We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 times and counting”
Review of Transcend Coffee

Transcend Coffee
Ranked #4 of 62 Coffee & Tea in Edmonton
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Transcend Coffee opened at its original location (9869 - 62nd Ave) in the summer of 2006. Transcend Coffee operates on the principals of direct and sustainable sourcing of its coffee world wide. Transcend roasts its excellent coffee daily at its roasting facility (7724 69th Street) and prides itself on the freshness and quality of the coffee it sells. In 2010 Transcend Coffee opened a second location in the historic Garneau Theatre building (8780 109 Street). This location is close to the University and a five minute walk from Whyte Avenue.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“4 times and counting”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have been to this shop four times now in the last month or so. The staff is friendly, the prices reflect the quality and the ambience is clean and crisp. The inclusion of Brazilian street food was a surprise. My wife is Brazilian and I was in Rio not too long ago with her, so the familiarity brought her closer to home. Not much else to say, if you love coffee --> go!

To note, everytime I venture into Transcend I see a row of Macbook Pros lining the tables =). Prime place for an Apple commercial.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BodumBiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in Edmonton”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

No contest, these folks have the best coffee in town.

It is obvious both by sampling their coffees and by hearing them talk about their coffees that these people take a lot of pride in what they do.

They have quite a decent menu of coffees from select locations around the world. They also thoughtfully roast to perfection the beans they source. Their selection of coffees feature quite a wide variety of flavour bouquets - so there is something that will please everyone's preferences. My personal favourite is their petite bean "Santa Rosa" coffee from Costa Rica. This limited production coffee is more expensive, but it is worth the price.

With many cheap generic coffees, a splash of cream is needed to them more tolerable. With the Transcend coffee, I happily drink it black as the flavour bouquets are so well balanced.

Of course, they do offer a wide selection of specialty coffees as well. Their latte and cappuccino are pretty killer.

They do also sell beer and wine (at least at their downtown location) - but the coffee is so good, I have yet to explore those offerings.

I appreciate their 'direct trade' form of doing business with the growers. This gives the farmers a good price for their product so that they can support their families with dignity as opposed to the poverty conditions many coffee farmers endure. I will gladly pay extra, not only for top quality coffee, but to support a business that practices social justice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rousu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Edmonton”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Roasted in Edmonton, they now have 3 locations. We went to one of their coffee tastings several years ago and immediately came to appreciate the skill in roasting quality beans and appreciating the direct trade approach they take.

They used to say "I dare you to drink it black" and I can honestly say it is the only coffee I can drink black....best coffee in Edmonton. Visit any of their locations or buy beans online.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaBudgetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
253 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Good music, good service, good product; easy to kick back after a show or just do some work. There should be more of these in the city.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ELES ESCAPE B a... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Level Contributor
154 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great locally owned coffee shop”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

An interesting location in a commercial / industrial setting, this small coffee shop serves up strong esspresso and Clover machine brewed java. The staff are well educated and always courteous. Prices are high (think Starbucks), but so is quality. A recent introduction of Latin street food make this an ideal spot to spend a Saturday afternoon.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pyke88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Transcend Coffee also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Transcend Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing