We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service”
Review of Jax Grill & Lounge

Jax Grill & Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: When it comes to restaurants in Grande Prairie, Jax Grill & Lounge is known for the best steaks in town! Start your day with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet with chef attended omelette station that gives you a good start to your day. In addition to bacon, sausages, herbed potato cuts, potato pancakes, eggs, muffins, Danishes, croissants, bagels, pancakes, fruit salad, juices, cereals, yogurt, bread and more, enjoy a fresh omelettete made just the way you like it at the chef-attended station. In the evening, the Jax Grill & Lounge menu highlights international flavours and traditional fare. The star of the menu is the Sterling Silver branded steak - an elite steakhouse level product producing exceptional flavor, tenderness and juiciness. You can also choose from an extensive collection of wines, whiskies and beers to complement any dish.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I ate here for breakfast during our overnight stay at the Podollan. We were extremely disappointed with the service we received. It took over 5 minutes to bring us a glass of water; the waitress was too busy talking to her co-workers. I was very excited to see that the restaurant offered smoothies, which the option of having protein and soy milk added, however was extremely disappointed when the waitress came back first to say they had no soy milk, then a second time to say they were out of protein. When our meal was brought out, it was missing an egg (2 eggs on plate, supposed to be 3), did not have hashbrowns and was missing the fruit. The waitress had a bit of an attitude upon hearing our complaint, and argued over what the meal was supposed to include. We ended up getting hashbrowns and an extra egg after the fact. The smoothie was also taken off the bill; however due to the lack of customer service and the lack-luster quality of the food, we will not be returning. I would not recommend this restaurant; there are many other places in Grande Prairie to eat!

Thank thetinytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 198 of 217 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Server was fast friendly filled drinks when needed checked up on us when needed
Clean friendly environment! Food was not bad average for price as well as size! Will go back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dallas232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is one of Grande Prairie's best kept secrets. This trendy little lounge located in the Padollan Inn offers excellent service, a delicious menu and wonderful cocktails. The mushroom ravioli is
second to none.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank AprilB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie L, Director of Sales at Jax Grill & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for sharing! We are delighted you enjoyed your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I had a Saturday night dinner date with a friend we both ordered cocktails and salads. The food was okay, and our server seemed as though she was new but was delightful and polite, apologizing for her lack of knowledge. However, the bartenders ad other servers used language that was very inappropriate. They were arguing! As well the music was way too loud and was not continuous. Just when a good song would come on a bubbly server would run over to what looked like a cell phone and change the song completely to something that was fit for a dance club. Also, our bill came and we waited 10 mins at the bar to pay for our meal. There was no one around.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Renms06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie L, Director of Sales at Jax Grill & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed your cocktails and salads. We apologize that the service was not up to its regular standards. We hope you will come again and have a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We are not from town and have stayed at Pollodan 3 times in the last few months. First experiences with Jax in October and mid December 2012 were very good. Last time I was there December 12/13th and the fajitas were soo good! Begged my husband to take me for lunch there again at end of of December. I guess the menu has changed from December 12 until December 29th. The fajitas came with totally different items and were cooked very differently. Todays fajitas were oily and not near as good! Last time fajitas came with lettuce,tomato, jalepenos, cheese. The ones today did not come with any of this and came with beans and rice. Yuck!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MRSJAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie L, Director of Sales at Jax Grill & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and returning to eat our fajitas three times! We appreciate your input. On occasion, different Chefs vary the recipe. We will share your commetns with the Chefs. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jax Grill & Lounge also viewed

Grande Prairie, Alberta
 

Been to Jax Grill & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing