We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent patio dining”
Review of Violino

Violino
Reserve with OpenTable
Violino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,031 of 2,416 Restaurants in Edmonton
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Westmount
Description: This intimate, family-owned Ristorante is one of the finest Italian eateries in Alberta.Violino has the reputation as being one of the most respected and influential Italian restaurant in Edmonton. The welcoming atmosphere and the sophisticated cuisine steeped in the rich tradition of Italian food culture, refined Violino as an authentic Italian restaurant.Violino specializes in the rich food and wine culture from Italian Peninsula, creating refined but unfussy food served in a lively intimate atmosphere accompanied with a comprehensive wine list.This elegant restaurant located in downtown is perfect for intimate gatherings and business meetings to spectacular events, you will enjoy the incredible service and food in a welcoming and sophisticated Italian oasis.Ideally located steps away from shopping,hotels.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent patio dining”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Wonderful ambiance. We sat in the back on the patio on a warm September evening. Started with the calamari salad which was unique and delicious. My husband had the halibut (small portion), I had the chicken. Both were very good. We also had the desert for 2, wonderful, we were stuffed by the time we finished. Service was great, they seemed happy to have us there. The atmosphere was perfect, no throbbing music, just some nice background music and the sounds of the birds in the trees. The pizza oven looked intriguing, next time we go we will be sure to try the pizza.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    32
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
1,211 reviews
702 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 513 helpful votes
“Wonderful Anniversary Celebration”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We took our out of town guests here to celebrate their 25th anniversary and were pleased with the food and service. The restaurant is well appointed and had a wonderful food and wine selection. The portions are generous so plan accordingly. I enjoyed their caesar salad and Halibut entree. My husband's Caprese salad was great as was his seafood entree that included half a lobster tail. The desserts are superb - check out their gelato or decadent chocolate cake. Be sure to make reservations. If the weather is nice sitting on their deck is always an option.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Lunch time business meeting on the patio. Gorgeous day, good company. Superb server. Tasty reasonably priced food. Good wine list. It doesn't get much better than this. And the nicest part is that one can be assured of consistency. The good is always well prepared, nicely seasoned and presented well. The servers are helpful, pleasant and fun. Definitely a hidden gem.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbertaGuy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wedding”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had our Wedding here,food was very good,staff had short memories and had be reminded of stuff a couple of time which added to the stress,but overall a very good experience

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingdude43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch is well worth it!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We went for Sunday brunch. 6 adults and 2 kids (4 and 2). The best thing is that kids under 12 are free and they still get all the same courses. For the kids we stopped at the pasta course as we knew they would not eat the entree course. So it started with cold meats and picked veggies. 2nd was chef creation and it was sausage and potatoes in this amazing mushroom sauce. Then I think it was a salad. Then pasta which came a choice of sauce. I was able to get plain butter for my kids. Then it was the entree. That week it was chicken stuffed with cheese and a broccoli like veg or roast beef or fish. I had the chicken it was great. But I found the entree too big. I would ask for a take out container to put some of the food in. Some of the people in our party had the fish. It was rubbery and overlooked. I suggest not getting the fish for the brunch. After this it was dessert. A ton of choices. I settled on red velvet which was good but a bit sweet. My boys had the cherry sorbet and loved it!! I will go here again and make sure we don't get the fish.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Violino also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
 
Edmonton, Alberta
 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Violino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing