We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most authentic pizza outside of Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria

Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria
Ranked #84 of 2,376 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Oliver
Description: Famoso is a casual pizzeria serving authentic Neapolitan pizzas made with high quality ingredients in a domed Italian oven. Ideal for a quick lunch or a night out. Enjoy with wine, cocktails and beer.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Most authentic pizza outside of Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The title says it all! If you've ever had the wonderful experience of eating pizza in Italy, you should find that the fine pizza, if not the atmosphere, is reproduced at Famoso Neapolitan Pizza. We usually go to the one in Magrath.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LouBell64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    59
    19
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“South Common Famoso = FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My experience at the South Common Famoso was enough to make me a repeat customer to this location! The personable staff and the quality of the food is definitely worth returning for (as well as the Banana Nutella Pizza!!). As soon as you walk in you are greeted by smiling staff and invited to "make yourself at home" and grab a table. At the table, a server promptly brings you your plates/cutlery and explains their "fast casual" style: *aka* you order at the counter, then sit back, relax, and enjoy full table service from then on. While our server took very good care of us, the manager also came by to ask us how the meal was going and was also very friendly and accomodating. Overall, I felt that the staff at this location went that extra mile to make sure that we had an enoyable evening, and they will definitely be my go-to the next time I get a pizza craving!

To the gentleman who was upset that there was no free wi-fi at this locaiton, I don't mean to offend, but the option of free wi-fi really shouldn't be your main criteria for assessing the quality of a restaurant. Wi-fi or not, I really enoyed dining here! Personally, I'll go to my local Starbucks when I need wi-fi, and to Famoso when I need quality food and service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Laid back atmosphere and a good bite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

First time ever at Famoso, I went for the Sweet BBQ Chicken Pizza, was simply delicious and the fresh tomatos and onions made even better. All in all the atmosphere was great and staff were really friendly. Laid back atmosphere and a good bite, highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bilalhouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic, delicious, unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Heads and tails above most pizza places in the city, Famoso truly offers something a little different. The pizza is always great, but if you're expecting Pizza Hut you'd best look elsewhere. Fresh crushed tomato sauces, nice mixes of toppings, fresh baked thin crust... love it. Nice wine list and dessert selection as well. The "order at the front" concept is a little inconvenient but that's about it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dexy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The bottom is always burnt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

As far as I can tell, the point of Neapolitan pizza according to Famoso is that there's char on the bottom of the pizza. I dislike burned, watery pizza... So after trying twice since the fresh basil was lovely, I will probably not be returning here again.

The service and drinks were tasty, their soup is delicious, and their ice creams were wonderful - so if you do go, it's not all bad!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank entirely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing