We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fairly Good Place to Eat, but Expensive”
Review of Century Grill & Bar - CLOSED

Century Grill & Bar
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Fusion, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Calgary Trail South
Cross street: Whitemud Fwy
Transit: Century Grill & Century Room are adjacent to all major bus routes along Calgary Trail and 7 blocks from the Southgate terminal. The new LRT South Line phase also runs within 7 blocks, linking with the downtown core. Coming from West Edmonton Mall, city buses are only a few stops away.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
447 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“A Fairly Good Place to Eat, but Expensive”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I ate at this restaurant while in Edmonton for a seminar. The food tasted very good, however, the price was quite expensive. It was interesting that the restaurant was not that busy considering it was the middle of supper rush. The atmosphere was great - more of a lounge like feel. A good place to eat but be ready to pay for it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PsychRN12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    32
    9
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not waste your time or MONEY”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Have tried this place out a few times each time fooling ourselves it would get better. Menu is decent but the staff from the kitchen to the guy presenting the food have no clue how to bring it together. Cold food, salty food, and on and on. This place is not worth the price better and hotter meals served at fast food restaurants with better service!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor Service and Cold Food”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My friend and I decided to spend our New Years Eve here at the scheduled party. She went down two days in advance and even picked the table. On arrival that evening, out table was occupied and not knowing it would be a relatively empty party, we were concerned and pressed for information about when it would become available. The man who seemed to be in charge (as he did not introduce himself) was flippant and advised us to sit at the bar as "when I sit down there I never want to leave". He did not apologize or look contrite in the least. We did sit there and the chairs were comfortable but the bar had a padded edge which later proved difficulty in eating our food. Unfortunately this was not the end of our troubles...no one took charge of us after we ordered our wine....we had to ask who was going to take our order? A young girl finally came to get our order and the food came quickly but was cold. We had to send it back and they said they would give us free desserts to make up for this. When the bill arrived, they charged us for the desserts AND overcharged us on our bottle of wine. What a disappointing experience. Its turned me off for ever going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank volgolgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect menu for diverse tastes”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We took new business associates here for dinner as we were uncertain of their dining preferences. Menu is great because of its diversity and willingness of staff to make changes to suit preferences. Quality food and wine list, and nice desserts. Excellent value for service, quality and variety. Ambiance is nice as not to formal and crowd varies from families to people dressed for an evening out.

Helpful?
1 Thank TVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food, a bit pricey”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had a quick dinner with a co-worker while travelling. Service was good, atmosphere very nice, food was good (steak was cooked a bit more than expected for a place of this quality) and food was a bit pricey. I would go back, but would try a few other places before trying again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VicTraveler_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Century Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing