We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Pizza, Nice Price!”

Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria
Ranked #99 of 2,393 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Oliver
Description: Famoso is a casual pizzeria serving authentic Neapolitan pizzas made with high quality ingredients in a domed Italian oven. Ideal for a quick lunch or a night out. Enjoy with wine, cocktails and beer.
Sao Carlos, SP
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Pizza, Nice Price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Good place, good location, good staff, what to say? This place is amazing. On top of all, you get a decent bill for you food! Just go for it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DarthVader86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    59
    19
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Italian style pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Yes, I have been to Italy and had pizza there. And Famoso is the closest to that you will get in Edmonton. Not doughy or thick, it's not as filling as a normal north American pizza style but it is of a good quality and great taste. Quite good value and they have good wine to choose from which also makes it feel more European.





Helpful?
1 Thank archaicmaelstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Pizza - unexpectedly slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were seated almost immediately - cool.

We explored the menu and decided on the Famoso Salad - I would say a 'must do' as we all loved it. Took a long time to come however. My boney butt was starting to get sore in the booth we had right by the very noisy kitchen area. Suggest you NOT take this seat.

Had to get up and place our order . . . what, they don't trust the wait staff to get it right? Anyway, with my bad knees it was an unexpected hassle.

Pizza took a long time to come.

Liked the meal - however the roasted garlic was under roasted and and bitter and the carmelized onions were not fully caramelized. Still quite an interesting tasting pizza and would have to say I liked it, even though the cooks overwork the dough and make it a bit tough. Yes, it looks cool having the pizza spun up in the air, but I really do not care, just want great dough and I would have to say that this dough was average. The tomato sauce was quite good, however.

Ordered a dessert that took at least 10 minutes, but seemed like 20 minutes, so let's say it was 15 minutes until we told the waitress that we had to leave and to cancel the dessert. It came in the next 30 seconds - she clearly forgot about it - but again, it was quite good, but not worth the 9.00 for a banana with ice-cream and sugar.

So I would have to give the pizza a 4/5, but the overall experience is a 3 star.

10 percent tip tells the story. I give 20 for exceptional food and attentive service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dbinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good Pizza- best value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have been at Tony (9605 - 111 Ave), Ragazzi (8110 - 82 Ave), Rosso (8738 - 109 St) and this much talk-about Famoso. The dough is so fresh and excellent but so are the above-mentioned other places' doughs. However we would give an edge for the topping quality and the tomato sauce at Famoso. Also for such a nice quality (12") pizza with two extra toppings (we chose fresh wild mushroom + Gorgonzola cheese/Prosciutto) it came about $18.00 each. One of the best value.
On the other hand we would also highly recommend Cafe de Ville's pizza (10137 - 124 St). Even though it is not a specialized pizza place but the topping ingredients are one of the best (In case you wonder about our rating for it, We would give an edge to Cafe de Ville.)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vuvan_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The pizzas here are delicious and the service was great too. The only drawback was my dessert. The chocolate panacotta hadn't set properly but was still served.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gemsicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing