We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Matrix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Matrix Hotel
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at The Matrix for 2 weeks on a business trip to Edmonton and was I impressed. I travel 40 weeks of the year for business. The rooms are very up to date and well appointed. The complimentary hot buffet was delicous and the dishes were repelenished frequently. I also appreciated that the hot dishes varied from day to day. I took advantage of the complimentary wine and cheese most evenings. The only thing that I was dismayed by was the greed of some of the patrons who seemed to feel that the cheese should be their dinner so took more than there share. The staff generously refilled the cheese trays to try and keep up. The hotel is a 5 block walk to the City Centre Mall.

Room Tip: The even number rooms do get early noises from the trash dumpsters being emptied which disturbed me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyliegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,397 - 2,403 of 2,714 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

When I travel for business I am usually traveling alone and I feel very safe and comfortable here. I have stayed here many times and I love the proximity to LRT, good reasonably priced restaurants, and a really good book store. Complimentary wine and cheese is served in a lovely room, and the breakfast is varied and tasty. Front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. Nice ladies clothing shop across the street. Nice for a couples weekend as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I really mean everything. The room was beautiful - the bed was huge and comfortable and the view from the 11th floor we were on was spectacular. We got to watch the sun rise in the morning and see the colours reflect off the mirrored windows.

The woman at reception was very helpful and friendly and there was a free wine and cheese sampling between 5.30 - 6.30, which was an excellent way to kick the night off. The weather was terrible, so we ate in the restaurant, which was also superb.

Very cool, clean, comfortable and central hotel and well worth the money. Go if you have the chance!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rustylou63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Right downtown. Nicely decorated. Spacious enough. I had no problem with TV on this visit - did on one previous visit. Maybe they fixed something? Great breakfast with lots of selection and space. Wasn't able to take advantage of their nightly wine & appies. Room is well laid out with lots of table space for computer, etc.Free wifi. Real hangers in the closet. 2 comfy bathrobes. Will come back. Very friendly and efficient front staff.

Room Tip: Have stayed here 3 times. All rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lid_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for a few days...overall a decent little hotel, well located. Honestly, there are a few little things that make it annoying to stay here...lack of parking...you end up in an impark lot worried about getting tickets. And the rooms are nice, albeit a touch small, with good amenities. One thing that every single person I talked to had a problem with was the televisions in the rooms. Despite the little instruction card, good luck getting the satelite receiver to turn on in conjunction with the TV. Nothing like wanting to unwind after a day of meetings with a little TV only to end up giving up in frustration. Not a bad little spot, but when you need a PhD to turn the TV on? You can find better nearby for less. Sounds petty I know, but really? The TV's? Gimmie a break.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DominicanLover37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel in October, we were in Edmonton on a shopping / girls weekend. The hotel was fantastic as were the staff, they had complimentry wine and cheese both nights that we were staying and what better way to kick off a night then a couple glasses of wine. The rooms were very clean and spacious - we had the free breakfast in the morning which we thought would be your typical toast, bagels muffins but but oh no the matrix hotel did not disapoint - numerous coffees to choose from hot eggs hash browns and I this sausage or bacon, fresh fruit and an assortment of baked goods. The staff here also go above and beyond we had trouble with the volume on our tv so someone came right up to fix it at 2am. I can't say enough good thinks about this hotel I will definantly be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4lovetotravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#11 of 93 in Edmonton
1,069 reviews
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#6 of 93 in Edmonton
1,463 reviews
Union Bank Inn
#29 of 93 in Edmonton
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
#5 of 93 in Edmonton
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matrix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matrix Hotel

Address: 10640 100 Ave NW | 107th Street NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3N8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#5 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#10 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: $148 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matrix Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe all travelers deserve exceptional value, service and an unsurpassed downtown Edmonton hotel experience. We offer guests a complimentary and extensive breakfast buffet each morning in our Hospitality Suite. Guests can choose from an array of both hot and cold breakfast items, prepared by our in-house chef. Piping hot oatmeal, home cooked egg dish and accompanying meat and potatoes for those who appreciate a hearty breakfast to start their day. On the lighter side we offer a cold selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit, pastries and juices. Touch of a button barista worthy cappuccinos, espressos and lattes along with a variety of specialty teas are available all day. To end the day, complimentary wine tasting and assortment of appetizers are offered between 17:30 and 18:30. Also complimentary to our guests is parking, downtown Lexus Town Car Service, Wi-Fi and bicycle rentals. Matrix Hotel provides a sophisticated hospitality experience to travelers who appreciate great design and need convenient access to the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Matrix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matrix Hotel Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing