We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel in a convenient location”
Review of Matrix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Matrix Hotel
Ranked #10 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for about a month at the beginning of 2013 and enjoyed it.
Great staff, always accommodating. When there was a problem they dealt with it swiftly.
Nice room with a gas fireplace which was cozy when it's -30 outside. A fridge and a microwave. Good , complimentary breakfast, only wished it was available a bit earlier in the morning.
Only real problem is they archaic TV system. They get multiple complaint every day and I believe they're aware they have to switch to a "professional" system.
The Gym could use some more equipment.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can. The suites are (obviously) more convenient for longer stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weinold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,454 - 2,460 of 2,810 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

I arrived at the Matrix from Calgary a little after 8:pm. Check in was great! Very friendly. They ordered me a cab for the morning . Rooms are very modern and comfortable. I could hear the guest in the next room. My view was a roof top! The TV had HBO great channels if you can get it to work. The prior guest had it programmed for games and I could not access the TV. Maintainance came up to fix, that took about an hour to get TV going. In the mean time I was starving and ordered room service. I ordered Pizza without cheese just sauce and a few toppings with a beer. Well about 10:00pm they call the room and said they made the wrong pizza and put brie cheese on it and it would take another hour to make another one so about 11:00pm. I was so angry. 1 I was starving no dinner. 2 it was so late at night I had to up at 6:00am to present a seminar at the University down the street. So they brought the beer up free of charge but did not seem too concerned about anything. I had the can of pringles in the room and explained my upset at checkout and they did not charge for the pringles. WOW! how kind of them. So my only issue was the TV and room service who seem to not have a clue about customer service. Would I stay again. Yes, however I would have a Subway sandwich accross from the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiftFromGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olaf M, General Manager at Matrix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your comments.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We use our guest’s feedback to allow us to celebrate our successes and to address our challenges by continuously improving our product and service. As such, we have ordered new LED TVs for the entire hotel to improve our guest’s viewing experience. Your room service experience is unacceptable and I am investigating your comments to make sure that this does not occur in the future.

We do value your choice of staying at the Matrix and we are looking forward to have you stay with us in the near future. Please contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay further or if I can do anything to make your future stays more enjoyable.

Warm Regards,


Olaf Miede, General Manager
omiede@matrixedmonton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here in May 2013 for a girlfriend's stagette. The rooms are really well designed and comfortable. Staff were super helpful and friendly. The complimentary breakfast buffet is really great. Thought this place was overall good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingleMindedExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

So the positives: great staff, good housekeeping, shower head was great. Negatory: bathroom has no fan, so the water condenses on the ceiling and then falls back down on you - disgusting. Poor quality room air, ventilation system so noisy one can barely sleep. They advertised that windows could open - had to get someone to cut the plastic tag off before could be opened. The TV is a nightmare to figure out. The beds had no fitted sheets and the duvets had no covering it was just another loose sheet on top. They call a sliding piece of board a bathroom door!! There wasn't a safety bar anywhere in the shower and tub is too deep. The fantabulous reviews this place gets is probably because those people stayed in the Sterling suite or anything above a "luxury double bed suite". This place is best suited to business folk who have absolutely no infirmities whatsoever. Last but not least, the parking sucked!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Clarion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olaf M, General Manager at Matrix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your comments.

I am happy to hear your comments on our team and housekeeping service as they do a great job. We continually try to improve our product and service. As such we are working with a mechanical company to improve the airflow in our guest rooms and we have ordered new LED TVs for the entire hotel. We used to have duvet covers in our rooms and just recently changed to triple sheeting all of our beds as this is becoming more sanitary and prevalent in hotels. The hotel’s boutique design included sliding doors in our bathrooms and deep tubs. We do have rooms with safety bars as well as rooms without and this is the first time that the lack of a safety bar has been brought to my attention. I will look into this further as the safety of our guests is of utmost importance. We do offer a number of complimentary services with your stay including breakfast, a wine/cheese reception (except Sunday nights) and parking adjacent to the hotel. We are currently limited on undercover parking and we are in the process to get our springtime lot cleaning and painting done.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us in the future and allow us to redeem ourselves. To that end I would love the opportunity to speak with you directly.

Warm Regards,



Olaf Miede, General Manager
omiede@matrixedmonton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Though mundane in appearance on the outside looking like an office building this medium size hotel has a very attentive staff and comfortable rooms inside it.
The staff is ever willing to please and help. The breakfast buffet is fabulous what you expect at the best Sunday brunch that you might pay upwards of $30 per person for.
Though the rooms have not been renovated for about 5 or 6 years hotels in general only renovate perhaps every 10 years. The infrastructure is fine now and the TV's and the internet access is up to date both WI FI and plug in available. The KING bed that we had was very very comfortable and there was ample storage for clothes. The Bathroom is very contemporary
the only thing missing is light switches to enter the Living room and the bedroom
in daytime not an issue but at night a little bit difficult finding the switches on each of the lamps to turn them on. An In room safe was available in the suite that we occupied it was very easy to use.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike71553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Quick check in. Downtown. Friendly staff. Fantastic hot upscale breakfast included. One of the best restaurants in the city. What more can a business traveller ask for. Stay here about once a month. It never disappoints

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Second stay at the Matrix. This hotel is showing a bit of wear and staff seemed to have an inability to handle a full hotel. Rooms were in desperate need of a good cleaning and wipe down. Tub kept getting plugged and toilet wouldn’t flush. Also ran out of hot water during the shower. When I mentioned the lack of hot water to the hotel staff, I was told that the hotel was full and everyone must have been showering all at once. A hotel should be able to handle this.

The complimentary continental breakfast is outstanding. A great variety of items for all tastes. The room service food was also tasty but extremely expensive for what you received.

The location of this hotel is good. Close to Jasper Avenue and the shopping mall. But because the hotel is downtown, it isn’t a quiet location. Also ask for a room away from the elevator.

There is wifi but is extremely unreliable. If you have to get work done, you are better off to bring your own internet cable and plug it in your room. Otherwise, go to Starbucks located on the side of the hotel.

All in all it was a decent hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckyduck2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olaf M, General Manager at Matrix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your comments.

I am sorry to hear about the challenges you encountered during your stay. We do utilize our guest feedback to continually improve our product and service. Since your stay we have addressed our hot water challenges through upgrades to our mechanical system and we have just implemented a new room service menu. We continually work with our housekeeping and maintenance departments to maintain and upgrade the hotel on both the mechanical and visual aspects. As such we are currently looking at upgrading our WIFI service and have a number of additional upgrades approved and planned to take place this summer.

I do hope to have you stay with us in the near future to experience our continued upgrades. Please contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay further.

Warm Regards,


Olaf Miede, General Manager
Omiede@matrixedmonton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#13 of 91 in Edmonton
1,104 reviews
Union Bank Inn
#26 of 91 in Edmonton
355 reviews
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#7 of 91 in Edmonton
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
#4 of 91 in Edmonton
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matrix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matrix Hotel

Address: 10640 100 Ave NW | 107th Street NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3N8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#10 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: $123 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matrix Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe all travelers deserve exceptional value, service and an unsurpassed downtown Edmonton hotel experience. We offer guests a complimentary and extensive breakfast buffet each morning in our Hospitality Suite. Guests can choose from an array of both hot and cold breakfast items, prepared by our in-house chef. Piping hot oatmeal, home cooked egg dish and accompanying meat and potatoes for those who appreciate a hearty breakfast to start their day. On the lighter side we offer a cold selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit, pastries and juices. Touch of a button barista worthy cappuccinos, espressos and lattes along with a variety of specialty teas are available all day. To end the day, complimentary wine tasting and assortment of appetizers are offered between 17:30 and 18:30. Also complimentary to our guests is parking, downtown Lexus Town Car Service, Wi-Fi and bicycle rentals. Matrix Hotel provides a sophisticated hospitality experience to travelers who appreciate great design and need convenient access to the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Matrix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matrix Hotel Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing