We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to the mall, decent price, nice rooms”
Review of Lodge Motor Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lodge Motor Inn
Ranked #88 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“close to the mall, decent price, nice rooms”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

went to town for holiday shopping and stayed here for the weekend with my family and kids.
their are a few places in this area that we've tried that are comparable in price. $85/night, for the price, lodge motor inn was the best place to stay by west edmonton mall. i've stayed in the yellow motel across from it last time when we were in town, they have "free breakfast" which turned out to be unedible, and the rooms were disgusting.
lodge motor inn has newish management and i guess they are in the process of redoing the place with about half the rooms repainted, carpets redone and the beds pretty comfortable. pretty quiet too.
the only downside to this place is that the pillows are less than ideal.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelalotalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Stayed here one night on our way out to the coast on a cross Canada road trip. You get what you pay for; room was only $79 for the night. Furniture and carpets are a bit worst for wear, but the place was clean. Beds were comfortable, and the room size in general was above average. I would stay here again....

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktown_traveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Small town Alberta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2009

We usually travel with our dog, a quiet mini dachshund but travelling with a dog limits some of the places you can stay. So, when we got in touch they said sure the dog can stay...$10 extra (which is no big deal...pet fee is pretty standard)

But this place was horrible from walking in to leaving!! The manager offered my husband a "deal" on a kitchenette for $156, which because we were feeling like treating ourselves and our kids a bit we took. Anything over an hour in the room you've paid for the night. Unfortunately The kids & I were dropped off while hubby went to get supper, by the time he got back we were over the hour. (the hotel next door was willing to offer us a kitchenette with the dog for $99/night and was a MUCH nicer place, but we c ouldn't get our $$ back to go over there)

The room was filthy and a hazard!! There was a futon in the "living room" that shook shen our kids sat on it (our oldest was 4...I can't even imagine a full grown adult on it) electrical sockets with no plates on them and hanging out of the wall, The kitchen was gross and dirty...period.

This place was so bad that we spent the time that we were awake coralling the kids into the middle of the "living room" so that we could see what they were doing to keep them safe. When it came time for bed, the kids' bed had a crease across the middle (looks like the frame was broken, and too heavfy a butt in the bed would have folded it up on you. this same bed had one leg being supported by the Gideon Bible to keep it from toppling over. I don't even remember what our bed was like, i spent too much of that night scared to death and checking on the kids.

I refused to let t dog out of her kennel except to go out to pee (another story here...we were told that she had to be taken out behind the building to do her business...that, I totally get...except that behind the building was nothing but broken glass and needles, mixed with the unsavory types that would be comfortable in that type of environment) I took her out once, after that my husband did. But in the room was simply TOO DIRTY for our dog...yuck

Never mind the partiers on ALL sides (above too!) On top of all this, management had the nerve to chide us about what would happen if our dog or kids wrecked the room...excuse me...but even if we all trashed the room...there is no way, and I mean NO WAY that anyone could have told the difference as long as the windows weren't broken and the door still closed.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Clan_McDermott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edmonton hotels

revelstoke
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Booked two rooms by for the month as we were working in Edmonton. At check in everything seemed okay and it was slightly nicer than the inn next door. They had no kitchenettes available so I booked two regular rooms for $550/week each.
Everything went down hill from there.
Cleaning service would not even empty garbage and the bathrooms were in such a state of disrepair that the tiles were falling out of the shower walls and at one point the cover from the fan in the bathroom fell of and water and mold splashed all over the room. When they finally fixed the fan they did not even wipe up the mess.
It quickly became clear that the rates I was paying were more than the long term guests as some of them would rummage through the dumpster every morning.
The parties were the real deal breaker though as we needed to be at work every morning at 6 am and after 4 nights in a row of having to listen to load parties and yelling and screaming in the parking lot until the police finally showed up at 4 am I complained to the office that they had to evict the other guest or we would not be staying only to be told that if the noise was too load they could move me to a different room.
Though the manager was very apologetic as we were packing it was too little to late. We found two kitchenettes a little further out on Stoney Plains Road for only 375/week each and are much happier here where the management would rather have good quiet renters and have a few empty rooms rather than just filling every room with anybody who needs a place to drink.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kaloogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2008

I liked this motel because the rate was only $85 a night when my wife and I stayed there the last week of January 2008. The water and sewer had froze up in our home, and we needed a place to call home right away. The owner, Farukh, was very accommodating, and the rest of the staff, very pleasant and helpful.

  • Liked — Good value and large rooms. Friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Some noise after midnight.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bnjohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Quality Inn West Edmonton
Quality Inn West Edmonton
#43 of 93 in Edmonton
208 reviews
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#58 of 93 in Edmonton
202 reviews
Place LaRue
Best Western Plus Westwood Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Place LaRue
Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Motor Inn

Property: Lodge Motor Inn
Address: 18125 Stony Plain Road NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Place LaRue
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lodge Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Motor Inn Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing