We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was going to be my "go to" hotel for Gp, not so much now”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Grande Prairie
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Grande Prairie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Was going to be my "go to" hotel for Gp, not so much now”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I come to GP for work quite often and was looking for a hotel to make my regular.

I've stayed here a couple times at Super 8 and thought it was great. I came today and discovered the hot tub was down. Not a huge deal.. Then I found mouse poop in my room (pics added). I called the front desk to let them know. They asked if I wanted to change rooms, I said no there isn't much point. And that was the end of the convo. Didn't even ask my name or room or let me know they would look into it.

I love this hotel because of great breakfasts and the hotel shuttle, but having mouse poop and the staff not seeming to mind is probably a deal breaker.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcoopdizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8GPAB, General Manager at Super 8 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
My sincere apologizes on this incident that took place. We are contacting you directly to discuss the situation and the rectification of this event. Again we apologize.

Regards,

Naomi Ducklow
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    61
    55
    43
    22
See reviews for
70
31
13
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Great location, mall right across the street, plenty of restaurants to chose from. The first room we received smelled like smoke so they gave us the family suite. It was a great room, bigger than apartments I've lived in across the country. My daughter loved the pool, the slide was great. My only complaint is the hot tub wasn't working. The staff was excellent, pleasant housekeepers as well. Will stay here next time I'm in town for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sssmurfette13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8GPAB, General Manager at Super 8 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. I am glad the team was able to rectify the situation for you and I hope to be of service to you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Naomi Ducklow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in a Queen suite that could accomodate 6 people. The queen bed was in a large separate bedroom, twin bunk beds in a separate bedroom for the kids, queen sofa bed with fireplace in the living room and full kitchen. The suite was a comfortable size for the 5 of us. We were in town for a wedding and other guests that were staying in the hotel with us also requested a queen suite. Not all the suites are the same! Their "queen suite" was extremely cramped and they were very unhappy! Their bathroom was tiny, small living room, did not have a full kitchen, easily half the size of ours. In order to get to the kids separate room, you had to walk through the parent's room and there was barely enough room to walk around the bed. Make sure to specify the suite with the fireplace for the larger room.

We had requested a non-smoking room which it was, however, you had to walk through the smoking area to get to the suite. The first half of the hallway was filled with smoking rooms and the entire hallway smelled strongly of smoke. The hotel could use some renos, as the carpets were stained and rooms were showing wear. The free buffet breakfast had many options, was hot and well stocked. The kids loved the water slide and pool, however, while we stayed here the hot tub remained drained and not available for guests to use. The hotel is close to the shopping mall, movie theater, and several restaurants. This hotel is a good choice for a short stay for the budget conscious traveller.

Room Tip: If requesting the queen suite with bunk beds and sofa bed, make sure to ask for the suite with the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodiMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8GPAB, General Manager at Super 8 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are currently working on many upgrades to the property this past year and are continuing on into the next year. We are working towards having the original wing that was built upgraded with new carpeting, paint and furniture along with the construction of the pool area for a new hot tub and many more updates at the property.

Thanks again,

Naomi Ducklow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Comfortable beds and pillows; nice pool with playroom and water slide for the kids (ask for towels for the pool at the front desk); small but efficient fitness centre with towels, water cooler, wall mirrors and TV; good simple breakfast (scrambled eggs, bacon, make-your-own waffles, toast, pastries, muffins, yogurt, cereal, juice, coffee); front desk staff very helpful; tea and coffee maker in the rooms; mini-fridge in the room; room is very dark when the curtain is closed all the way; good location and easy to find. There is a shuttle to the airport.

Room Tip: If there is a long line for breakfast, skip that line and go to the other side of the breakfast room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LearnSomethinEvryDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8GPAB, General Manager at Super 8 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We appreciate when our guests take the time to write a review. We appreciate all comments as they aid us in growth.

Regards,

Naomi Ducklow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT NELSON
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

One of the reasons we stay at Super 8 is the in house movies. One night the movie system did not work. The front desk clerk was helpful and had to call the service provider to reset the system but it never did start working again. The rooms need to have a good wall to wall, corner to corner cleaning. Hotel has a good location and the price is fair. I normally wouldn't stay at this location because it has not had any upgrades in recent years and it is not very clean. There are a lot of newer, nicer hotels in Grande Prairie but there was a promotion for $25.00 off and I was traveling on a tight budget so I thought I would give it a second chance. Overall this hotel needs to have some renovations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank mango47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8GPAB, General Manager at Super 8 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your input and we are looking forward to some additional improvements in the upcoming months. Currently we are working on some room carpet replacement, and we just completed a large listing of repairs, improvements and upgrades. We are hoping that the hot tub will be rectified pending the contractors suggestions and the Lodgenet movie was repaired that Wednesday. We apologize as Lodgenet had to order parts for the system.

Again thank you for your time,

Regards,

Naomi Ducklow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grande Prairie hotels
0.1 mi away
Pomeroy Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grande Prairie Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 24 in Grande Prairie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Podollan Inn & Spa
Podollan Inn & Spa
#1 of 24 in Grande Prairie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Grande Prairie
Days Inn Grande Prairie
#10 of 24 in Grande Prairie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Grande Prairie
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton G...
#2 of 24 in Grande Prairie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Grande Prairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Grande Prairie

Property: Super 8 Grande Prairie
Address: 10050 116th Ave., Grande Prairie, Alberta T8V 4K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Grande Prairie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Grande Prairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Grande Prairie 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find many economic hotels in and around Grande Prairie Alberta, but only Super 8 Hotel offers outstanding value for your travel dollar. Centrally located, we offer clean, comfortable, newly renovated rooms at Pride of Super 8. We constantly upgrade our property to exceed our guests' expectations. Families will value our double queen beds rooms with bunk beds and efficiency suites equipped with full kitchens, which is also perfect for your longer stays. Our goal is to make you feel at home. Super 8 Grande Prairie offers complimentary Superstart(R) hot breakfast, free high-speed Internet, free parking, in-room refrigerator, microwave and guest laundry facilities. Our on-site gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your travel itinerary and if you need to unwind from a long stretch on the road, benefit from out hotel's heated indoor pool and waterslide. We offer non-smoking and smoking rooms as well as a handicapped-accessible room. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. We also are a pet friendly hotel. Grande Prairie's own Muskoseepi Park is only 2 minutes' drive from the hotel, featuring fishing, hiking, tennis, lawn bowling, horseshoes, miniature golf, disc golf, community Skate Park, ice skating, snowshoeing, sliding and cross country skiing. Other activities in the city include but are not limited to championship golf courses, shopping centers (we are located 5 minutes' walk from Prairie Mall), Jump Yard, Eastlink Center and Grande Prairie Live Theatre. We are also located 20 minutes' drive from the Philip J. Currie Dinosaur Museum and Nitehawk Recreation Area. Within .5 miles of the hotel, you will find various excellent dining options such as Prairie Sushi, Mr. Mikes Steakhouse, Subway, Tim Hortons, McDonalds, Taco Time, Prairie Mall (food court and Moxies) and The Office. Do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly should you have any questions, our friendly staff will happily assist you with your reservation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Grande Prairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Prairie Super Eight
Grande Prairie Super 8
Super Eight Grande Prairie
Super 8 Grande Prairie Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing