We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of Lazia Restaurant - Downtown - CLOSED

Lazia Restaurant - Downtown
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 102
Transit: LRT Stops nearby: -The Bay -Central -Churchill Square Bus Stops nearby: 1, 2, 14, 8, 16, 17, 40, 41, 42, 45, 47, 50, 65, 68, 69, 71, 100, 104, 105, 106, 109, 111, 112, 116, 125, 140, 161, 162, 180, 197, 201, 211, 308, 309
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great food, great service! There were 6 of us and we were all pleased with everything. Our waiter knew a lot about the food and made some appreciated suggestions. They even brought us a complimentary appetizer that the chef had just created. It was a delicious wonton cup with chicken. Thanks for that! Everything in my dish, the seafood trio, was cooked to perfection. The tiger prawns were so huge, they looked like lobster tails! We all ordered the red velvet cupcakes for dessert and each plate had beautiful artwork created with delicious sauces. Will definitely return. Thank you for the delicious food and excellent service!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl63_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    53
    24
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Nice decor and seating, lighting etc. My beer on tap tasted like soapy water. Asked for extra hot and spicy ginger beef bowl and instead got a bowl of sweet beef. Its like they dipped the beef in maple syrup or something. Dish had no kick at at. I knew I made mistake 5 mins walking into the place. Oh well lesson learned. So if you are looking for hot and spicy don't go here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ND3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good... but not great”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I work downtown and Lazia is always on people's list for lunch. I don't know how the restaurant is during other times, but it's nuts during lunch. The "fusion" food is good, but the service could be improved. I appreciate how busy it can get, but there should be enough staff on to take care of the customers. I would still recommend trying the restaurant, but likely during off peak times to fully appreciate the environment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NilKor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I think the best thing I've had here is their cappuccino. I've been here for their new year celebration, for lunch, and for a dinner for a friend's stagette--each time was equally disappointing. The groups I've been with, we've all had our orders confused, food items that were overcooked or underdone, and nothing has ever really stood out there enough to make me want to go back.

Helpful?
Thank jmorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lunch Vibe”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Been to Lazia twice, once for lunch and once for dinner during the week. Lunch was crazy busy but the food came on time and the prices weren't bad at all. It was a good vibe for lunch. Dinner during the week on the other hand was super quiet, not much happening at all. Tasted some good food and the atmosphere was nice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Helenseaborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazia Restaurant - Downtown also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing