We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick lunch”
Review of Mitchell's Cafe

Mitchell's Cafe
Ranked #2 of 135 Restaurants in Fort McMurray
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Fort Mcmurray
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quick lunch”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Look past the plastic cutlery and paper plates to enjoy the best home made sandwiches, cookies etc. Always worth stopping at Mitchell's and the staff are great!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TaniaFortMcMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    35
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“great, reasonably priced meals”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

other than the strange yellow bread they use, the people here are wonderful and the food's a great deal... it's a pity they close at 4pm.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ezelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olds, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“What a gem.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had heard of Mitchell's and decided to drop in for a sandwich and soup. We ended up only getting a sandwich as only a few tables and they were taken. Took our sandwiches to go and drove down to Boreal Park and sat in truck and enjoyed our lunch. The home made bread was great, I had a smoked meat sandwich with honey mustard and sprouts. I was full for the day. Hubby had the daily special sandwich and said it was among the best he has had. I had to grab a dessert, was hard to choose but had a buttertart square, it was very good. A wide selection of coffees also.
Looking forward to going again and trying something else.
Will probably become a regular stop when going downtown for lunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggieb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
“Just what we need!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had the pleaure of going to Mitchell's the other week for the first time!
We were blown away. Coming from Calgary where they aren't hort of quaint cafe's this was a breath of fresh air. The bread was FRESH! and the Beef Barley soup was just like home mande...even Better!! Wish there was a little more room to sit (like everyone!) but the charm of the old house...you can't beat that! Keep it up! :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sheena85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reply to GVD79 & best restaurant in town!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

In reply to GVD79- There isn't chicken stock in their bread (a friend works there). It isn't $20 for soup and bread either. You obviously had something else. It's about $20 bucks for soup, a full sandwich, a small drink and leaving a tip. Most of the reheatble dinners (great for taking back to the hotel) are only $10. It usually comes to $40 bucks for me, my wife and my son and the food is always good and fresh. Compare that to A&W for the 3 of us it's usually close to $35 and it's hit and miss whether it's edible.

Mitchell's cafe has the best mochas in town. I especially love the location on main st for it's atmosphere and the patio in the summer time. The Syncrude health and wellness centre location is great if you have small kids because there's lots of room for them to run around.

So shove that in your pipe and smoke it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WCJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell's Cafe also viewed

Fort McMurray, Alberta
Fort McMurray, Alberta
 

Been to Mitchell's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing