We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Series of unfortunate events”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fort McMurray
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Fort McMurray
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Series of unfortunate events”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

I've stayed at the Radisson before and the experience has been usually good.

This time, I was very dissapointed. The room that I got was a smoking room. I booked online and wasn't informed that it was smoking. I am a non-smoker and I was not happy with it.

The staff tried to find another room for me, but there was none available as the hotel was full that night (wednesday). The room reeked of smoke and I had no place to go. They volunteered to find me another hotel, but there was no good hotels with any vacancy. I was not going to stay at a roach motel so I stayed.

Next, the fridge in my room did not work. I had gone to the grocery store to buy some snacks to put in the fridge. When the room attendant came to see what happened, he confirmed it was broken. Since there were no free rooms, they couldnt swap me any free fridges.

I had to bring my stuff to the front desk for them to put it in their staff fridge.

Through this whole ordeal, the staff was very friendly. There was never any problem with the service I received.

I'm quite dissapointed that this hotel still allows smoking rooms. It definetley brings down the experience for visiting guests and makes the hotel seem like it has lower standards.

In the future, I do not think that I will stay at the Radisson based on this experience.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask about non-smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasafrass12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark P, General Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Fort McMurray, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments, and while I am glad that our staff tried everything they could to recover from these unfortunate events, I apologize that any of them happened in the first place.

I am pleased to be able to tell you that we will be undergoing significant renovations through the next 12 months, and among many improvements that will be made, our existing inventory of smoking rooms is slated to be removed and converted to non-smoking rooms.

As a further result of your comments we have ordered some back-up firdge and microwave units, in case this kind of thing should ever happen again.

Thank you again, and I hope that we might see you here in the future, where perhaps we can make up for this series of unfortunate events.

Yours in Hospitality,

Mark Perry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    66
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
28
9
9
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was our third or fourth stay in the past couple of years. We stay on weekends to visit family. The rates are much lower Fri/Sat than other days of the week. We only dealt with front desk staff. They were friendly and professional. We asked for and received a free upgrade to a 'family room' on check in (it has a separate extra bed room attached to a regular room, with another queen bed and TV). There is free coffee in the morning, and free newspapers. They used to have big free cookies, but no more. I understand ownership changed, and it looks like they sadly canned the cookies. The family room was nice, but there was only a desk in the second bedroom - the main bed room with the 2 beds only had the standard TV console/chest and a side chair with a floor lamp. The chair and lamp could really use a small table in the grouping. There was a night table shared between the beds. The sleep number beds worked as advertised and were comfy. The room and bathroom were clean. The hot tube wasn't working, but after putting it on the survey they sent me afterwards, the GM said "parts are on order". It's a good place to stay for the price range.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are a bit quieter than those at the front, but on weekends non are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffalo429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Radisson would be convenient for those heading to a near by industrial park but not much else. It isn't too far from the airport nor downtown but isn't particularly close to either.
The rooms are clean and attractive. Counter staff always seem vaguely lost but are pleasant enough as long as you don't need anything.
The phone in our room didn't work but we didn't bother to change.
The sleep number bed convinced us we don't want to buy one just because of the movement when someone gets off or on.
The food in the restaurant is pretty good, but we heard it has recently been bought out so it will be interesting to see how it changes. The food doesn't quite match the prices in the restaurant but this is Fort MacMurry. The pub has good bar food and both the restaurant and pub had passable service.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Lots of parking available if you go to back of hotel. Easy check in/out. Restaurant and bar in hotel. Nice turn down service. I stay here a few times a year when in for business. Sleep number beds but some do not work with the remote. For the past few years this has been the best place I have found to stay in Fort McMurray. Don't expect it to be great just that other places are worse.

Room Tip: 4th floor away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tactilesound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

This hotel has an old fashioned feel to it, rather country charm. So if you like the country style of decorating then this is the place for you. I did not know I was getting a suite until I got to the room and that was a really nice surprise. I think the hotel would do well with better lighting so as to brighten the dark colors. The bathroom was clean enough. The highlight was all the special soaps and lotions that I really liked. Overall the room was acceptable but dated with older television sets within bulky wood displays. This takes away from the larger size of the room. The kidney shaped pool with the water slide entry gave a more wavy feel and was enjoyable. The hot tub jets were not working but it was warm enough. The staff are not as hospitable as I am used to. They seemed to be stressed by their many guests though there did not seem to be many there. One of the clerks was more friendly so it could just have been a bad day for them. The restaurant was closed Sunday at 10 in the morning for the entire day which was totally unexpected and inconvenient. There was no offer of a free breakfast which would have been appreciated with a 3 night stay and made it a more beneficial stay.

Room Tip: Not so good to be at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanakopita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Was very nice to be remembered, was surprised and pleased that they had me set up in the room that I like....that was awesome !
Four of us had dinner in the dining room, food was great and so was the service, nothing rushed with lots of time between courses !
I like the fact that you can entertain clients in the booths and still have privacy.
Will be back for sure....keep up the great work !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaTraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager033, General Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Fort McMurray, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments, they are appreciated by our entire team.
I was very glad to hear that our front office team not only remembered you but also the room type that you prefer.
I am happy to know that you enjoyed your visit at The Aurora Bar & Grill, under the direction of our new Chef it is doing very well and our guests are appreciative of the new menu items, we are continuing with our improvments in that area so watch for many exciting changes to come.
Thank you again for the encouraging words, they are most helpful as we strive to make each visit a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Poorly run business. I heard managers complaining about employees, I heard employees complain about employees.. When I got to the desk a very rude service Lady named Jen was EXTREMELY rude to me. Like ME.. a paying customer should feel badly about coming into a hotel.
So sorry for the inconvenience of checking in. Geez.
For me personally when I walk into a business... ANY kind of business, I don't like to hear that negative bashing going on. This is supposed to be a five star hotel. So COMPLETELY unprofessional. Like.. honestly. I checked out two days early and checked into the Sawridge. So everyone.. stay at the Sawridge it was fantastic. Avoid the Radisson at ALL COSTS.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29217Veronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager033, General Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Fort McMurray, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
On behalf of myself and our entire team I wanted to apologize for the service you encountered during your recent visit to Fort McMurray.
I can assure you that you are not an inconvenience, you the guest are the reason our hotel continues to operate.
I would personally like to know more, so that I am able to correct the issues, to ensure that what you encountered is never repeated.
We take pride in our hotel and the service that we offer to our guests, it is my hope that I have the opportunity to apologize to you in person.
If you have a moment to discuss your visit, you can reach me at gm@radissonfortmcmurray.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort McMurray hotels
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sawridge Suites
2.1 mi away
Merit Hotel & Suites
Merit Hotel & Suites
#3 of 18 in Fort McMurray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
3.5 mi away
Franklin Suite Hotel
Franklin Suite Hotel
#4 of 18 in Fort McMurray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clearwater Suite Hotel
Clearwater Suite Hotel
#5 of 18 in Fort McMurray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
3.3 mi away
Podollan Inn
Podollan Inn
#6 of 18 in Fort McMurray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vantage Inn & Suites
Vantage Inn & Suites
#7 of 18 in Fort McMurray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel & Suites Fort McMurray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel & Suites Fort McMurray

Property: Radisson Hotel & Suites Fort McMurray
Address: 435 Gregoire Dr, Fort McMurray, Alberta T9H 4K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Fort McMurray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fort McMurray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel & Suites Fort McMurray 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Hotel & Suites Ft McMurray, in Alberta Canada, offers a selection of 134 exquisitely newly renovated rooms to suit all tastes throughout our five floor facility. We have several types of specialty rooms, including wheelchair accessible units, suites, and deluxe suites with fireplace. Our distinctive suites will make any stay extra special. We have plenty of recreational options at your fingertips. Our indoor pool with spiral waterslide is great fun for all ages; or you can melt your tensions away in our bubbling hot tub. Our dedicated all-hours fitness equipment will allow you to keep on your fitness routine while on the road. We also feature: 7 meeting rooms, 1 board room, guest coin operated laundry, same day dry cleaning service, and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Travelocity, Carlson, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel & Suites Fort McMurray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Fort Mcmurray
Fort Mcmurray Radisson
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fort McMurray Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing