantMngr, Manager at Padrino's Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Good Afternoon,
It is unfortunate that we were able to accomodate you during your latest. Depsite the fact the restaurant appeared to be empty with available seating at the time of your arrival, we were set to fill up within the half hour with reservations, being a Saturday, or busiest night. It would have been both unfair to the guests who reserved the booth by request, as well to you, asking you to be in and out within 20 minutes, to ensure the table ready for the reservation. We would have loved for you to join us, but we have to accomodate our guests who make reservations. It is unfortunate that because a booth was unavailable you have decided to not come back again, however we do hope you look past that, and choose to visit us again. Reservations can be made in advance at 780.814.7171
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Padrino's Italian Ristorante also viewed

Grande Prairie, Alberta
Grande Prairie, Alberta
 
Grande Prairie, Alberta
 
Grande Prairie, Alberta
 

Been to Padrino's Italian Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing