We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish Place

Fish Place
Ranked #18 of 132 Restaurants in Fort McMurray
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hinton, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“So delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Went to the Fish Place this past weekend - was my second visit. So good! It's one restaurant that I plan to visit each time I visit Fort Mac. I had the stuffed mushroom caps and popcorn shrimp the first visit and they were both really good. This time I had the fishcakes! So good!!! You get four of them (I couldn't even eat them all!) and they are moist and flavourful. The servers have been great and the price is about what you'd expect. Can't wait to go back and try more things on the menu - like the alligator!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

I had the crispy cod & chips and they were excellent the fish had a nice crispy Panko breading and the fish was nice and flakey.
The chips were cooked perfectly I personally will return to try some of the other entrees they serve. I server was polite and very professional and made sure my food came hot and that I was enjoying it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Magickaladventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The food is good the prices not bad and friendly service .The wait is not long at all ,and plenty on your plate .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MDfarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecce, Italy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Ok.. lacks in effort.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Was really curious of trying this place out.. but I don't think I'll return. Pretty vast menu, plenty of selection (you also get a valid choice of meat).

But if you decide to go to the fish place for fish.. well.. I wasn't expecting to be almost forced to eat fried fish. Everything was ok, but eating fried entrees and fried main course that tasted like pretty much the same fried stuff was a big let down.

Decor is tacky but who cares. Service is ok. Quantities are very decent (you absolutely will NOT leave the place starving). I hope they'll improve on the food quality.. fort Mc needs some more unique places that dont belong to a food-chain / franchise.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fo0dus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

This place was recommended. I'm glad there was a separate sign because I would have missed it. The food was decent and nice size portion. I had the lunch special cod au gratin and fish cakes. The fish cakes were very tasty and seasoned well. The cod tasted good if you smother the tartar sauce on to give it flavor. Very homey restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank mai d
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Fish Place also viewed

Fort McMurray, Alberta
 
Fort McMurray, Alberta
 

Been to Fish Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing