We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I was hoping for.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Grande Prairie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Grande Prairie
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Grande Prairie
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not what I was hoping for.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

The rooms are very small and you can hear everything from the hallway and rooms around you.

The internet is not wireless and you can only have 1 computer online at a time. The speed and availability are also not good.

There is a compassion rate available, which I took advantage of as I was having surgery. A faxed letter is required from your doctor. There are very few hotels offering a reasonable compassion rate in GP.

The rooms are very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a fridge & microwave, but no coffee machine. The heater/air conditioner is very noisy. I like the way the bathroom is arranged and it is very clean as well.

There is lots of parking and the hotel is very easy to find and access from the highway.

Room Tip: Cheap when compared to other hotels in town, you get what you pay for. For just a quick overnight st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoteamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m65709, General Manager at Motel 6 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the M6 Grande Prairie. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Motel 6, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Darcy Blight
General Manager
Motel 6 Grande Prairie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    36
    16
    6
    9
See reviews for
23
10
15
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We have stayed a lot of hotels in Grande Prairie and dollar for dollar this one is by far the best value. Yes the rooms are smaller but if I wanted something bigger than I would be willing to pay extra. The advertised rate was the same as we paid which we found to not be the norm. Pets are also free compared to some places that charge from 20 dollars and up. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m65709, General Manager at Motel 6 Grande Prairie, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the M6 Grande Prairie. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Darcy Blight
General Manager
Motel 6 Grande Prairie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falher, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

It is a newer building, very clean, very sparse, no decorations anywhere. Feels a bit like an institution. No extras. Minimum cable package, flat screen t.v. Has coffee in the lobby in the morning. Internet isn't wireless. Price wasn't bad for what you get. They should cosy up the place a bit. Maybe some plants and pictures in the lobby? Have brochures like other hotels do... Price wasn't bad for what you get.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank optimisticrealist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

clean - check
courteous staff - check
"free" high speed internet - free, yes' internet, yes, high speed? hmmm not so much, reminded me of those dark ages of dial up

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curmudgeon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
240 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

We have stayed in rooms that cost $500 a night and rooms that have cost $27 a night. We stayed here for $69/night and it was very comfortable. We always travel with our dog and look for places that don't screw us over on pet charges. Motel 6 is always a great place because they don't charge. Sure some Motel 6's are in need of a refurb. but this one in Grande Prairie was great and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scrufgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

After driving all night with my husband, kids and brother-in-law we decided to get a motel at lunch so we could all get some sleep before visiting my father-in-law in the hospital. First we got to our room and there was nothing in there, half hour later she came with the coffee, coffee maker, hair dryer, cups, internet cable, etc. Isn't this suppose to be in the room already?
Well trying to get a 1 and a 2 year old to sleep in the same room is already a task, but I did it! Yay they finally fell asleep until housekeeping came around!!! I had the DO NOT DISTURB sign out on the knob and everything. The ladies were yelling at eachother from what sounded like one end of the hall to the other! Here I'm getting nervous, so they keep yaking right in front of our door. My youngest starts screaming...they leave. I was so upset!! I called the front desk expecting her to do 'something' to make me feel better. HA she says "what am I suppose to do about it?" are you kidding me?!?! What is that sign good for?
We were on the main floor and that night we all laid down to sleep and not joking we could hear the water from the room upstairs toilet flushing running across our heads!! Besides the room being extremely small, we got through the night and left the next morning to find something else! We expected better quality from the motel (and staff) for being one of the newer ones in GP.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank szmrtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Alberta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

This motel, a little out of the way, was comfortable and clean. I appreciated the value for my dollar.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DinoNorthernAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grande Prairie hotels
2.0 mi away
Stonebridge Hotel Grande Prairie
Stonebridge Hotel Grande Prairie
#7 of 24 in Grande Prairie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pomeroy Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 mi away
Podollan Inn & Spa
Podollan Inn & Spa
#2 of 24 in Grande Prairie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Stanford Hotels and Resort
Stanford Hotels and Resort
#9 of 24 in Grande Prairie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Grande Prairie
Days Inn Grande Prairie
#8 of 24 in Grande Prairie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 24 in Grande Prairie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Grande Prairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Grande Prairie

Property: Motel 6 Grande Prairie
Address: 15402 101 St | Exit off Highway #2 at 154 Ave. Intersection, Grande Prairie, Alberta T8V 0P7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Grande Prairie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Grande Prairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Grande Prairie 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Grande Prairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Grande Prairie Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing