We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tame but Flavourful”

Viphalay Laos and Thai Restaurant
Ranked #122 of 2,393 Restaurants in Edmonton
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: McCauley
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
353 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Tame but Flavourful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Although we sat on the patio, the inside was very nicely decorated. Menu is fairly simple which makes choosing easier and knowing the food will be fresh, which it was! Had the sampler which was very tasty. The brown curry was excellent, as was the lemon chicken. All in all, a pleasant meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emandernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    34
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jasper National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Odd”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The food was average for Thai food. Everything was average.
The odd thing was that we had ordered too much food and so we had one dish to go. But the next day we found that they hadn't given us the whole dish. They had just given us a miniscule portion of it. I'm not entirely sure why they would do that? If we paid for the food I feel like we are okay to take it home with us. Especially since it was a whole entree. So that struck me as odd. I would have given them three stars if they had given us what we paid for. Probably won't go back. Tons of good thai food in the same area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
“Best Thai Curries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Delicious curries, coconut rice, drunken noodles and cashew chicken (would prefer another curry but this is a great option for kids). Thai samosas were a tasty appetizer but I would have enjoyed the spring rolls more with some thai basil and lettuce. Tried the papaya salad once but wouldn't recommend it.

Overall it's worth making a 25 minute drive to keep coming back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thallam79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good food and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

An unassuming storefront might have you thinking twice about visiting, but don't be fooled, this restaurant has a lot to offer. We enjoyed a wonderful meal in a very well decorated atmosphere. Our server was excellent. She guided us through a large menu to ensure we sampled dishes that reflected the best they have to offer. The dishes can be prepared as spicy as you like. We all enjoyed the Pad Thai and the green mango salad. But there were many other highlights. Make reservations and if the menu choices are a bit overwhelming, let the staff help.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarJanEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Good curries and stir fries at a reasonable price. Extremely friendly place. Not outstanding but definitely worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CGhidini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viphalay Laos and Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Viphalay Laos and Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing