We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lazia Restaurant - Downtown - CLOSED

Lazia Restaurant - Downtown
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 102
Transit: LRT Stops nearby: -The Bay -Central -Churchill Square Bus Stops nearby: 1, 2, 14, 8, 16, 17, 40, 41, 42, 45, 47, 50, 65, 68, 69, 71, 100, 104, 105, 106, 109, 111, 112, 116, 125, 140, 161, 162, 180, 197, 201, 211, 308, 309
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
353 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Quick lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Asian fusion restaurant. Well priced, quick service. Had the chicken rice bowl - chicken was crispy, plenty of vegetables and a nice sauce on the rice. Service was pleasant. It's good for a quick lunch out, nothing fancy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JLandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    53
    24
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
275 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The valet at the Westin recommended it and it was pretty good. The menu was a real mix of Asian fusion.....all over Asia!! Good value, tasty, funky vibe for a restaurant on the street side of a large mall downtown.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kelownatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great food, great service! There were 6 of us and we were all pleased with everything. Our waiter knew a lot about the food and made some appreciated suggestions. They even brought us a complimentary appetizer that the chef had just created. It was a delicious wonton cup with chicken. Thanks for that! Everything in my dish, the seafood trio, was cooked to perfection. The tiger prawns were so huge, they looked like lobster tails! We all ordered the red velvet cupcakes for dessert and each plate had beautiful artwork created with delicious sauces. Will definitely return. Thank you for the delicious food and excellent service!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl63_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Not what I expected”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Nice decor and seating, lighting etc. My beer on tap tasted like soapy water. Asked for extra hot and spicy ginger beef bowl and instead got a bowl of sweet beef. Its like they dipped the beef in maple syrup or something. Dish had no kick at at. I knew I made mistake 5 mins walking into the place. Oh well lesson learned. So if you are looking for hot and spicy don't go here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ND3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good... but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I work downtown and Lazia is always on people's list for lunch. I don't know how the restaurant is during other times, but it's nuts during lunch. The "fusion" food is good, but the service could be improved. I appreciate how busy it can get, but there should be enough staff on to take care of the customers. I would still recommend trying the restaurant, but likely during off peak times to fully appreciate the environment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NilKor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazia Restaurant - Downtown also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing