We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Grande Prairie
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Grande Prairie
Beaumont, Canada
2 reviews
“Fantastic staff”
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I have stayed at this location several times and the staff are second to none. Shelly, and Trudy before her have done an excellent job of training the front desk girls to be friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Be honest
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8GPAB, General Manager at Super 8 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. I may be a bit biased but find the team at the front desk are excellent ambassadors for the property. I am pleased to pass on your compliment and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    61
    55
    43
    22
See reviews for
70
31
13
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, AB
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

My fiancée and I have had to travel to GP several times over the past couple of months to meet with a surgeon in Grande Prairie and are happy to have stumbled upon this hotel (after making a BIG mistake and staying at the ‘inn’ next door during our first stay). The hotel is always clean, the staff is always very friendly and the location can’t be beat.

I would like to personally commend the staff at the Super 8 Grande Prairie – particularly Sherry - for their commitment to outstanding service. I have worked in the hospitality industry for several years – and the hotel industry for over 10 – and, during our recent visit, her service epitomized what going ‘above and beyond’ really means. We had to make a few big changes during our stay and she could not possibly have been more helpful or accommodating.

This was our first time bringing one of our dogs with us for the trip and I was a bit worried about doing so. Having said that, this was the perfect place to do it – she was treated like a guest herself! Not only was she greeted by the staff when we arrived but she was even given a toy to play with and to take with her! She definitely adapted well to her new surroundings :)

After checking in, I asked for a room change (no fault of the hotel, I just prefer a single room rather than a double for a longer stay) and Sherry quickly helped us to make the change – after another staff didn’t think it would be possible - as I had planned on being in the area for five days. We were quickly moved and even offered help moving our things.

To our dismay, we had to unexpectedly leave early the following morning as my fiancée’s surgery was cancelled. It was an upsetting time and we were worried that we would be charged for cancellation or early check-out. Instead, the staff were very understanding and empathetic to our situation and did everything that they could to make us feel better. They were able to immediately change the booking to the rescheduled day(s), arrange a reasonable rate for our next stay and helped us avoid any further charges. The staff made a tough situation MUCH easier.

I would like to say a big thank you to all of the staff (and a very special thank you to Sherry) for going out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We look forward to visiting again in a couple of weeks!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8GPAB, General Manager at Super 8 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Good afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit such a wonderful comment. We are very blessed to have someone like Sherry at the property and we will definately pass along the praise from you.
I wish you luck and health and hope that the next time we see you it is under better circumstances.
God bless.

Naomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baddeck, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

The staff where nice. But we had booked a suite and received two queen beds. They said that they had teachers come in. Well we booked a room and got bumped and that was it. When we fell asleep we where woken to yelling from the room above. This is the second time we have stayed there and left more tired than we went in. We usually stay at the Super 8 Hotels and have a good experience. We have stayed there many times the last 5 years, but the last year it seems to have had some management problems. We will give it another chance,,,

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishmanwalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8GPAB, General Manager at Super 8 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your comments. I apologize that your last visit was certainly not up to our Super 8 standards. I have sent you a message in regards to your last booking and trust that we can accommodate you much better with your next one. Please either email me back with contact info or please feel free to call me at the property so we can book your next visit.

Regards,

Naomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

My company booked me in at a nearby INN... and as soon as I saw the room, I called the Super 8, which was the closest hotel!
DESIREE answered and was SO helpful!!! She booked my room ASAP and I walked over with all of my luggage!!!

I wanted to CRY when I saw my room because it was so nice & clean compared to the INN that I was at!!

Desiree was absolutely amazing and she made my stay an unforgettable one!
Oh and the free airport shuttle was a Godsend as well!! It saved me a $25 cab ride!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatSchiebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
workinggal2, General Manager at Super 8 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, March 26, 2011
Good morning,

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a comment and for personally calling me with the compliment for Miss Desiree. I am thrilled that your experience was a positive one and am very pleased to be able to show Desiree the impact that she made in your day and experience at the hotel. I look forward to you seeing you on your next visit to Grande Prairie!

Naomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2011

When we checked out of this hotel there was a $150 "smoking fee" tacked onto our room. The front desk said someone from the front desk walked by and could smell smoke from our room. Indeed they could the toaster from the kitchen emitted a foul smell whenever it was used. It was only after considerable arguement with the front desk and finally the manager coming to the room to see for herself what the problem was that they removed the $150 charge. I understand charging a fee when someone stays in a nonsmoking room, smokes and the room needs to be reconditioned. But to blatantly tack on the fee without checking the next morning to ensure smoking was the issue is plain extortion.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peace088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
workinggal2, General Manager at Super 8 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Good morning,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize, that we had made an error on your invoice in regards to the smoking charge. The team of the Super 8, has been advised to ensure that all rooms are checked prior to posting any additional charges in regards to smoking fees. Thank you for bringing the situation to my attention personally.

Yours in hospitality,

Naomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

This is a good hotel to stay at...we had a crew of 10 guys staying at this hotel for like two months in the summer time while we worked in Grande Prairie. The kitchenette rooms are great, breakfast was good, and overall everything was awesome. What more do you need then a great bed and clean towel after a 10-12 hour day. I would recommend this place to same if you are there for work room are big and not all jammed in a little square.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy04, Manager at Super 8 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Super 8 Grande Prairie. Your positive comments on our hotel are appreciated and will be passed on to our staff. It is alway nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay, and the new, spacious kitchenette suites definitely are a huge hit! We look foward to serving you and your crew at the Super 8 Grande Prairie in the future as we hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt Meadows
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

The staff were very friendly and accomodating to my needs. Outstanding Wireless service. The room was very clean and fresh. I will be back again!!!!!!!!!!
Thank you Super 8 Grande Prairie

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoosty69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy04, Manager at Super 8 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
Thank you, your kind comments are well received at the Super 8 Grande Prairie. We are glad your stay was a positive experience. We look foward to welcoming you back to the Super 8 Grande Prairie soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grande Prairie hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 24 in Grande Prairie
113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandman Hotel Grande Prairie
Sandman Hotel Grande Prairie
#18 of 24 in Grande Prairie
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pomeroy Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stonebridge Hotel Grande Prairie
Stonebridge Hotel Grande Prairie
#5 of 24 in Grande Prairie
115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Grande Prairie Hotel & Suites
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Grande Prairie
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton G...
#1 of 24 in Grande Prairie
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Grande Prairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Grande Prairie

Property: Super 8 Grande Prairie
Address: 10050 116 Ave, Grande Prairie, Alberta T8V 4K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Grande Prairie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Grande Prairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Grande Prairie 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find many economic hotels in and around Grande Prairie Alberta, but only Super 8 Hotel offers outstanding value for your travel dollar. Centrally located, we offer clean, comfortable, newly renovated rooms at Pride of Super 8. We constantly upgrade our property to exceed our guests' expectations. Families will value our double queen beds rooms with bunk beds and efficiency suites equipped with full kitchens, which is also perfect for your longer stays. Our goal is to make you feel at home. Super 8 Grande Prairie offers complimentary Superstart(R) hot breakfast, free high-speed Internet, free parking, in-room refrigerator, microwave and guest laundry facilities. Our on-site gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your travel itinerary and if you need to unwind from a long stretch on the road, benefit from out hotel's heated indoor pool and waterslide. We offer non-smoking and smoking rooms as well as a handicapped-accessible room. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. We also are a pet friendly hotel. Grande Prairie's own Muskoseepi Park is only 2 minutes' drive from the hotel, featuring fishing, hiking, tennis, lawn bowling, horseshoes, miniature golf, disc golf, community Skate Park, ice skating, snowshoeing, sliding and cross country skiing. Other activities in the city include but are not limited to championship golf courses, shopping centers (we are located 5 minutes' walk from Prairie Mall), Jump Yard, Eastlink Center and Grande Prairie Live Theatre. We are also located 20 minutes' drive from the Philip J. Currie Dinosaur Museum and Nitehawk Recreation Area. Within .5 miles of the hotel, you will find various excellent dining options such as Prairie Sushi, Mr. Mikes Steakhouse, Subway, Tim Hortons, McDonalds, Taco Time, Prairie Mall (food court and Moxies) and The Office. Do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly should you have any questions, our friendly staff will happily assist you with your reservation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Grande Prairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Prairie Super Eight
Grande Prairie Super 8
Super Eight Grande Prairie
Super 8 Grande Prairie Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing