We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for the food though”

MacDonald Island Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not for the food though”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

As a rec center it is Great! I misread the review title. The food is just average high priced rec center food. When it is very busy with trade shows they can run out of favorites. The poutine is very good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Western_Cdn_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    27
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful facility”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Considering some of the monthly fees I've been charged for a gym, this is considerably low at around $60 a month for an adult. That's the month by month fee, not a seasonal pass. I also believe certain "site" workers receive a hefty discount (Suncor)

The City of Fort McMurray is quite fond of pouring money into this place, and it shows. The facility is massive and offers a wide range of services. With a year pass you know you aren't just paying for what's available now, but also for the features that are constantly being added to it. We can thank some of the major oil companies for throwing cash at this place for good PR as well.

Gym is large, lots of treadmills, bikes etc. Quite a large selection of machines for lifting, I was impressed.

The "Free weight" area could be a lot larger, but that's just being picky. Overall it has a very nice gym and a good atmosphere, they have a few trainers who are typically present to give you a hand if you have any questions.

The pool is pretty large and the kids can enjoy the slides and "lazy river."

For 60 bucks this place is great, tons of parking, although it is often quite busy, considering the curling, hockey rink, squash courts(?) etc. Can't beat it.

As I side note, I don't think there is any "Pay lockers" meaning you just throw a buck in and there you go, you either have to rent one for x amount of time via the front desk or use one of the public lockers with your own lock, which is fine. This is at least the case in the Men's locker room located nearest the gym. (not the pool)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Davd V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Excellent facility, great atmosphere and a huge array of events (concerts, fund raisers, and much much more) apart from the fantastic water park for the kids, exceptional pool facility, skating rinks, fitness facility and don't forget the Library. I enjoy myself everytime I go there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mac island”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Love Mac Island, been here 12 days and prob wnet there 8-9 out of those days. love it, great facility, lots to offer, wish i could see finished fitness gym tho as it was under construction. enjoyued the swimming pool, some cardio, and hitting the bag by teh running track. Seems like alot of hockey goioing on always. The Yogen Fruz was a great treat afterwards also,lol

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kenny l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great place”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This place is huge. Good idea to have the library here and they are talking about adding. Great place

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacDonald Island Park also viewed

 
Fort McMurray, Alberta
Fort McMurray, Alberta
 

Been to MacDonald Island Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing