We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and functional - lacking in certain areas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Ranked #3 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Clean and functional - lacking in certain areas”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Not a brilliant hotel, it has everything that you would expect of a 3* and a Hampton Inn and as such is a good place to stay. But it had nothing beyond the minimum, which would mark it out as being Very good or Excellent. It is 3km from the West Edmonton mall and is very easily reached from the newly extended highway 216. 100 Ave NW runs 2kms east, from the junction with the 216 to the hotel.

There is no restaurant attached to the hotel, but the Homefire Grill is only 100m away, part of the Wyndham Wingate Inn. The food and service there is good.

The quality of the staff in the Hampton Inn was good, but they were all let down slightly by the front desk on checkout. The process was slow and labored, taking over 10 minutes. Other than that the staff were extremely helpful and attentive, and everything was as you would expect in this brand and style of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pzfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    251
    54
    12
    8
See reviews for
511
166
34
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We are actually still at the Hampton Inn when I am writing this and all is well.
The hotel is nothing spectacular but the staff sure make it that way.
They make you feel so welcome and you can tell they like working there, they show an interest in every guest, without being overbearing. The front office clerk, Whitroy, was such a pleasure and made our stay so much better. We were looking for a nice hotel where we can stay for our future visits and this is it.
Beds are comfortable and have duvets, wifi is free in the rooms, coffee is always on (cookies would be nice!), breakfast is good, very clean, comfortable lobby.
I think I booked our daughter, who is 18, by mistake as a child and there was a beach ball waiting for her in the room when we arrived! She was thrilled!
Thank you Hampton and thank you, Whitroy...we will be back for many visits!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Everything about this hotel was OK. Where it was located and how you need to approach the hotel from a one-way street made this hotel hard to find. We were there for 3 nights. I was still trying to "find it" after 3 days.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMWFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in august with my wife and 2 kids. The hotel is very clean and modern. The front desk staff is very friendly. The west Edmonton mall is about a 5 minute drive away. The pool looked nice but we never made it in. The comp breakfast was good with all day coffee, 2 hot choices that changed everyday (pancakes, bacon, omlets, potatoes, sausage, etc) toast cereal, yogurt, make your own waffle stations ... We asked for a quiet room away from the elevator and they were able to accommodate. A few minor irritations: no fridge in room, air conditioner was loud but they took $50 off our bill which I thought was fair, and people smoked near the main entrance. None of these were big issues though. The room cost about $150 per night with tax. That is very competitive for this type of room. Elevators were fast. Overall very happy and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Travelled to Edmonton from Saskatoon for a family shopping trip. Have stayed in many hotels in Edmonton (usually travel 2 to 3 times/year) and this was by far the nicest (and cleanest) room we have stayed in. The beds and pillows were comfortable, staff was very friendly, breakfast was amazing and the swimming pool was a nice temperature. Close to the Mall.

Next time would bring a cooler as it is nice to have cold drinks for the kids in the evening and some snacks.

Was very impressed with the overall cleanliness of the room and hotel in general. Kudos to Management and staff!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptherres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JordanMajeau, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Greetings Ptherres,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you had: comfortable, clean, restful and fun experiences while staying at our property. Our hotel also has some amazing suites that are suited for traveling families which come equipped with a small fridge and microwave. Please feel free to ask our front desk associates if we have some available the next time you’re in the area! We hope to see you back soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Staff was good, room was very clean and nice. However complimentary breakfast they could really cut out because it is terrible. No room service but there are a lot of close restaurants nearby so that is ok but would have been nice on a late night out.
Not as great as people make it out to be. Oh and they over charged me but cleared it up eventually, staff was good in handling it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VAUGHAN, ONTARIO
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed two nights with family on a recent vacation to Alberta. The service was absolute top notch. Staff were very personable & friendly like i've never before experienced in any name brand hotel. Desk clerk basically walked me around & pointed things out after check in & they gave my daughter a beach ball to use in the pool, i was very impressed.
Hotel had one of the most impressive pool facilities i've ever seen. Very clean & slightly larger than average pool, nice hot tub, and the addded feature: a water spewing mushroom surronded by a wading pool, so even if you have a very small child 1-2 years old, they will have fun with this.... breakfast was very good also, standard items including the waffle machine. But as is always the case the coffee was not good, that i believe is a Hampton wide issue. But there was also a wide selection of teas to choose from.
I have to say though, although very clean, our room was very small. Of all the hotels we stayed in our week in Alberta this was the smallest. The standard two queen bed room leaves very little room for movement, there was also no luggage rack to put the bags on nor even a closet. No microwave or mini-fridge either. Every other place we stayed on our trip had these items as standard. We did love the hotel and especially the amazing hospitality, but we were scheduled to stay here the remaining two nights in Edmonton but cancelled as we wanted a bit more space. No larger rooms were available at this facility. the location is great, numerous restaurants in area, just 5 minutes from West Edmonton Mall & about 30 minutes from airport.... All in all, we would definitely stay here again but would book a larger room or a suite. To the Management & Staff: Keep up the great work on the Customer Service side, but if you could add at least a luggage stand to the standard rooms it will help tremendously! Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leafs_Country
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JordanMajeau, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Good day Leafs_Country

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with the Tripadvisor community. We are all very pleased that you and your family had a great experience with us during your visit to Edmonton. We are very blessed to have a great team who work hard day in and day out to offer “Top notch customer service”. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Hyatt Place Edmonton-West
Hyatt Place Edmonton-West
#12 of 93 in Edmonton
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Address: 18304 100 Avenue, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 2V2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Place LaRue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#2 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Best Value Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West is located in West Edmonton, conveniently located only minutes from the West Edmonton Mall and Telus World of Science-Edmonton. Many other area attractions are within driving distance. So whether you're in town to soak up some history, close a burgeoning business deal or get outside for some adventure, you'll soon discover why our hotel in Edmonton is the gateway to the North and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Edmonton/West
Hampton Inn & Suites Edmonton/West Hotel Edmonton
Hampton Inn Edmonton
Hampton Inn Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Edmonton/West Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing