We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for medium-sized conference”
Review of Matrix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Matrix Hotel
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Good for medium-sized conference”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We held a 140-person conference at this hotel in March 2012 and everything went very well. The staff was very helpful and friendly. When I asked conference attendees how they rated the venue 92% were very satisfied or satisfied. The breakfasts and lunches provided for the conference were excellent. The dinner could have been better. The location is great and the price is much better that the main downtown hotels. Thanks to all the helpful staff who contributed to making our event a success.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,413
    840
    186
    50
    36
See reviews for
313
663
123
1,216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for several years now and they always get it right. The reservation details, the room, the breakfast and the service.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdn_camtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Beautiful lobby & nice location. We noticed bed bugs before going to bed & called the front desk to inform them of our discovery. The night staff did not apologize but instead moved us to numerous other rooms with the same problem=bed bugs (It was late at night so switching hotels was out of the question)... We tried to make do.... In the morning we complained to manager and she brushed off our bug issue & told us that we were seeing "ladybugs"(they had an infestation of ladybugs apparently?). As someone with a biology/entomology background I definitely know that the bugs I encountered in this hotel were not lady bugs! I would never stay at this hotel again! Definitely not an enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jay128913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matrix_gm, General Manager at Matrix Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear jay128913:

Thank you for your feedback, and for choosing Matrix Hotel.

I must admit that I was very disappointed to read your review. I have personally spoken to the Manager on Duty with whom you spoke to the morning of your departure for a full briefing of the situation. Erin, the Manager in question, certainly takes her role and career very seriously, and would never presume to bursh off a guest concern.

As was discussed between yourself and Erin, the issue was in fact ladybugs. We have never, ever had a case of bedbugs in our hotel. Each month, we thoroughly treat the entire hotel for pests as part of our routine preventative maintenance. Further, in the very rare occurence when a guest claims to have experienced bedbugs, we immediately take the room our of service and call in a professional dog service that is trained to detect these troublesome pests. And in every such instance, as in this case, we have never found evidence of bedbugs in the hotel. As such, I am very confident in confirming that what you experienced was in fact ladybugs.

While we certainly do not have an "infestation" as you indicated, ladybugs can be a challenge for us in Edmonton. Because our hotel guest rooms windows open, guests occassionally leave these windows open and ladybugs access the building. Because they are so tiny and difficult to treat for, we do occassionally have instance of ladybugs appearing.

I do apologize for the manner in which our overnight team addressed the situation. I am pleased that they attempted to resolve the issue immediately by relocating your room, and that our Manager on Duty provided compensation to you the following day, which we believed you were pleased with at the time. We will certainly be following up with our overnight team to coach them on the appropriate manner in which to handle guest concerns.

Thank you again for your feedback, and should you wish to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at pr [at] matrixedmonton.com and I would be happy to do so.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards,
Nicholas Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

It's no Westin but its alright.. We booked because they said they except dogs.. Wrong I do ha e rather large dogs but, when we called they said that's fine, then called back day befor leaving learn one large dog is fine so they upgraded our room hooray, I have stayed here befor and the upgraded room was dirty. Look like finger streaks on most cupboards, clothing tags in the bed room( sterling suit) all from previous ppl.. So they asked us how stay was and told them it was nothing special probaly stick with the Westin, free night stay score lol thank matrix.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matrix_gm, General Manager at Matrix Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear gvd79:

Thank you for choosing for Matrix Hotel, and for your feedback.

My sincerest apologies for the apparent cleanliness of your guestroom. I can assure you we take our guestroom cleanliness very seriously. Our Housekeeping Supervisors regularly inspect rooms to check on the quality of our Room Attendants’ work, and the Maintenance Manager, Executive Housekeeper, and I personally inspect rooms on a consistent basis. I am very sorry to hear that you room was not up to our typically high standards.

I was pleased that we are able to extend you compensation for your concerns, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Nicholas Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stayed there on a beautiful March day. The room was about 24degrees and they could not do anything about it as they have no ventilation system until May. I couldn't believe it. Took my shower in a miniature washroom (looks like a closet) and the room just got event hotter. Very noisy hallway - paper walls so you can hear every single guest getting in their room at night. Had one of the worst night at a hotel in a long time.
Will not go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matrix_gm, General Manager at Matrix Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Vanessa604:

Let me first thank you for staying with Matrix Hotel, and for your feedback.

My apologies for the inconvenience experienced with regards to the temperature in your room. Our building systems do have integrated controls whereby some of the controls are automatically adjusted throughout the building, and a degree of user control is provided to the guest in their room. It appears this was not functioning properly in your room at the time. We most definitely do have a ventilation system and our control over it is not limited to certain months, as indicated in your review, but again, my apologies that this was apparently not working properly in your guest room.

Thank you again for your feedback, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly at pr[at]matrixedmonton.com should you wish to to discuss your stay further.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Reghards,
Nicholas Wilson
General Manager
Matrix Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The room was very spacious, we had a nice view from the 14th floor.
The wine and cheese tasting was excellent, just needed a bit more cheese.
Breakfast was really good, it was a bit cold but the hostess took my plate and heated it up.
All you can drink hot chocolate, big fan!
Bath robes in the room.
The only thing bad that i can remember is that the bathroom door slid back and forth with no lock.
Other then that, excellent stay, staff were very nice and helpful.
Would come back again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

we had a suite for an overnight without the kids and it was great! Great room, modern looking hotel. Bed pretty comfy, needs more pillows though. When I think of the other Edmonton hotels they don't compare. Location is great too. Had a drink in the lounge, had a to wait a bit as she was running room service but it was still okay...The desk staff was really friendly. Nicely stocked minibar and good Bell tv. Plus we got a wicked rate on a Friday night!

Room Tip: spend extra for the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiferrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
1.4 mi away
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#5 of 93 in Edmonton
1,376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#11 of 93 in Edmonton
987 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Edmonton
1.4 mi away
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
#4 of 93 in Edmonton
1,101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#25 of 93 in Edmonton
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matrix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matrix Hotel

Property: Matrix Hotel
Address: 10640 100 Ave NW | 107th Street NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3N8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#5 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#10 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matrix Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe all travelers deserve exceptional value, service and an unsurpassed downtown Edmonton hotel experience. We offer guests a complimentary and extensive breakfast buffet each morning in our Hospitality Suite. Guests can choose from an array of both hot and cold breakfast items, prepared by our in-house chef. Piping hot oatmeal, home cooked egg dish and accompanying meat and potatoes for those who appreciate a hearty breakfast to start their day. On the lighter side we offer a cold selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit, pastries and juices. Touch of a button barista worthy cappuccinos, espressos and lattes along with a variety of specialty teas are available all day. To end the day, complimentary wine tasting and assortment of appetizers are offered between 17:30 and 18:30. Also complimentary to our guests is parking, downtown Lexus Town Car Service, Wi-Fi and bicycle rentals. Matrix Hotel provides a sophisticated hospitality experience to travelers who appreciate great design and need convenient access to the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Matrix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matrix Hotel Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing