We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sterling Suite stay”
Review of Matrix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Matrix Hotel
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Calgary, AB
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sterling Suite stay”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed at the Matrix July 19. Got the sterling suite as it looked super spacious. Got into the room and we both looked at each other and said 'whoa, looks way bigger in pics from the hotel's website'. Not exactly 'suite' but more large hotel room.

I was concerned about the noise as we were RIGHT beside the elevators but it wasn't too bad.

Was nice enough but certainly not for the price we paid. Some stains on the carpet, broken floor level heater. Nothing major. Bed is super comfortable. Great bedding. One thing that was frustrating is that nothing was open to order food or sit in at 2 pm!? No room service, restaurant/lounge wasn't open. That was a bit of a pain. Staff was hit and miss. Lovely woman at reception one min, stale unsmiling man the next.

Would I stay at the Matrix again? Perhaps... if the price was right. Spending over 300 on a 'large room' was too much for this hotel but maybe it was more expensive because of K Days. Lesson learned.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007Diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olaf M, General Manager at Matrix Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear 007Diva,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you found the Sterling Suite to be not as large as you expected. We are glad that you found the bed comfortable and enjoyed the bedding.

If you wish to discuss your stay, please contact me directly. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Olaf Miede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,417
    841
    187
    50
    36
See reviews for
313
663
124
1,219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have stayed twice in the Matrix and will look no further upon my return to Edmonton. The room was exactly what I expected, which is a thumbs up when I travel. As others have favorably noted, a modern decor is pleasing to the eye; cleanliness is clearly a priority; parking at no additional cost is readily accessible; the bed/pillows/linens reflect attentiveness to comfort and a decision to provide guests with washable duvet covers; breakfast, included in the room price, is appealing in variety, taste, quality and presentation; and service is friendly and exacting. Two things to note: the fan on the AC/heater is loud and consequently I turned it off when sleeping; when closed, the bathroom door is a tad odd in that it has approximately an inch of open space on all 4 sides. Would these deter me from a repeat stay? Not at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olaf M, General Manager at Matrix Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear GRG,

Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel! We are thrilled that you enjoyed all the extras and attention to detail we put in maintaining our property. We are also very fond of the Wildflower Restaurant and are glad that your enjoyed your experience there. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Olaf Miede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Matrix is a find in near-downtown Edmonton. It is exceptional value, with clean, comfortable rooms well under $ 200.00. Perfect for the business traveler. Room has a comfortable bed, new bathroom, a reading chair and good working desk. Only cavil is that the fan on HVAC is very noisy, and the only option on the thermostat is Auto, so it can’t be dialed down.
Nothing prepossessing about the appearance or decor ( it sort of looks like a stacked motel from the street ) but it really is a good value. There is a bar and restaurant, which offers a complimentary buffet breakfast in the morning.
Friendly, helpful staff. Business centre, free hi-speed internet and wi-fi, fitness centre.
A bonus is that there is a much-awarded restaurant, The Wildflower Grill, located on the property/. Oh yes, the parking is free. A little out of downtown, but certainly walkable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olaf M, General Manager at Matrix Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear David355,

Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return again soon!

Sincerely,

Olaf Miede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had the unique opportunity to travel to the Great North and stay in this excellent hotel in Downtown Edmonton. I was very impressed by the ambiance, service and feel of this hotel. When you walk in the lobby there is one word that comes to mind: Class. It is not over or understated. The decor is superb and it sets the tone for the rest of the experience. The front desk service was always quick, efficient and accomodating no matter which shift was working. That's not always the case in some places. This hotel however maintains a very excellent staff at all hours. Our stay was spent in two separate suites by design. We stayed in both the Sterling and Platinum Suites that are available. Both absolutely worth it. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious with great seating areas with small eating/bar areas in each. Their king size beds were like an ocean of comfort. Particularly because we did not have to request additional pillows, four king pillows and a great long pillow for total comfort already on the bed. The Matrix Hotel is all about comfort and great function! Last, but definitely not least was the Executive Breakfast. This is not your average continental breakfast. This is a full on breakfast buffet with Eggs Benedict, baked tomatoes, home potatoes, fresh fruits, for my wife the chef even brought out by request fresh gluten free bread! This place is superb! It's not the tallest hotel in Edmonton, but you don't need towering height to provide the best possible experience for your guests, and The Matrix Hotel in Edmonton, Delivers.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty decent, but if you can afford it, go with the Sterling Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris7656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olaf M, General Manager at Matrix Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Chris7656,

We are so happy that you had an exceptional stay at our property! It's great to hear that our service met your high standards and you found them to be quick and efficient.
We strive to portray a high quality experience for our guests and are glad that you found that effort in every detail.

We are very proud of our extra amenities including the breakfast and are thrilled that you enjoyed it!

If you have any questions or concerns regarding your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Olaf Miede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was our last hotel stay before heading back to the states after a long trip - so maybe we were just tired - but this hotel was just weird. It was dark and icky feeling. The parking lot was small and not the most secure looking or feeling. The neighborhood was nice enough and we noted no less that 4 coffee houses within a very short walk. For the price - our room was OK. Morning clerk struggled to print the bill, but over all folks were nice. Doubtful we would return or recommend.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNTATTHEBEACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olaf M, General Manager at Matrix Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear TNTATTHEBEACH,

Thank you for your review. We’re sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The Matrix Hotel’s feature colour palette and decor showcases a bold, dramatic look that is meant to draw the eye to the texture of its architecturally-inspired finishes. We have on-site parking for the convenience of our guests that is patrolled regularly by our security.

We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. If you wish to discuss this further, please contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Olaf Miede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Love this hotel!! Great place to meet girl friends or spend great weekend with loved ones!!! Easy to get too with lots of parking!! Wildflower grill attached to hotel is an incredible dining experience!!
You must check this place out!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olaf M, General Manager at Matrix Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Donna W,

Thank you for your great review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to have a great experience at the Wildflower Grill. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Olaf Miede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Everything appeared to be new and clean, and while the wifi was a little slow, it was free, and the free Ethernet in the room was plenty fast. Good breakfast and a nice wine and cheese also included. I'd stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ppival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olaf M, General Manager at Matrix Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear ppival,

Thank you for your great review! We are so pleased that you found your stay with us to be comfortable and convenient! We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Olaf Miede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
1.4 mi away
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#5 of 93 in Edmonton
1,377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#11 of 93 in Edmonton
987 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
#4 of 93 in Edmonton
1,102 reviews
4.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Edmonton
0.5 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#25 of 93 in Edmonton
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matrix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matrix Hotel

Property: Matrix Hotel
Address: 10640 100 Ave NW | 107th Street NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3N8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#10 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matrix Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe all travelers deserve exceptional value, service and an unsurpassed downtown Edmonton hotel experience. We offer guests a complimentary and extensive breakfast buffet each morning in our Hospitality Suite. Guests can choose from an array of both hot and cold breakfast items, prepared by our in-house chef. Piping hot oatmeal, home cooked egg dish and accompanying meat and potatoes for those who appreciate a hearty breakfast to start their day. On the lighter side we offer a cold selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit, pastries and juices. Touch of a button barista worthy cappuccinos, espressos and lattes along with a variety of specialty teas are available all day. To end the day, complimentary wine tasting and assortment of appetizers are offered between 17:30 and 18:30. Also complimentary to our guests is parking, downtown Lexus Town Car Service, Wi-Fi and bicycle rentals. Matrix Hotel provides a sophisticated hospitality experience to travelers who appreciate great design and need convenient access to the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Matrix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matrix Hotel Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing